We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in March. Had an excellent experience. It was not overcrowded. Location was close to the temples (5-10 minutes) and close to downtown agrigento (10-15 minutes). Ample free parking. The nicest part is that it was completely behind security gates making you feel very secure while there. The neighborhood isn't bad, but it isn't the ritziest either. The hotel itself is, in my opinion, 5 star. The grounds, the rooms, the views, the beach, the location and the staff all excellent. The staff spoke english with not problems. One or two even spoke english natively. Very helpful for restaurant and parking recommendations. The grounds are beautiful and they have their own private area for the beach. We drove by some of the other hotels we had compared this hotel too and were VERY glad we didn't choose them. We had intended on staying at the hotel only to sleep, but wished we had planned more time to just relax there. I thought prices at the bar at night when we wanted a drink were very reasonable. I think I paid only five euro for a grand marnier on the rocks.... Free internet access even though it says it is a few euros. Had a great experience. Excellent end to our Italy trip.

Room Tip: We selected the standard, nothing special, type of room. From the balcony we still had a limited oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

This is a beautiful hotel with lovely gardens, access to the beach, smart rooms and public areas. We only stayed one night as our base for visiting the Valley of the Temples. Our room and the public areas are all modern, clean and well furnished.
We arrived after a long and difficult drive shortly before sunset and decided to eat in the restaurant. The choice was extremely limited and although quite tasty also came in pretty small portions. Service was fine, though. Definitely not worth the price.
After dinner we sat outside and went to the bar to order a drink. There was no one there. We asked at reception and they said they’d send someone round but it took a long time before anyone appeared. Then he couldn’t supply the drink we wanted.
Breakfast was even more disappointing and not in line with what one might reasonably expect from a 4 star complex.
The hotel was not busy and we feel we may have suffered as a consequence. However, that is really not an acceptable excuse for the poor choice of food. We’d look for alternative accommodation if we were staying in or near Agrigento again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My husband and I staied in Baia di Ulisse for our honeymoon. The hotel is new, perfectly designed, every little decoration or plant was perfectly thought about and had its place, with luxurious antique and modern furniture, famous Sicilian ceramics. I felt there like a real princess. Compliments for terrace pine garden which gave shade to tables and sofas sets. Though there are 92 rooms, you don't bump into other guests, which gives you feeling of privacy and exclusiveness. I also greatly enjoied Spa and massage on emotional bed (recommended!), which is so far one of the best Spas I visited in different countries. Rooms had lovely terraces, ours was overlooking olive trees:) which I could reach with my hand. Both my husband and I were extremely happy about our choice of the hotel. It is fantastic, very decent. Most of the guests were Italians and French, so all staff speaks perfect French. Separate "thank you" and big hugs to waiters - very friendly, very helpfull and just very, very nice guys.
Food was ok, though breakfasts were all the time the same.
The beach is very nice and very clean, but at 8 pm they close the gate, so no night swimming or watching stars while listening to the waves!

The 2 ladies at the reception could be more welcoming and more pleasant / helpful.
One of them (small one) was our only and particular complaint.

But in general, we would highly recommend this place to anyone, and would be more than happy to stay there again.
In fact, it appeared to be lot, lot nicer than on the photos on its website.

Room Tip: overlooking the garden, ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olusia_2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Very very clean. Pool guy was obsessive about cleaning the area around the pool.
Nice beach, a small area is reserved for hotel guests. Nice pool, and really nice buildings. Playground and lounge area under the trees on the way to the beach.
The rooms are ok but small. No balcony furniture, e.g., deck chairs - that's a big gap if you want to relax while your child has a nap.
Staff are completely inflexible. Tried to get the 3rd bed removed from our room, as we needed to put the travel cot up instead. Not possible, even though we had booked a double, not a triple room. Friends of ours rented a cot, which was 8€/night (they cost 25€ when you buy them).
Cap had to be worn in the swimming pool, no matter if you were bald or long haired (we really witnessed them selling the cap to a bald guy!). They were 3€ each (worth 10p).
Room service: 15 € for delivery to the room.
Rent a towel for the beach: 3€.
Restaurant totally overpriced, same dishes cost half or less in a normal restaurant.
Very few restaurants or shops in walking distance.
Horrible coffee machine at breakfast.
One really nice waiter - the others were mostly unfriendly and formal.
No bath tub in the room, just a shower.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

After staying in the Baia Taormina by chance on our trip around sicily we decided to stay at the Baia di Ulisse on the last leg of our trip. Unfortunately the two are nothing alike. Although the Baia di Ulisse is well presented, that is about all that can be said for the hotel. The staff were rude, cold and unprofessional, walking around the pool with cigarettes in their mouths. Also the hotel had a distinct 'Do not enjoy or relax' impression. There was a sign around the pool saying it was shut daily from something like 1230 to 4. Also on the two nights we approached the bar for night caps their was never anyone there, this is was doubly shocking as every night they had bus tours in the hotel. The buffet breakfast was barely available and the staff again cleared tables around you, setting up for the evening as you ate at 8am. Not a nice experience and a complete let down after the Baia Taormina

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea room, many of the others are very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pod_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Although the hotel claims to be a wellness & Spa hotel, the facilities are actually closed during the majority of the time, namely from monday to Thursday. Having asked the hotel for a refund since it's facilities are closed the answer was that there is nothing they could do and that the manager in charge would not available. Not exactly the reaction a customer would expect from a 4star rated Hotel. Apart from that we got awake because the hotel did some renovation work at 07.30 in the morning, we had no toilette paper in the bathroom and the plates in the restaurant are all quite dirty.

Room Tip: Do not go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank George_k99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This was one of the finest hotels we reserved for our trip to Sicily. It was by far the most elegant property of all. It is a spa on the beach. The grounds are outstanding and the pool was magnificent. The service was 4 star. The location was perfect for our visit to Agrigento, yet away from the attraction.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJBLTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Leone
2.2 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
28.0 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,870 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Leone
563 reviews
82.2 mi away
NH Catania Parco Degli Aragonesi
93.4 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA

Address: Via Lacco Ameno | Agrigento, 92100 San Leone, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento > San Leone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Price Range: £66 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Di Ulisse Wellness And Spa
Baia Di Ulisse Wellness & Spa Hotel San Leone
Baia Di Ulisse San Leone
Baia Di Ulisse Wellness & SPA Sicily/Province Of Agrigento - San Leone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing