We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Rey Apartment

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Competa, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lizzieloo...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have just had an amazing 7 days here.... Debbie and Alick where very welcoming and there 2 little dogs where lovely. The apartment was ideal for 2 it was clean and well equipped with TV nice bathroom and kitchen. It was very comfortable. The pool was gorgeous and the views amazing. You could walk to town within 25 mins. We are already looking to go back. Thank you so much Debbie and Alick xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Hi Lizzie. Thank you very much for your positive review. It gives us great pleasure that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction. We would be pleased to have you come and stay with us again and be one of the many returners we get each year. Look forward to seeing you again. A,D,T&M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Hi Peter. Thank you so much for your positive review. We're very pleased you found everything to your liking and you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come and visit us again and good luck in your own adventure living abroad. A,D,T&M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adrian G
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb location, accomodation, service & value!”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My wife and I were staying at Casa Rey for the third time in four years, something we never do as we always like to try new locations. What is not to like? As previous reviewers have already said, the location is stunning, sitting at 2,000ft with amazing views across the mountains and valleys to the sea. The drive up from the coast is breath-taking and yes there is a short track to Casa Rey off the main road - but that is part of the experience - don't stay in the mountains if want boring roads lol. Sitting on the terrace, enjoying that view having breakfast every morning is simply awesome. The apartment itself is perfect for a couple, it is cosy, very well equipped and clean. The pool is amazing, whilst not large you can't argue with it's setting and is a perfect place to spend lazy days looking out across the amazing vista below you.

What can we say about the owners Timi & Maddie, they are perfect hosts, great company and have two able assistants in Alick & Debbie to help make your holiday a really enjoyable experience :-)

Casa Rey is a short drive from Competa where you can find a great range of restaurants and bars, shops, supermarkets, bakeries, fishmonger (can highly recommend) etc.. In terms of restaurants this time we ate at: El Pilon, El Cortijo, Oscars and Meson Las Gemelas....try them all they are great. The last on the list was a new one to us but the food is superb the Gambas Pil Pil are No 1 in Competa :-)), great value for money and the views from the terrace are amazing - rivalling El Pilon and El Cortijo on that score.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Coing home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review. We always find it very satisfying when we have holidaymakers who return to stay with us as it shows that hopefully we are doing something right. It's great to have people who over the years start out as guests and over time become friends. Thanks again for taking the trouble to review your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future. A, D, T & M.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your time at Casa Rey and hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
coffindod...
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cant wait to go back”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A lovely relaxing week. Apartment was clean and had everything we needed, except ice but we've been reassured that this will be rectified for next year - so already booked to go back! Loved sharing our week with the two cocker spaniels too. Great value for money. Good location for walks.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa F
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Casa Rey last summer, and loved it so much that I returned to this lovely apartment a few weeks ago. Due to personal circumstances, I had to change my arrival details twice, and Alick and Debbie, the apartment owners, were very flexible and accommodating with this. The apartment is so lovely, and the location is perfect - a beautiful mountain view in a peaceful location, and yet close enough to walk to the town of Competa which is a delight. If you like a traditional Spanish town, with friendly people who will speak English if you are struggling with your Spanish, this is for you. With mountain walks on your doorstep too, you have the best of both worlds. Alick and Debbie are friendly and helpful and their dogs, Timi and Maddie, are wonderful. Even though they are all on hand, you still have your privacy. I cant' wait to go back again. It is definitely a sanctuary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boops41
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Gem”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a wonderful week over the Xmas and New Year period and what a find Casa Rey is. The apartment is as advertised, infact I would say that the pictures don´t necessarily do the place justice, especially not the wonderful views. The apartment was equipped with everything you need including a few extra touches. Debbie and Alick could not have been more helpful, even booking us into restaurants for Christmas Day and New Years eve and providing a welcome bottle of Cava on arrival. They were available as little or as much as we wanted and are careful not to intrude if they don´t feel that this is what is required. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing