We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific stay!”
Review of Meridian Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meridian Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is an amazing place. Right on the beach with million dollar ocean views. This has everything you need for a home away from home. Plenty of space with a fully equiped kitchen and laundry. There is a pool spa. FREE Internet to keep the kids happy and a garage to park the car to keep dad happy..
We are a family of 6 and the 3 bedroom self contained apartment was perfect for us.
This is where we will be staying each time we visit the area for our family get togethers. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 777KGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We originally booked the Meridian for our wedding night and it was just beautiful.
We then have returned two more times and we are locals!
It's a great location to have your family get togethers!
Rooms are good sizes. We had a ground floor / beach front 3 bedroom unit 2 times and a 1 bedroom unit the other. All very pleasing. Always clean & facilities in the room are great. Dishwasher/fridge/oven and then there is BBQ facilities in the common area with indoor dining beside the pool area. It's really nice atmosphere. The managers are always only too happy to help. They bought us our portacot for our bub and made it up too. The pool and all areas are kept immaculate! Love it there!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have just come home from 3 nights at the Meridian Resort via a Groupon voucher. It was certainly a good deal and we upgraded to a beachfront unit for an extra $50.00 Definitely worth the extra. We had a downstairs unit ( No 14 ) and could see the ocean from our lounge/ kitchen and bedroom. It was fantastic to wake up to that every day.
The unit itself was clean but,a little tired and in need of someTLC. It's very self contained and has all you need in the kitchen. The en suite was a little small but,the shower was a decent size. It had a walk in robe area and that was good for storing all our 'stuff' without scattering everything around the place. Very handy!! There was a large table with 6 chairs and a 3 seater lounge and 2 arm chairs plus a night and day lounge.There was a good outdoor setting on a private courtyard.
A very roomy unit and plenty of room for the 2 of us.
I believe the units are all privately owned therefore the decor is different in each. We were very comfortable and would have loved to stay a bit longer.
It will certainly be on our 'visit again list'
I would recommend this resort. Well worth a visit and the beach location is the best. If you're lucky you'll get a visit from the dolphins playing in the ocean.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and had a ocean view apartment, It was very nice ,clean and every thing you needed.Loverly to just walk out the door and look at the ocean.
Paul and his wife are very nice people and are to happy to accommodate you with what ever you need. The pool warm and great for a swim ,and the shops are only 5minutes away..

We hope to go back next year
Rhonda & Ken

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights in an ocean view apartment and were very impressed by the standard of accommodation, the friendly managers and the value for money considering the proximity to the beachfront. This apartment ( no. 11 ) was clean, spacious and well stocked with all the bits and pieces that we needed for our stay. We were also provided with a garage which was great. Old Bar has everything you need - lovely cafés, restaurants, a supermarket, bottle shop etc. There is a fantastic Thai restaurant called Sai Thai which we highly recommend. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in apartment 11 and highly recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Favelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We've been staying at this resort for the past 6 years. Two families share a ground floor 3 bedroom ocean view apartment. Over the years the apartment has been refurbished (new furniture and flooring).The facilities are great not to mention the friendliness of management. Paul and Jean are always very helpful and accomodating. The large grassed area is great for the kids to play ball games (cricket, soccer and basketball) and to fly kites. The swimming pool (partly shaded) and games room are a great place for the kids to hang out (not to mention the adults!). Easy access to the beach with a short stroll to the patrolled beach. Highly recommend a stay here. Very family friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jude426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have stayed many times at the Meridian over the last 18 months for work. The resort is just fantastic

The property is immaculate and the hosts concentrate on the small things like trying to give you the same room each time, making sure the front door is open (so much easier when you have luggage) and storing small items for me.

I no longer have to stay for work but look forward to returning for a holiday

thank you again for your great hospitality

Rod

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Bar
4.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
#1 of 2 in Diamond Beach
298 reviews
14.5 mi away
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
#6 of 9 in Forster
167 reviews
14.2 mi away
Tuncurry Beach Motel
Tuncurry Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Tuncurry
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Diamond Beach Resort
Diamond Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Diamond Beach
65 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hotel Forster
Hotel Forster
#1 of 9 in Forster
163 reviews
8 mi away
Crescent Motel
Crescent Motel
#1 of 15 in Taree
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Resort

Address: 32 Lewis St | Old Bar Beach, Old Bar, New South Wales 2430, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Old Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Bar
Price Range: £72 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meridian Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Meridian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing