We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Abajo

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Competa, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Douglas D
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Villa, not suitable to market as a holiday home.”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in June 2016

We booked this villa for our annual 10 night vacation but only stayed one night.
We love the area around Competa with it's beautiful views and just the right amount of isolation. We have visited the area three times since our visit to Casa Abajo, with villa accommodation which could not be faulted.
How sad that the owner of this villa could not provide even satisfactory accommodation. We found the villa to be 'grubby' and 'un-cared for' and certainly not worth the 1000+ Euro price tag.
Upon arrival, we immediately e-mailed the owner to voice our disappointment and provided a comprehensive list of what we found unacceptable. We were forced to stay one night due to the lateness in the day (unfortunately, by staying the one night, prohibited us from receiving a full refund under Tripadvisor rules).
The next day, we arranged for alternative accommodation but you will understand that this upset put a bit of a cloud over our holiday mood.
I have purposely let over a full year pass before passing on my comments via Tripadvisor, so as to see what other visitors to this villa thought of it. I am glad to see that there have been no further adverse comments about the property, so it would appear that the owner has taken notice of my remarks and has sharpened-up their act.
In conclusion, I have received a repayment o 300 Euros from the owner, which leads me to the conclusion that they partially accept responsibility for the state of the villa. However, I still remain out of pocket to the tune of 700 Euros (less of course, the cost of one night's stay). I shall not hold my breath waiting for that to be forthcoming.
Good luck to future visitors.

Date of stay: June 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James c
1 review
“Incredible”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was me and my girlfriends first holiday abroad and I don't think we will ever beat it!

The place was in immaculate condition.

The pool was perfect and the views were absolutely stunning!

The owner Simone was so kind and helpful.

This villa has created memory's I can never replicate.

I can't wait to go back!!!!!

I can't wait to go back!!!!

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TwoOAPs
South Petherton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday!”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you (like us) enjoy being high up in the Spanish 'campo' then Casa Abajo is ideally situated with stunning views of mountains down to the sea. The house was very clean and comfortable with everything we could possibly need, and the well-equipped separate pool area with the 'cabana' was like having a second house!

We enjoyed Casa Abajo so much that we spent most of our holiday 'at home' with occasional visits to Competa for food shopping and a drink at one of the many bars. There were plenty of birds, butterflies, etc. around the house, garden and pool to enjoy and photograph so we didn't feel the necessity to go anywhere else.

Driving through the sierras is challenging but fun once you are used to it, and a reliable car is a must. We have been to this region many times and this was one of the best and most relaxing holidays we have had.

The owner, Simone, is charming and very helpful if needed - and we loved spending time with her cat Pino!

We highly recommend Casa Abajo for a real taste of rural Spain.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MartzYo
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning views and much more”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Simone was a very welcoming host, she provided us with all the information we needed and kept in touch throughout our stay. The house is absolutely beautiful, spacious, well equipped and clean. The views are unbeatable. It's also conveniently located: very close to Competa and Nerja, but still peaceful and quiet.

Date of stay: September 2015
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.