We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet lookout at the doors of the National Park”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Finca Los Pinos

pool area, with covered eating area, overlooking the sea and the mountains - peaceful bliss
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
pool area, with covered eating area, overlooking the sea and the mountains - peaceful bliss
Looking up to the honesty pool bar built into the rock above the pool The entrance to Finca Los Pinos
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
32 reviews
pool area, with covered eating area, overlooking the sea and the mountains - peaceful bliss
Looking up to the honesty pool bar built into the rock above the pool
The entrance to Finca Los Pinos
Finca La Pequena at the top
The top of Finca La Pequnea beautifully decorated traditionally Spanis
Looking from the kitchen through the Spanish arches, across  two sitting rooms in Finca Los Pinos
View to the pool from the top of La Pequena
Views to the mountains and the sea from La Pequena
Log Cabin 1, double en suite hidden in the trees
Interior decoration of a log cabin, en suite, to Andalusian style
Looking into the en suite bathroom of a log cabin, all newly decorated
Every little detail thought of in the log cabins
Tea  and fresh coffee in every cabin, Andalusian style
Ralaxation on your balcony of a log cabin, Andalusian and Moroccan furniture
So Spanish
Andalusian and Moroccan themes
Looking up to a log cabin, angst the trees, from the yoga lawn
Beautiful pool area between La Pequeña and The Main House with new fixed umbrella and pool bar area
Yoga, tha chi, meditation,outdoor workout or simply Croquet the new real lawn , hidden in the trees
The breakfast cabin and games room at Finca Los Pinos
The yoga lawn in full swing
Attention to Spanish tradition and hstory
Walk, hike or bike through the surrounding mountains right from your doorstep
Pool side Honesty Bar
Outdoor dining area next to the pool. This year a new poolside bar, nestled in the rocks and trees
BBQ next to the pool,David will cook you the best South African bbq with hand picked SA wines
Relaxing decking area with dappled light and cushions and hammocks here in the Spring and Summer
Outside La Pequeña - beautiful poolside, 4 bed, self catering Cassita - very Spanish
La Pequena side view
View of La Pequña and the wall around the pool and the al fresco dining area
view down the drive and the side of the Finca/Villa - viewing the windows of the inside dining area
Rustic elegance. Double bed log cabin, furnished with antique wardrobes, dressing table and chairs.
Outside area
Outside dining around the pool
Competa Main Square.
Excursions offered, waterfalls and turqoise rockpools, a hidden gem
Master bedroom en suite top of second villa, La Pequena
Master en suite bedroom in Main Villa, Finca Los Pinos
View from Pool Bar balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
10 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Competa, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vincent C
Bailleval, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet lookout at the doors of the National Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

First, we would like to thank David, Sarah, Dan and family. They were very nice and always very helpful and largely contributed to a great holiday.

We spent two weeks at Finca los Pinos in late April-early May. The house is located about 6-7 km south of Cómpeta itself, and easily accessible (about 20 minute’s drive from the coastal motorway). Accommodation consists of one main house, a smaller house and a few nice log cabins – the whole lot could definitely cater for a very large party. There were only four of us however, and we stayed in the main house, which is big enough for 4-6 people, very nice, cosy and has all you possibly need. Mattresses are also very good – this is rare enough to be noted!

The property itself is huge – my kids regularly went “hiking” within it - and consists of an olive grove, a respectably-sized pine forest to the back of the houses and a very well-cared Mediterranean garden in front of the house. It is limited on one side by a dried arroyo (gully) and by the National Park of Tejeda and Almijara on another side, which you can access directly from the house on a short but steep goat track (there are no fences). The terrain is locally rather steep, and has a natural “feel” to it, with some wild vegetation and the like – brilliant for adventurous kids (albeit probably not so for toddlers). There is also a trampoline and even a bar, both close to the main house. We spent a lot of time around the swimming pool and adjacent BBQ area, where you can relax and which offers great views on the Axarquía and the sea. Note that the swimming pool is about 2 m deeper at its deepest, and is not guarded by a fence. That was great for our kids, who swim well and like “real” pools, but extra care should be taken with younger kids.

Finca los Pinos is a very quiet place – neighbours are far apart, and it is actually the last house on the track. It is situated literally at the door of the national park. While the sea is easily accessible by car, the whole place has more of a mountainous feel, and Finca los Pinos is a great starting point for walks through Sierra de Almijara and Axarquía. There’s even some serious hiking to be done: the house is only a few km away from the Tejeda-Almija “gran recorrido” path (very well signaled) and a number of other long hikes, some with a almost Alpine character (the Lucero “climb”, for instance). Those are generally long but technically easy enough, albeit very poorly signaled – good walking guides and maps can be found in Cómpeta though. The Tejeda-Almijara park is not one among the better-known national parks of Spain, but is surprisingly big and wild, with a definite Alpine feel and some great views to the sea and the Axarquia. Vegetation at this time of year is blooming - it was much greener than we expected. Also, wildlife is quite rich: wild goats, in particular, are relatively easy to spot. In short, Finca los Pinos is a highly recommended base for walkers and hikers. There’s also a ranch (los Olivillos) a few km away, which offers very nice (but rather expensive) rides into the park, and will even cater for young kids.

Note for travelers in quest of “authenticity”: the Cómpeta-Frigiliana area sometimes feels a bit like an “English colony”, with a huge proportion of the local population made up of foreign residents (mostly from the UK and northern Europe). This is most probably a plus for non-Spanish speakers, who will be attended in English at most shops and restaurants. Note, in any case, that both Cómpeta and Frigiliana are very well-preserved, beautiful towns, with the typical “Moorish feel” of the white villages and are definitely worth visiting.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: quiet/location
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familygoa...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We arrived at the beginning of April and had a wonderful holiday. The accommodation was spacious and clean. The views were amazing, with a national park right on the doorstep. David and Sarah couldn't have been more helpful, providing us with advice on local restaurants and places to visit, and made us feel very welcome. We were a bit worried our two children (aged 10 and 14) would be a bit bored, but they definitely weren't - lots of swimming and table tennis tournaments! Days were spent visiting the local area, walking, eating in Competa (a lovely restaurant called Oscars). We would definitely like to return.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clotilde2...
Granada, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“spot on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Tranquil stay in beautiful surroundings. Sarah and David were so helpful, cooking us wonderful food and preparing the cottage with a warm fire for our arrival. My 8 year old son said he wanted to live there permanently, with a huge trampoline, a games room and the finca's own piney hillsides to explore. During the day we either went on stunning walks in the surrounding countryside or just chilled out on the property. The cottage was super comfortable. The holiday really recharged our batteries and left us with a great sense of peace. Can't thank you enough David and Sarah!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: warm welcome, tranquility
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrightM20...
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great family holiday in one of the most scenic parts of Spain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in August 2013

We have been holidaying in Finca Los Pinos for many years and have always enjoyed it's facilities and space this villa has to offer. The swimming pool and surrounding area is perfect for our extended family and we all look forward to our summer breaks in Spain. Competa is a lovely village with good restaurants and local supplies. David and Sarah have added a cocktail bar and an option for guests to relax around the pool as they cook you a barbeque, this we would fully recommend. The main villa's showers do need updating but this wouldn't stop us returning and fully recommending this as a great holiday at a reasonable price.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The outdoor lifestyle and location
Liked least: bathroom facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherHa...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Finca Los Pinos is such a wonderful surprise - a hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We have just come back from a wonderful six days at Finca Los Pinos which we will never forget. This is a truly amazing escape from it all - a perfect hideaway with everything that you could possibly need. We got such a warm and genuine welcome from the minute we arrived and that was just the start of one of the most delightful holidays we have had.
The mountain views from the lovely complex are breath-taking and have to be seen to be believed. You can walk straight into the national park in a couple of minutes and there are lots of walks and trails.

Dave and Sarah are the perfect hosts and could not do enough for us. They love the area and want everyone else to see and experience the very best. We did. We were treated to wonderful meals - Dave is a terrific cook and made us unbeatable seafood chowder one evening. We went on memorable excursions – a day at the beautiful Lost Village, with its tiny church and great restaurant and Competa at sunset looking far out to the Atlas mountains in Africa are an absolute must. A couple of times we ate out in Competa and the food and the atmosphere in this authentic Spanish town were great.

We also enjoyed a bbq by the pool and a day at the beach where the water was crystal clear, if a bit cold. (But we still managed to swim even in November.) Plans to horse ride in the national park didn't materialise because we simply couldn't find time to fit everything in!

We absolutely loved Finca Los Pinos, with its pool, perfect accommodation and magnificent views. It was all such a surprise, a hidden gem!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The food, the scenery, the pool, Sarah and Dave and their constant attention to detail.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver M
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just the break i needed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

To start, if the breath taking views, sunsets and scenery weren't enough, the hospitality and care we received was top notch. David and Sarah are truly a testament to this wonderful place.

Right from the doorstep we took a wonderful walk into the national park which led into a beautiful stream in the ravine. If taken by car you end up at what is called 'the lost village' a wonderful town with picturesque surroundings and a wonderful little restaurant and bar to rest ones soul.

David and Sarah always executed and set up any activities we wanted to do with great care. We took a wonderful trip to the waterfalls, which in my opinion was a once in a lifetime experience. David stopped to show us the great miniature cliff jumps into the crystal blue pools, and ultimately we arrived at the magnificent waterfall, truly breathtaking. I never even knew such wonders existed so close to home (the uk).

On our third night, after catering for ourselves, we opted for one of David's BBQ's, accompanied by some light refreshments from the Cliffside bar, we dug into some of thee most delicious and tenderly prepared ribs I have ever experience, along with grilled chicken, and a beautiful salad. David's cooking was truly the icing on the proverbial cake that was the nights we spent at Finca.

Ultimately if we wanted to relax by the pool with some cheeky cocktails, it was pure peace and serenity, if we wanted to go walking, it was on our doorstep, and some of the most beautiful scenery I have seen in my life. If we wanted to visit the beach it was 15 minutes down the mountain, if we wanted to go for a nice restaurant dinner we visited the classic Spanish town of Competa, 10 mintues up the mountain, which if you don't already have everything you need, can also provide this, with a couple ample supermercados. But if your like me and wanted a lovely secluded stay with the people most important to you, finca was all that was needed.

I cannot thank David and Sarah enough for the impeccable service and care we received at finca. This truly allowed us to make some of the fondest memories I have. I truly cannot recommend such a warm hearted, beautiful place with amazing people more.

Thank you again David and Sarah, will be seeing you next summer!

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The breathtaking views, wonderful walking and hiking tours and the waterfalls.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owain D
Thame, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

During our 10 days at finca los pinos we couldn't have asked for more. The setting nestled on the side of a hill on rural Spain provided the perfect back drop for a relaxing and enjoyable holiday. During the evenings you can spend time reading books on the terrace and enjoying a few drinks by the pool. Sarah and David made sure our stay was well catered for, If we needed a few tips on where to head in town or what walks to take in the national park (conveniently located a 2 minute walk out of Finca los pinos.) We also were provided the opportunity to take day trips organised by the owners to a variety of locations and was definitely and opportunity not to be missed!

The room we stayed in was ideal for us with all the facilities we required to cook our evening meals or just to relax and prepare for the day ahead. Everything was clean and well set out.

Don't miss out on the opportunity to sample one of David Brai's or his curries which can be provided on certain nights.

All in all we were recommended this property by a family member and it more than lived up to expectations. We had a perfect stay with the options available to do as much or as little as you wish to. The location is well suited for either long day trips to the beaches or hiking in the mountains. I guarantee you'll be feeling totally relaxed by the end of your holiday at Finca Los Pinos.

Owain

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the tranquility of the surroundings
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$392
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing