We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meals!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
1 review
“Great meals!”
Reviewed 11 November 2007

At the end of october/beginning of november we spent three lovely days at Hotel Costazzurra and really enjoyed our stay! The meals were simply delicious, everyone was very friendly, the room was nice (if anything the shower in our bathroom could have been a little more spacious).
The hotel is at an easy walking distance from the beach and a busstop of line 2 that takes into the centre of Agrigento is just opposite the hotel. A very recommendable place!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank ViennaPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    357
    96
    42
    29
See reviews for
251
509
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2007

what a fantastic family run hotel. we were with students and mature people in a group of 25, imagine the chaos this brings, but the hotel could not do enough for us.
clean and fresh, food excellent, catered for huge dinner perfectly well.
ensured we had guides, coach drivers or interpreters when and if needed.
i would recommend this hotel to people of all ages, nothing was too much trouble and we felt special and welcome.

all at national university of Galway, classics society.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank suzhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bexhill
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2007

We decided to check out San Leone having first driven round tourist central nearby, aka Agrigento - the latter was not our cup of tea, rightly or wrongly. There are fewer accomodation options in San Leone but it's a much, much nicer location being but 5 mins drive from the Valley of Temples yet bang on the sea. Great promenade for a wide choice of decent places to eat and a nice long stroll afterwards. By day, great beaches for swimming and chilling if you've the luxury of some time off from Sicilian sight-seeing. Hotel Costazzurra is slightly dated in design (80s we guessed) but is nice and clean and has everything you need i.e. good bed, good bathroom, tv, fridge, safe, balcony, free secure parking etc, etc. However what set it apart from many of the other, perfectly acceptable, places that we stayed at in Sicily over the course of our 2 week vacation was the charming family who own/run it. The brothers and their father were charm and service personified. Thanks to them we got round the sights of Agrigento in half the time we would have done otherwise and saw twice as much of interest. Many thanks, gentlemen, for a very relaxing and enjoyable couple of days and for all your gracious help and advice. Breakfast was good. We didn't try dinner. The low-season rate we paid was value for money. However I would have struggled to pay the high-season rate and felt likewise.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Crest
Level Contributor
252 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2007

We had a wonderful stay at this family-run hotel outside Agrigento (San Leone). The rooms were bright and cheery and the bathrooms were modern. We enjoyed our balcony, especially in the evenings. The hotel is accessible to the beach and lido areas (walking 10 minutes). It also has its own secure, large parking area (free too!). Another plus was a free internet kiosk.

A great buffet breakfast was included and we opted to eat dinner each night at the restaurant off the hotel lobby. We enjoyed delicious homemade traditional Sicilian dishes. The price was a value for what was served.

We will definitely return!!

Mille grazie, Salvatore e familia Ed & Lindy Ruggiero, USA

  • Liked — Restaurant and location
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ExcellentAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2007

In mid-October we stayed for one night at the Hotel Costazzurra. We arrived in the evening after a long drive. When we checked in, Salvatore, part of the family that owns the hotel, immediately began to push us to eat in the hotel restaurant. He praised the fresh ingredients and told us that many people from Agrigento and from other hotels in the area came there to eat. He also told what a bargain the meal was. We were tired and he was persuasive, so in spite of having planned to eat elsewhere, we ended up eating at the hotel. This was a mistake. It was by far the worst meal we had in our three and a half weeks in Italy. We were in Italy to see ruins and to eat, so we generally ate in restaurants that we had researched carefully. The meal at the Hotel Costazzurra showed the problems with not following this approach. It was beyond mediocre -- all of the dishes but one were close to inedible. It also wasn't quite the bargain that Salvatore had suggested. The wines were overpriced and a supplement for fish as a main course and a cover charge brought the price up to that of a nice trattoria. The basement dining room was reasonably full, but we saw all of the same people at breakfast, so only hotel quests seemed to be eating there -- probably as a result of Salvatore's persuasiveness. We discussed our dinner with another couple over breakfast and they also had disliked their meal.

The hotel itself was okay, but not up to the level of the other hotels we stayed in while we were in Sicily (which were all of the same class). It was certainly not what I expected from the TripAdvisor reviews. The room was clean, but not very pleasant and certainly not modern.

We have stayed in perhaps two dozen hotels found through TripAdvisor over the last few years and this is the first time we have found a serious discrepancy between the descriptions on TripAdvisor and the hotel itself. The discrepancy between the restaurant reviews and the meal we had was even more striking. Overall, it was as if we had gone to a different hotel from most of the other reviewers.

I'd give this hotel a miss. I'm sure there are better choices in Agrigento.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — The hotel restaurant, which was misrepresented
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AliceSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Costazzurra in Agrigento (San Leone Beach – Valley of the Temples) in early October/07. We had a very good stay there. The rooms were modern, clean and the hotel was professionally run. An additional bonus was the free parking.

We’d recommend this family run hotel to anyone who’s interested in a quiet location that is near the beach, the Valley of the Temples, and Agrigento. We’d also suggest that you sample the dinner menu which is offered at a special price to hotel guests. We enjoyed the meal so much the first night, that we had dinner there again the second night.

An illustration of the good service and helpful attitude of the hotel staff occurred when our car broke down and we made contact with the rental agency. We were having language difficulties in talking with the agency when, on our request, the person on the front counter spoke to them. He explained our problem and ensured that the agency followed through in addressing our needs. He made and clarified the arrangements with the agency so that we were able to continue our holiday with minimal interruption. His assistance was invaluable and prevented us from having to make changes to our travel plans.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellersOakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2007

this hotel seemed to be well located near the coast, but everything in the surrounding area was dirty and decaying with rubbish everywhere and dog shizen.
salvatore was a warm efficient host and we ate there for dinner, which we found to be quite average food wise, service very good
you would be hard pressed to find better accomodation in the area, but warning the valley of the temples is the main attraction so one night or just an afternoon or morning trip would do it.
rooms clean fridge safe bathroom was ok

  • Liked — clean and friendly
  • Disliked — surrounding area was dirty
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Leone
2.2 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
25.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,735 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.6 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Leone
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA

Property: Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
Address: Via delle Viole 2, 92100 San Leone, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento > San Leone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Costazzurra Museum & Spa is an oasis of Mediterranean hospitality. It’s located near the archaeological park of the Valley of the Temples in Agrigento and is close to the Mediterranean Sea, in one of the most beautiful stretches of the coast. The perfect place to plan a vacation together with the persons you love. The hotel is the first authentic archaeological-hotel in the world and offers its guests the unique opportunity to enjoy in exclusive the archaeological collection "The Gaipa". Food, wine, culture ... we do interpreters of the many Sicily’s pleasures to transform the "Holiday" in "Experience”. A rich a la carte menu based on only fresh Mediterranean fish and seasonal ingredients "zero kilometer", a wine selection including the best labels of Sicilian wines and the passion for the tastes of Sicily. These are the secrets of the restaurant "Il Grecale", pride of our hotel known among the best restaurants on the Island. Together with fish, the Pizza. Made with doughs obtained from traditional flours, is elevated to the rank of traditional dish of excellence. The Spa "Grotta delle Muse" is an enchanting place, harmonious and seductive where taking care of body and soul to enjoy some moments of genuine wellness. Our Spa welcomes guests with its swimming pool with whirlpool, geysers and water jets, Finnish sauna, Turkish bath, emotional shower and its massages and beauty treatments. All it accompanied by hot tea energizing and rebalancing. The “Verde Mare” is our lounge-swimming pool. The swimming pool with areas for relaxation awaiting you to spend the more pleasants hours of your stay. Perfect for couples, singles or families. In fact, the large solarium there is a wellness area accessible only for adults guests and a play area for children. At dusk, Indulge yourself the pleasure of a refined drink in the bar ... and then in the evening everything becomes glam and the pool is transformed into a spectacular fountain brightening of colors and water games. The Collection "La Gaipa" It’s a collection of archaeological reperts mostly original from the Magna Grecia and dated between the fifth and fourth century BC. These pieces are complemented by others Egyptians, Romans and Byzantines. The collection offers you an overview of the cultures that have alternated in Akragas which was among the most important crossroads of the Mediterranean. The pieces come exclusively from acquisitions made abroad with the intention to actively promote the return to Italy of its archaeological heritage. For the first time they are exposed to the public on a permanent exposition, thus providing a unique opportunity to enrich the stay of travelers with a unique museum experience in situ. Is also possible to stay in a Museum Room where guests can enjoy the private exhibition of some pieces of the collection. Thus the Hotel Costazzurra Museum & Spa presents itself as a favorite destination for those who want an exclusive experience of culture, making it an attraction in itself. The hotel's staff includes also young archaeologists who daily open the display cases to allow guests to enjoy the experience of touching some of the reperts. We offer you the emotion of holding a piece of History into your hands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costazzurra Hotel San Leone
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA Sicily/Province Of Agrigento - San Leone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing