We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great vacation stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We had a really short stay at this hotel, only a night, but after a half day drive in the car it was surprisingly nice to arrive at a hotel that had it all and only for its guests. Private parking area, private beach and large green spaces and garden all around the hotel down to the beach. It was up on the hill and had a great view to the coast, the room was descent but the pool area was beautiful and there was the Moreti beer to cool us off. The wellness and spa was beautiful where i paid a visit but did not have the time for a treatment though there are plenty of variations offered on the spa menu. The lounges and sun bed areas around the swimming pool were so comfortable and spacious. The only bad thing was that the water was not so clean or maybe CLEAR as we expected. Reception was helpful and guided us to another great restaurant in San Leone. Just a not: if you have your high heels do not start on foot. As they explained we thought that it was nearby but the truth was that without a car most people would need a taxi to get downtown which is about 25min walk at least. We did it by walking with a splendid stop at the beach bar "Oceanomare" exactly at sunset time for a nice mojito and a live DJ :) what a surprise. We stopped by also on the way back to the hotel and had some body shaking/dancing/:) San Leone is for sure a better deal than Agrigento center so if you are headed towards the Velle dei Templi it is a much better choice, but you should have a car and that is for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evgeniya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed a couple of days in agrigento and this hotel was really great! I enjoyed quiet and relax in a comfortable atmosphere. It's true,the hotel is not within walking distance from the town or the Greek temples, but I knew it was like that and it really was near the sea,actually on the beach! So,I don't agree with the review complaining about rules and other bad 'surprises'. When I went to the pool,the staff gave me the towel but no money was asked for that. They simply told me there was a deposit but just in case of losing the towel. Thank God,no one could play with the balls and I could lay in the sun without worrying at all..I also enjoyed some drinks.The boy in the pool bar was very nice and excused himself when I had to wait for a few minutes. IIt's true that the pool closes at1.00 p.m. but that's the way it is here with workers! They have working hours! .I had wi-fi free of charge, although sometimes it didn't work. Everybody was kind and all I've seen is what usually you would expect in a 4 star hotel .I think it's a very nice place, where you can find comforts, kindness, good food and a fantastic view!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We spent 2 nights in Agrigento and stayed at this hotel. It reminded us of Faulty Towers. We asked for a gin and tonic - but they had run out of tonic. We asked about the gym, but they told us it was closed, only open on the weekend? We asked about the wellness centre - but that is closed - only open on the weekend. I tried to walk from the hotel to the beach - but it was locked up...probably because it was not the weekend. Overall we were very dissapointed with this hotel.
Oh yes they said they had WIFI - but it was non existent around the whole hotel.

Room Tip: Its okay - but you need to catch a cab if you want to go into town for dinner. It is not a good loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Felt compelled to write my first ever review; (family m50, w43, son16 & friend16)

On the positive side it is very clean and mmmmm.... Nope can't think of anything else
This is the strangest hotel I have ever stayed in. When you first arrive in reception, your first impression will be, this looks like a very comfortable place to spend a few days, but beware. As soon as you check in, the rules and extras start to hit you.

No drinking or eating in the room unless purchased from the 'hotel', which of course we immediately ignored. The mini bar contains only water. Pool costs €5 per person Per day. Towels €25 deposit each + €3 each.
If wifi is not included in your package it is €3 for 12hours. It is supposed to be in the rooms, but 90% of the time it doesn't work. When it does work it is incredibly slow. It is an acceptable speed in the bar area

The rooms have no sound insulation whatsoever and there is an electric gate to get in and out of the property. People blast the horn their cars when they want to get in and out. Pets are allowed in the hotel, so we could hear constant barking.

The location isn't perfect, but as long as you have a car it's okay. Defininetely NOT within walking distance of bars and restaurants. So if you like to have a couple of glasses of wine with your meal, you will need to take a taxi

We thankfully were on a bed and breakfast basis only. Breakfast was extremely basic for a 4* hotel. Nothing cooked at all. We did not have any other food in the hotel, but compared to the restaurants we visited in the area, the menu was limited to say the least. I can not comment on the quality, but I am writing this while sat on the very nice roof terrace and the smells coming from the kitchen aren't making my mouth water

Pool bar area;
I am not an alcoholic, but I like to have a couple of drinks by the pool during the day. There is a bar, but it is not manned, so you have to go to reception and ask for a barman, who might turn up after about 10 minutes. He will serve me then bu..er off again, remember this high season! So if you want another drink, you have to go through the whole ritual again. In the end you can't be bothered
Pool;
No playing with balls in the pool
No diving, jumping in the pool, even though at 3.5metres, it is one of the deepest pools I have ever swum in.
The pool attendant spends his whole time mopping up. When you get out of the pool he will come behind you with his mop or his powered mopping machine. You are not allowed to move the loungers, people were trying to move theirs to face the sun and were told that this was not allowed
INCREDIBLY, the pool closes at 1pm and doesn't open again until 3pm, this is so the pool attendant can have a siesta! So all the kids playing in the pool, having fun (without doing any of the don'ts of course) are asked to get out for two hours. I think the pool is for advertising the hotel, I don't think they actually want you to use it
Reception are totally unhelpful, apart from the night porter, who spoke very good English and seemed the happiest of the staff
Some of the bar staff We're very accommodating and others couldnt have been more miserable

The rooms have no sound insulation

Room Tip: Pool views are probably best, as the pool area is like a morgue, due to all the rules and regulation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Britts24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Hotel Baia di Ulisse , Via A.G. Alaimo , 2 Agrigento May 12 – 2013… Room26

When visiting the “ Valley of the Temples “ this Hotel is a good option to spend the night. It is not the most modern Hotel, but it will serve the purpose. The hotel is clean, the staff friendly and accommodating. The furniture in the room is somewhat “ outdated “ but the room is clean and you will get a good nights rest. The Hotel has a pool and a nice view down into a bay and ocean. We had Dinner and Breakfast at the Hotel as well and it was good. The Front Desk arranged for me a cab to drive to the “ Valley of the Temples “`at night, so I was able to experience them when they are all illuminated which was certainly a highlight for me , since I love to take pictures. The cab driver was very cooperative to complete this task. Therefore stay at the Baia di Ulisse when visiting the fantastic Valley of the Temples .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

stayed here as part or a titan tour group for one night,had an evening meal which was average, found breakfast good with a good choice. the room seemed a little gloomy with poor lighting the wifi was free but poor. the pool area and the gardens were very well kept the bar prices were on par with other hotels. in a good location if you have a car to explore the valley of temples

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william57Castleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The property and it's gardens are extremely clean and well kept. Fantastic ocean views from the hotel terraces, pool, and gardens. The pool area is very nice and has great lounge chairs, unfortunately guest useage of the pool is restricted to certain hours. Great free parking on hotel grounds.

Hotel has a private beach with lounge chairs, umbrellas and on site staff that will bring you drinks from the hotel bar.

The room we stayed in was quite small, had efficient air conditioning and a nice balcony facing a quite garden. Room is like a 3 star hotel room.

We are very happy with our stay at this absolutely beautiful hotel. The hotel grounds are a relaxing place to hang out. We would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedenNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Leone
2.2 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
4.2 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,227 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 23 in Agrigento
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
93.4 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
28 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,926 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA

Address: Via Lacco Ameno | Agrigento, 92100 San Leone, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento > San Leone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Price Range: £67 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Di Ulisse Wellness And Spa
Baia Di Ulisse Wellness & Spa Hotel San Leone
Baia Di Ulisse San Leone
Baia Di Ulisse Wellness & SPA Sicily/Province Of Agrigento - San Leone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing