We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious hotel, clean and satisfying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de la Cote d'Or
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Semur-en-Auxois
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

After a day of exploring Burgundy wine country, small villages along the way, and a visit to amazing Abbey of Fontenay, we were looking forward to the quiet little medieval town of Semur-en-Auxois. To our surprise, traffic was gridlocked approaching the town and parking non-existent. We discovered, unbeknownst to us, that this was the weekend of the annual Fête Médiévale. So we pulled into the space in front of our hotel, Hôtel de la Côte-d’Or. The hotel was locked up and we couldn’t see a soul inside. Check-in was via an ATM-looking kiosk. It read our credit card and spit out our room card, #105. We dropped our suitcases in our room, left a note on our car and off we went to an afternoon at the Fête Médiévale, right across the street from the hotel. (If you happen to schedule your visit on the first weekend of June… you’ll love Fête Médiévale, complete with a band of Barbarian Musicians, and a cast of characters including many on stilts walking through the crowd. Great fun.) To the point: the hotel is simple, unpretentious and comfortable and, I might add, a bargain and great location. The bathroom was up-to-date and everything one needs for a night’s stay. Morning breakfast, with a generous variety of options, was available in a large, nicely decorated room. There appeared to also be a nice lounge room, but we never saw anyone in it—staff or guests—day or night. Our hostess, who checked us out of our room, was pleasant. Admittedly, we were a bit concerned with an automated check-in system with its lack of human contact (a first for us), but all in all, a wonderful visit in Semur-en-Auxois, and a wonderfully located and comfortable stay at Hôtel de la Côte-d’Or. I feel comfortable in recommending it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robbgrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VJobic, Gérant at Hotel de la Cote d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014
Google Translation

Bonsoir Madame, Monsieur,

Je ne sais pourquoi mais je n'ai pas eu le retour de votre message dans les temps. Aussi je m'empresse d'y répondre et vous remercier pour ce retour qui mérite quelques explications.
En effet, vous êtes arrivés le jour de la FETE DE LA BAGUE : la plus vieille course à cheval de France, qui se court depuis 1566 à pied et 1639 à cheval.
Pour ce qui est de la borne automatique qui vous a accueilli, sachez que ce système n'existe que pour remplir notre mission lorsque nous sommes en déplacement pour nos clients (aller cherche un client à l'aérodrome par exemple). Sinon, nous assurons une présence de 6h à 13h, puis de 14h30 à 21h minimum.
Je suis désolée que vous ayez eu ce sentiment d'être un peu abandonnés, et j'espère que si vous revenez sur Semur-en-Auxois nous pourrons nous faire pardonner.
Encore merci pour votre retour très important pour nous.
Très bonne année 2014.
Bien cordialement et respectueusement.
Véronique Jobic.
Nous sommes présents au salon des vacances à Bruxelles.
Du 6 au 10 février 2014
De 10h à 18h tous les jours – Palais 4, 5, 6 et 7
PARC DES EXPOSITIONS DE BRUXELLES,
Heysel, 1 place de Belgique, 1020 BRUXELLES.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

The concept of a 'boutique' hotel where everything is modernised and 'designed' has been around for a while but this is the fist time I have encountered one in France. This is a lovely old building which has been tastefully restored, exposed beams abound - the decor is thought through and coordinated and the bathroom fittings are chic!
We had a warm welcome too - no complaints at all - and it is a very handy distance from Calais. Lots of places to eat nearby - a small bar in the hotel too - breakfast was excellent with a wide range of breads and jams - slightly more expensive that other places we stayed in - but very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VJobic, Gérant at Hotel de la Cote d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014
Google Translation

Bonsoir Monsieur,

Merci beaucoup pour vos remarques.
Notre hôtel boutique est en effet toujours en pleine rénovation (depuis 8 ans maintenant), car c'est un ancien Relais de Poste du XVIIème siècle qui demande beaucoup d'attentions.
Nous terminons deux chambres côté jardin et espérons qu'elles plairont à nos clients.
Les petit-déjeuners sont à 12.00 € depuis 2 ans et nous n'allons pas les augmenter cette année. Ils proposent des confitures "Maison" faite par une jeune femme Semuroise qui n'utilise que des fruits de saison, sans rien rajouter qu'un peu de sucre, et les pains sont achetés pré-cuits et ensuite cuits sur place.
Nous y rajoutons de nombreux fruits, fromages, charcuteries, fruits secs, gâteaux divers et 3 à 4 jus de fruits différents, 2 sortes de yaourts, 2 miels.
Vous avez dû profiter de la formule "continentale" à 7.00 € que nous allons améliorer.
Si vous avez des suggestions, cela nous intéresse.
Merci encore, et très bonne année 2014 à vous.
Bien cordialement,
Véronique Jobic.

Nous sommes présents au salon des vacances à Bruxelles.
Du 6 au 10 février 2014
De 10h à 18h tous les jours – Palais 4, 5, 6 et 7
PARC DES EXPOSITIONS DE BRUXELLES,
Heysel, 1 place de Belgique, 1020 BRUXELLES.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very well located hotel which has undergone a lot of successful renovation. Our room was beautiful and we even had a little balcony overlooking entrance to the old town. We loved the sensors which triggered floor level low lighting in the dark to enable us to find the toilet in the middle of the night, never seen this before in a hotel! Staff were very friendly and so helpful. We had the Continental breakfast which was more than sufficient (think 12 euros for main breakfast was on the steep side so decided to go for the cheaper option). Would certainly consider returning for another visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VJobic, Manager at Hotel de la Cote d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014
Google Translation

Bonsoir Madame, Monsieur,

L'idée de l'éclairage veilleuse automatique nous vient d'un client soucieux de ne pas ennuyer son épouse la nuit en cas de nécessité.
Elle est en effet peu courante, et nous a demandé plusieurs essais avant de trouver la bonne formule pour plaire à tous (avant la veilleuse restait allumée tout le temps, mais dérangeait certain de nos hôtes désireux de dormir dans l'obscurité totale). Désormais, le système est efficace et plait beaucoup.
Merci de votre témoignage de confirmation.
Bonne année à vous, et à très bientôt j'espère.
Véronique Jobic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This was a well located comfortable hotel in the final stages of renovation. It is located downtown on the main street so it was easy to walk to dinner and shopping. The staff were very helpful as my luggage had been delayed by the airlines, but they worked with the airlines and taxi company to have it delivered the same evening while we went out to dinner. As everyone mentioned, the wi fi does not work in the room, but I was able to download my emails in the reception area at checkout. Room was nicely furnished. Had a lot of ceiling beams to be careful of in the washroom. Very easy to hit your head if you are taller, and I am not even 5'-11".

Room Tip: We had a room facing the main street and did not find it noisy with the window closed, and there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeBonVieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VJobic, Gérant at Hotel de la Cote d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Nous vous remercions pour vos encouragements.
Par contre nous ne comprenons pas pourquoi le WiFi ne fonctionnait pas, d'autant que nous n'en avons pas connaissance. En effet, nous avons changer de Routeur, et du fait de l'importance de nos murs, nous avons désormais 2 routeurs (un dans chaque aile de chambres) de façon à ce que cela fonctionne partout.
Nous allons donc faire vérifier ce matériel.
Comme je l'ai signalé à d'autres clients, toutes les chambres sont câblées en n° 6 (dernière génération de câblage informatique) et nous disposons de câbles pour nos clients.
Merci en tous cas de ce retour d'information très important pour améliorer la situation.
Bien à vous,
cordialement,
V. Jobic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

nice place close to the center of the old town, parking is limited, we did not have breakfast so we don' t know if it's good. A lot of nice restaurants are close by. We had a room with a Jacuzzi. Anything to complain: maybe housekeeping should be done a bit thoroughly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VJobic, Gérant at Hotel de la Cote d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013
Google Translation

Merci Madame, Monsieur,
Pour votre message.
Nous avons prêter plus attention au ménage depuis votre passage, car le personnel de nettoyage a été doublé, et nous pouvons désormais faire un travail plus minutieux.

A très bientôt en Bourgogne,
V. Jobic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a nice renovated old building. My room was a little noisy due to the being on the main road through town. The staff was very nice. The Wi fi barely worked and when it did it was spotty.
Lots of places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in a room near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 715MonaLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VJobic, Gérant at Hotel de la Cote d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour Madame,
Votre message nous avait échappé, mais je tiens à vous remercier pour vos remarques pertinentes qui nous aident à avancer, à nous améliorer, à modifier notre vision d'accueil et de séjour de nos hôtes.
Je dois quand même vous dire que nous avons désormais des routeurs WiFi plus puissants (les anciens fonctionnaient avec quelques "ruptures" dues à l'épaisseur de nos murs), et que toutes les chambres sont équipées de câble informatique n° 6. Nous avons à disposition des câbles pour nos clients.
L'équipement de climatisation réversible (chaud-froid) individuelle permet d'éviter d'ouvrir les fenêtres, et donc d'entendre les bruits de rue en journée, la nuit étant relativement calme dans un gros village comme le nôtre.

Nous espérons que vous aurez l'occasion de revenir dans notre région, et avec plaisir chez nous pour constater ces améliorations.
Nous serons ravis de vous montrer la suite de nos travaux qui durent depuis ... 2006, uniquement durant l'absence de nos clients.
Bien à vous,
V. Jobic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Very nice hotel in perfect location. Old, charming building renovated very tastefully with very modern, high end conveniences. Excellent combination of the old and new. Well managed. Good breakfast. Convenient parking. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlew11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semur-en-Auxois
0.6 mi away
Hostellerie d'Aussois
Hostellerie d'Aussois
#1 of 4 in Semur-en-Auxois
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Cymaises
Hotel des Cymaises
#3 of 4 in Semur-en-Auxois
82 reviews
15.4 mi away
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Hostellerie de la Tour d'Auxois
24.8 mi away
Chateau Sainte Sabine
Chateau Sainte Sabine
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Sabine
567 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
#1 of 1 in Chailly-sur-Armancon
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cote d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cote d'Or

Address: 1 rue de la Liberte, 21140 Semur-en-Auxois, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Semur-en-Auxois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Semur-en-Auxois
Price Range: £79 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Cote d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel de la Cote d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Cote D'Or Semur-En-Auxois, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing