We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huh?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Huh?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We spent 2 nights in Agrigento and stayed at this hotel. It reminded us of Faulty Towers. We asked for a gin and tonic - but they had run out of tonic. We asked about the gym, but they told us it was closed, only open on the weekend? We asked about the wellness centre - but that is closed - only open on the weekend. I tried to walk from the hotel to the beach - but it was locked up...probably because it was not the weekend. Overall we were very dissapointed with this hotel.
Oh yes they said they had WIFI - but it was non existent around the whole hotel.

Room Tip: Its okay - but you need to catch a cab if you want to go into town for dinner. It is not a good loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    246
    143
    64
    47
See reviews for
228
429
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Felt compelled to write my first ever review; (family m50, w43, son16 & friend16)

On the positive side it is very clean and mmmmm.... Nope can't think of anything else
This is the strangest hotel I have ever stayed in. When you first arrive in reception, your first impression will be, this looks like a very comfortable place to spend a few days, but beware. As soon as you check in, the rules and extras start to hit you.

No drinking or eating in the room unless purchased from the 'hotel', which of course we immediately ignored. The mini bar contains only water. Pool costs €5 per person Per day. Towels €25 deposit each + €3 each.
If wifi is not included in your package it is €3 for 12hours. It is supposed to be in the rooms, but 90% of the time it doesn't work. When it does work it is incredibly slow. It is an acceptable speed in the bar area

The rooms have no sound insulation whatsoever and there is an electric gate to get in and out of the property. People blast the horn their cars when they want to get in and out. Pets are allowed in the hotel, so we could hear constant barking.

The location isn't perfect, but as long as you have a car it's okay. Defininetely NOT within walking distance of bars and restaurants. So if you like to have a couple of glasses of wine with your meal, you will need to take a taxi

We thankfully were on a bed and breakfast basis only. Breakfast was extremely basic for a 4* hotel. Nothing cooked at all. We did not have any other food in the hotel, but compared to the restaurants we visited in the area, the menu was limited to say the least. I can not comment on the quality, but I am writing this while sat on the very nice roof terrace and the smells coming from the kitchen aren't making my mouth water

Pool bar area;
I am not an alcoholic, but I like to have a couple of drinks by the pool during the day. There is a bar, but it is not manned, so you have to go to reception and ask for a barman, who might turn up after about 10 minutes. He will serve me then bu..er off again, remember this high season! So if you want another drink, you have to go through the whole ritual again. In the end you can't be bothered
Pool;
No playing with balls in the pool
No diving, jumping in the pool, even though at 3.5metres, it is one of the deepest pools I have ever swum in.
The pool attendant spends his whole time mopping up. When you get out of the pool he will come behind you with his mop or his powered mopping machine. You are not allowed to move the loungers, people were trying to move theirs to face the sun and were told that this was not allowed
INCREDIBLY, the pool closes at 1pm and doesn't open again until 3pm, this is so the pool attendant can have a siesta! So all the kids playing in the pool, having fun (without doing any of the don'ts of course) are asked to get out for two hours. I think the pool is for advertising the hotel, I don't think they actually want you to use it
Reception are totally unhelpful, apart from the night porter, who spoke very good English and seemed the happiest of the staff
Some of the bar staff We're very accommodating and others couldnt have been more miserable

The rooms have no sound insulation

Room Tip: Pool views are probably best, as the pool area is like a morgue, due to all the rules and regulation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Britts24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Hotel Baia di Ulisse , Via A.G. Alaimo , 2 Agrigento May 12 – 2013… Room26

When visiting the “ Valley of the Temples “ this Hotel is a good option to spend the night. It is not the most modern Hotel, but it will serve the purpose. The hotel is clean, the staff friendly and accommodating. The furniture in the room is somewhat “ outdated “ but the room is clean and you will get a good nights rest. The Hotel has a pool and a nice view down into a bay and ocean. We had Dinner and Breakfast at the Hotel as well and it was good. The Front Desk arranged for me a cab to drive to the “ Valley of the Temples “`at night, so I was able to experience them when they are all illuminated which was certainly a highlight for me , since I love to take pictures. The cab driver was very cooperative to complete this task. Therefore stay at the Baia di Ulisse when visiting the fantastic Valley of the Temples .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castleford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

stayed here as part or a titan tour group for one night,had an evening meal which was average, found breakfast good with a good choice. the room seemed a little gloomy with poor lighting the wifi was free but poor. the pool area and the gardens were very well kept the bar prices were on par with other hotels. in a good location if you have a car to explore the valley of temples

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank william57Castleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

The property and it's gardens are extremely clean and well kept. Fantastic ocean views from the hotel terraces, pool, and gardens. The pool area is very nice and has great lounge chairs, unfortunately guest useage of the pool is restricted to certain hours. Great free parking on hotel grounds.

Hotel has a private beach with lounge chairs, umbrellas and on site staff that will bring you drinks from the hotel bar.

The room we stayed in was quite small, had efficient air conditioning and a nice balcony facing a quite garden. Room is like a 3 star hotel room.

We are very happy with our stay at this absolutely beautiful hotel. The hotel grounds are a relaxing place to hang out. We would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedenNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

We stayed for three nights in the hotel to explore the region. The hotel itself is very nice and clean, the rooms are typical Italian standard and for the price we payed a very good deal. The stuff was friendly, unfortunately when we were there it did not feel very Italian. Many international tourists and few Italians, good breakfast, but very bad diner - if you go, try to find other places to eat. Overall, would recommend it for a short stay and for visiting Agrigento and temples, but not for a longer stay. We where there in autumn, probably it is another story in the summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We muddled our way through the traffic and tourist buses of Agrigento wondering where the windy roads would take us and arrived at this resort and spa.
It is beautiful! Located by the water, the decor is impeccable, the rooms were comfortable and access to the beach very convenient.
I have to say though that we were not so impressed with the food, neither dinner nor breakfast were out of the ordinary, however overall it is a place I would return to to relax and chill.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Leone
2.1 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
28.4 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.6 mi away
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Leone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
62.7 mi away
Hotel Bel 3
Hotel Bel 3
#15 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA

Property: Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Address: Via Lacco Ameno | Agrigento, 92100 San Leone, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento > San Leone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Di Ulisse Wellness And Spa
Baia Di Ulisse Wellness & Spa Hotel San Leone
Baia Di Ulisse San Leone
Baia Di Ulisse Wellness & SPA Sicily/Province Of Agrigento - San Leone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing