We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is not what it claims.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This hotel is not what it claims.”
Reviewed 25 October 2007

AC is controlled by the management and even though it was warm it was turned off. Although rooms were very clean, noise level was very loud. Food in osteria was okay, however, although they list items ala carte, they refused to serve us unless we took the 4 course dinner. Senior management was extremely rude, so obvious that junior management kept apologizing. This lasted our full stay of 3 days.
Hotel is located about 50 feet next to their other hotel that has been under construction for years. Looks like they stopped altogether. We had 3 rooms with a total of 7 people and we all agree this hotel misrepresents themselves and travelers should look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Senior Management
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Whereshenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    364
    97
    42
    30
See reviews for
260
517
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2007

We arrived at this hotel late in the evening and were greeted with a very friendly receptionist who offered dinner before we did the checkin, which was well received given the three hour drive we had just completed. The food at the hotel was wonderful very tradditional sicilian homecooking. The room was clean and modern with a good sized bathroom, there was also parking for guests. The hotel is well situated for access to the Valley of the Temples.

  • Liked — The food and parking
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kingofbiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muhldorf am Inn, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2007

We stayed in the Costazurra for two nights. I booked the hotel, because it is near the valley of the temples and near the beach. The hotel is a modern complex without any proper style and personal feeling. Free huge parking is available and there is an Internet corner for free but the connection is very slow. Wifi is provided by another company and therefore it costs 3 Euros per hour. The hotel is a ten-minutes-walk from the beach and from there, the bus to Agrigento is leaving. When you want to take this bus, ask at the reception; at the bus stop, there are no signs or indications. The bathroom size of the room was okay, but the shower was so tiny that large or thick people (as I am) will definitely have problems when taking a shower. This means that taking a shower is more a problem than a pleasure.

At the check-in, I asked for a quiet room. The employee told me that in the evening there will be "Sicilian Live music". The music started
at 10.pm and lasted until 0.am. I could not sleep until it was finished because the windows are not very good isolated and I heard perfectly the music. Apart from this, on the rear side there is the ventilation system which is quite loud: you can only sleep with the window opened if you are not sensible to noise.At the next morning, I asked if there will be live music this evening. As he said yes, I asked for another room, but the employee did not react and did not offer me any kind of compensation. He only said that he felt sorry. I was really disappointed for this. At least I wouzld have expected a free diner or any sign to show that they care about their customers. FInally, when we left, the manager (who was obviously the father of the guy of the reception) gave us a bottle of wine. As he just gave us the wine and did not speak anything, I suppose that this
was due to my complaint. The next day I saw in the supermarket that this was the cheapest wine available, and the tast of the wine was really very bad.

The brekfast was average. They did not constantly refill the food so if you came at a wrong moment, it could be that you had to wait. We were even not asked for the coffee but I had to care for it. Due to my experiences, I definitely will not recommend this hotel. I also will not stay here again, as there are many other nice hotels in this
surroundings.

  • Liked — Big room
  • Disliked — Bad service
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank absi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2007

This family-run hotel is away from the city of Agrigento in a small town, but close driving-distance to the wonderful temples. The rooms range from small to largish, with modern furnishings and fixtures, at a moderate price. We were treated well, English is spoken at the desk, and the dining room offers home-cooked meals.

  • Liked — Proximity to temples
  • Disliked — Poor views
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2007

Written up in Michelin Guide, this three star hotel is one of the few good medium priced hotels in the area of Agrigento, Italy. It is located in a beach community that has seen better days, even though you can find some good restaurants around town. It is run by a family whose primary mission is the satisfaction of their customers. It has excellent service and security. The family, some of whom speak english, went overboard to meet our needs over 2 days. The restaurant has very good local dishes, esp. seafood. It is located only a couple of miles from the major Agrigento ruins, which are located to the south of the city, and keeps you away from the city traffic. Gated parking and hotel grounds accessable by electronic openers.

  • Liked — Service, food, security
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargeAsheville_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Grove, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2007

Overall, the rooms were pleasant for the price range, although the bathrooms are a little small. It had a great atmosphere. The continental breakfast is not gourmet, but it is what is to be expected from a hotel continental breakfast. The sons of the owner speak great English and are extremely helpful. The hotel is a walk from the beach, but it clearly states that. The beachfront is a busy little area anyway, so the hotel is in a quieter area. If you can't stand a short walk, there is a bus stop across the street from the hotel that goes right to the beachfront boulevard.

We travelled all over Italy and stayed in many different accomodations. This was one of the nicer places. A lot of the negative reviews seem to be from Americans who may not realize that Sicilians have an entirely different culture and way of doing things. Hotel Costazzurra is not a resort facility on miles of luscious beach front, but it is a nice accomodating place for the price. I would recommend it to any typical traveller on a reasonable budget.

  • Liked — Nice rooms for the price, Great value
  • Disliked — Uncentral location
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nina5096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2007

This hotel is in a great location to see the Valley of the Temples. The entire area of Agrigento is a little run down, but is safe, and the Temples make it worth the trip. Two things make this hotel a diamond in the rough: the family that runs it is so nice, and the restaurant's food is fantastic! It's worth the stay if you are headed to Agrigento.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — the surrounding area
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ReviewUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Leone
2.2 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
25.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,760 reviews
1.3 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
95.1 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 23 in Agrigento
1,675 reviews
2.6 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA

Property: Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
Address: Via delle Viole 2, 92100 San Leone, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento > San Leone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Costazzurra Museum & Spa is an oasis of Mediterranean hospitality. It’s located near the archaeological park of the Valley of the Temples in Agrigento and is close to the Mediterranean Sea, in one of the most beautiful stretches of the coast. The perfect place to plan a vacation together with the persons you love. The hotel is the first authentic archaeological-hotel in the world and offers its guests the unique opportunity to enjoy in exclusive the archaeological collection "The Gaipa". Food, wine, culture ... we do interpreters of the many Sicily’s pleasures to transform the "Holiday" in "Experience”. A rich a la carte menu based on only fresh Mediterranean fish and seasonal ingredients "zero kilometer", a wine selection including the best labels of Sicilian wines and the passion for the tastes of Sicily. These are the secrets of the restaurant "Il Grecale", pride of our hotel known among the best restaurants on the Island. Together with fish, the Pizza. Made with doughs obtained from traditional flours, is elevated to the rank of traditional dish of excellence. The Spa "Grotta delle Muse" is an enchanting place, harmonious and seductive where taking care of body and soul to enjoy some moments of genuine wellness. Our Spa welcomes guests with its swimming pool with whirlpool, geysers and water jets, Finnish sauna, Turkish bath, emotional shower and its massages and beauty treatments. All it accompanied by hot tea energizing and rebalancing. The “Verde Mare” is our lounge-swimming pool. The swimming pool with areas for relaxation awaiting you to spend the more pleasants hours of your stay. Perfect for couples, singles or families. In fact, the large solarium there is a wellness area accessible only for adults guests and a play area for children. At dusk, Indulge yourself the pleasure of a refined drink in the bar ... and then in the evening everything becomes glam and the pool is transformed into a spectacular fountain brightening of colors and water games. The Collection "La Gaipa" It’s a collection of archaeological reperts mostly original from the Magna Grecia and dated between the fifth and fourth century BC. These pieces are complemented by others Egyptians, Romans and Byzantines. The collection offers you an overview of the cultures that have alternated in Akragas which was among the most important crossroads of the Mediterranean. The pieces come exclusively from acquisitions made abroad with the intention to actively promote the return to Italy of its archaeological heritage. For the first time they are exposed to the public on a permanent exposition, thus providing a unique opportunity to enrich the stay of travelers with a unique museum experience in situ. Is also possible to stay in a Museum Room where guests can enjoy the private exhibition of some pieces of the collection. Thus the Hotel Costazzurra Museum & Spa presents itself as a favorite destination for those who want an exclusive experience of culture, making it an attraction in itself. The hotel's staff includes also young archaeologists who daily open the display cases to allow guests to enjoy the experience of touching some of the reperts. We offer you the emotion of holding a piece of History into your hands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costazzurra Hotel San Leone
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA Sicily/Province Of Agrigento - San Leone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing