We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well kept hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very well kept hotel”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The property and it's gardens are extremely clean and well kept. Fantastic ocean views from the hotel terraces, pool, and gardens. The pool area is very nice and has great lounge chairs, unfortunately guest useage of the pool is restricted to certain hours. Great free parking on hotel grounds.

Hotel has a private beach with lounge chairs, umbrellas and on site staff that will bring you drinks from the hotel bar.

The room we stayed in was quite small, had efficient air conditioning and a nice balcony facing a quite garden. Room is like a 3 star hotel room.

We are very happy with our stay at this absolutely beautiful hotel. The hotel grounds are a relaxing place to hang out. We would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedenNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    263
    152
    68
    49
See reviews for
246
465
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We stayed for three nights in the hotel to explore the region. The hotel itself is very nice and clean, the rooms are typical Italian standard and for the price we payed a very good deal. The stuff was friendly, unfortunately when we were there it did not feel very Italian. Many international tourists and few Italians, good breakfast, but very bad diner - if you go, try to find other places to eat. Overall, would recommend it for a short stay and for visiting Agrigento and temples, but not for a longer stay. We where there in autumn, probably it is another story in the summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We muddled our way through the traffic and tourist buses of Agrigento wondering where the windy roads would take us and arrived at this resort and spa.
It is beautiful! Located by the water, the decor is impeccable, the rooms were comfortable and access to the beach very convenient.
I have to say though that we were not so impressed with the food, neither dinner nor breakfast were out of the ordinary, however overall it is a place I would return to to relax and chill.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Where to start; first, the good, a beautiful pool deck, a five minute walk along a well landscaped path to an expansive sandy beach, and a fairly attractive building. OK, enough of the good, now the poor, as two of the other reviewers noted, this hotel/spa has some strange features. Primarily it is a pleasure prison - the management wants you to stay there exclusively and spend your money on their expensive and rather shoddy products (including the food). For example, one day we ordered paninis for lunch and they came on hot dog rolls, now hot dog rolls are fine with hot dogs (and for feeding ducks) but not for serving mozzarella and tomatoes. The beautiful pool, as noted by another reviewer, closes in the middle of the day and is always surrounded by a rope cordon to limit access to just one end of the pool. Further, the poor pool monitor is armed with a large noisy wet vacuum and apparently has instructions to clean-up every drop of water that leaves the pool falling-off wet guests as they exit and drip on the deck. You get the strong impression they don't really want you to use the pool. The three breakfasts and one dinner we had there were easily the worst meals we experienced in our two and half weeks in western Sicily. When we asked the front desk staff for any sort of information; for example, alternative local resturants, public transportation to Agregento or the Valley of Temples, or how to get to San Leone, the responses were always vague and lacking in definitive information. They simply don't want you to leave - after a while (we were there for three nights in early September 2012), we began to think the music piped through-out the facility was only playing "Hotel California" and the very limited number of television channels (for a four star resort) only showed the 1960s program "The Prisoner". Also the wifi service was totally non-existent. There were two computers in the lobby but one didn't work and one was so slow we were never able to open our email or access the internet effectively. Also strangely, the facility has a large nicely set-up bar area but never seems to have a bar tender available. After contacting the front desk about getting bar service, a rather unhappy fellow would arrive and grumpily take our order and then leave. We did manage to walk to San Leone, not the most enjoyable walk around parked cars, trash and overgrown trees, but we did find a very good ocean front restaurant (the name was something like Le Mare amari) about 20 minutes away for our last night. Also, there's a small locals restuarant at a camp site about five minutes walk from the hotel. In conclusion, we don't enjoy being so harsh about this hotel because it has a staff of people who need to make a living but the management of this place really treats its patrons poorly and needs feedback. They probably can survive well enough on the tour groups that get bused in every evening and sadly most likely don't care about negative reviews by people travelling independently.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The hotel looks lovely upon arrival but we found a few things quite odd. the hotel is called a wellness and spa hotel but this part of the hotel is only open on the weekends. they have a lovely swimming pool which they charge €5 per day per person for and then €3 per towel and then decide to close the pool between 1 and 3pm everyday for no apparent reason. when we arrived,the only food available was at their poor bar. we had 2 cokes and 2 very poor quality sandwiches and this cost €16 which was frankly embarassing for what we ate. the wifi only works at reception even though it is advertised to work in your room. the rooms are pretty basic and our shower didnt work properly.Overall we felt that the hotel wanted to charge a lot of money for things that are usually included in the room rate.
at breakfast the hotel clearly catered for coach groups as there was next to no service and the breakfast was very average in quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anil_K418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I rang this hotel before booking as we were travelling via public transport and needed to know if it was accessible from the station and local bus.Tthe response was 'yes', but they forget to say you have to walk up a 300 metre long laneway that is extremely steep. At the same time you have to avoid cars that are eccelerating fast to get to the top of the hill.
After arriving in the very hot weather dragging a suitcase and up the steep hill the reception area has no chairs and no airconditioning. No offer of a drink of water!!Iit was 3pm and our room was not ready...another 30 minutes.
So off to the pool area to get a drink and something to eat. The food was prepackaged panini that had to be heated to make it barely edible.
At least the room was air conditioned, although small and dark. The bathroom was very small and no room to move in the shower.
We decided to have dinner in the restaurant but it was closed for a private function and we were told to climb the 100 steps downhill to the beach restaurant....too steep.
The next day we found out was a public holiday so we asked reception to call us a taxi to take us to the temples. Well the taxi arrived and when we got to the temples the driver had no English and wrote down that he wanted 200 euro for the trip. The doors were locked but we finally parted paying 40 euro....happy to arrive at all!
The next day we were leaving by train but told it was a public holiday again so we were told to catch a local bus at 7am and then a bus to Palermo at 8am. We took the local bus finally arrived at 8am and then the Palermo bus din't arrive after waiting with lots of other people for 3 hours.
Luckily a local took pity on us and got us a train ticket the same day back to Palermo.
Not an experience we want to repeat and the lack of assistance and knowledge from the hotel staff.
Think carefully before going to this hotel...especially if you are a tourist and only speak English.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icehouse45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omsk, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

It was difficult to find a decent hotel in this part of Sicily, but I'm glad we found this one (by the way there were no other 4 star hotels neaby). The hotel is very clean, very friendly staff, good waiters, but they'll never do anything beyond their duty (I had my birthday there and my husband ordered flowers through them and mentioned the occasion, but they didn't send a card or anything).
We had a room with a sea view on the second floor in the block near the pool, and we never regretted paying extra for that. The balcony was large and we could relax there enjoying fantastic views. We had HB, dinners and local wine ('Corvo' both red and white are excellent) were great. Probably because of HB beach and swimming pool facilities were free (except for swimming caps for the pool). Wi-fi was free, but you had to get a new password every 24 hours and for each device.
The territory and the beach were well kept and very clean, although we survived through all-Sicily garbage collectors' strike and after 2-3 days of it the staff started burning the garbage at night, you can imagine the smell...
Does spa really exist there? It was never open.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Leone
2.2 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
28.0 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,760 reviews
93.4 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Serenusa Village
Serenusa Village
#1 of 5 in Licata
1,968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
2.6 mi away
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Leone
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA

Property: Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Address: Via Lacco Ameno | Agrigento, 92100 San Leone, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento > San Leone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Di Ulisse Wellness And Spa
Baia Di Ulisse Wellness & Spa Hotel San Leone
Baia Di Ulisse San Leone
Baia Di Ulisse Wellness & SPA Sicily/Province Of Agrigento - San Leone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing