We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good moden Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostellerie d'Aussois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostellerie d'Aussois
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Semur-en-Auxois
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good moden Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Good Hotel nice rooms , and very good bath rooms with good showers, that can sometimes be a problem to find in France. The restaurant was good with the set menu having at least 4 choices for each course, and good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    93
    22
    14
    3
See reviews for
19
76
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We arrived just after 7pm after a long and very tiring car journey. We needed supper and an early bedtime. However , we were told by reception that we could not go into the restaurant until 8.30pm as it was too busy.
This was a shame because we were very hungry but were prepared to wait.
My husband went to the bar but it took a long time to get any service as they were too busy in the restaurant .
We entered the restaurant at about 8.35 and were given a table. Not all the tables were occupied.
By 8.50 we still hadn't even been offered a drink or given some bread. On stopping a waiter to ask him whether this was possible ,he slammed down some bread and a jug of water which spilt all over me .At that point we left to eat at another restaurant and wished we had much earlier, instead of hanging around waiting for over an hour.
Do not book this hotel if you know it will be busy .
The room was perfectly fine except it was rather grubby and smelt badly of cigarettes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frog1010266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights whilst visiting family who are living in Semur. What an amazing experience - excellent service throughout the hotel. The staff were very helpful, the rooms well decorated and comfortable. The restaurant service was great - from the breakfast to dinner. Especially dinner - compliments to the Chef, delicious food. Luckily the weather was hot and sunny so we spent a couple of mornings at the swimming pool relaxing. In all a great weekend.

Room Tip: All rooms decorated to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne05-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandre_thenard, General Manager at Hostellerie d'Aussois, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments about accomodation in our Hotel.
We are very glad to know you spent a good time with us, that your weekend was great while visiting your family in Semur.
We will keep informed our staff about your compliments.Thank you for them.
Hope to see you again.

Alexandre THENARD
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

We much enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable, the size average. We found the food very good although the menu did not change so if you were to stay for more than a few days (we stayed for 6 nights, eating elsewhere (but not so well!), on 2 nights) you might be in difficulty choosing something different. The restaurant manager, Thierry, is a delightful man, very personable and, having worked in England, speaks excellent English, should language be an issue. Natalie, on reception, was especially pleasant. Finally - I emailed them following our return as we wanted to buy a small item from them. Our somewhat unusual request was well received and following a very pleasant exchange of emails the transaction was achieved efficiently and in good time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francevacances037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We called in here on 29 September 2012 on the way back from Switzerland.

We didn't have a reservation but the hotel found us a room even though they were quite busy. The common areas of the hotel did not seem too clean, the carpets in particular looking quite grubby; the bedroom was clean enough if a little drab, but fine for an overnight stopover.

However, the worst aspect of the hotel was the restaurant; poor quality expensive food and too much use of supplements in respect of the more appealing dishes. The Burgundian snail starter was poor; snails too small, insufficiently cleaned, too much salt and not enough garlic (try the Brasserie La Vagenende in Paris to see how snails should be done - and, cheaper too). My wife's steak main was spoiled by having been cooked on a dirty griddle (probably because the restaurant was so busy? but spoiled even so) and annoying in view of the supplement of 10 Euro (yes, a 10 Euro supplement) for what started out from the chiller as a decent piece of meat accompanied by oven chips and a limp lettuce leaf. On the subject of supplements, the supplement of 7.50 Euro for the Cafe Gourmand was probably the worst aspect aspect of the meal; the Cafe Gourmand was a thimble-full of coffee accompanied by a third-rate Ile Flottante, an almond tuille biscuit and some sort of chocolate cake cut into a bizarre shape to make it look gourmand.

Breakfast was a buffet type of affair. The Nespresso machine was the highlight, that and the premises-baked bread which was a treat.

For an overnight stop the hotel was OK but I'd definitely recommend trying to find a restaurant elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesG_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We found this hotel late in the evening after driving from Bordeaux. We had no reservation but they did have a room. We went to the dining room but the large, loud party from the bar was being seated next to us so we left. The next day, REBECCA was amazing. She helped us with our internet connection and even called to our French speaking -only caretaker to help us into our rental home a few hours earlier. She directed us to a cafe for lunch that has wi-fi. She was such a blessing and so sweet. Room was clean, easy parking, but the staff was the best of all. Michelin rated hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llsimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cranleigh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

A nice clean hotel, friendly helpful staff, dinner at the hotel was very good, rooms clean and fairly recently refurbed, excellent for an overnight stop. Good parking, easy to find in quiet location. Didn't have time to visit Semur - en- Auxois but had a quick drive through outskirts which looked lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semur-en-Auxois
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Cote d'Or
Hotel de la Cote d'Or
#1 of 3 in Semur-en-Auxois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ibis Avallon
Ibis Avallon
#1 of 3 in Magny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ici M'aime
Ici M'aime
#1 of 1 in Rouvray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Logis de l'Ecu
Logis de l'Ecu
#1 of 1 in Montbard
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
15.2 mi away
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
17.1 mi away
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
#1 of 1 in Chailly-sur-Armancon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie d'Aussois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie d'Aussois

Property: Hostellerie d'Aussois
Address: Route de Saulieu, 21140 Semur-en-Auxois, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Semur-en-Auxois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Semur-en-Auxois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie d'Aussois 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostellerie d'Aussois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie D'Aussois Semur-En-Auxois, Cote D'Or, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing