We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely villa”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Competa, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Alison M
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely villa”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely, well equipped and clean villa. Beautiful pool and amazing views across the valley. Very quiet - the only noises were the cicadas and lovely, gentle tinkling noise from the bells on the herd of goats grazing on the other side of the hill. Fantastic, helpful owners - lots of good advice about local area, car hire and brilliant direction to the meeting point. Also very helpful English speaking caretaker. There was an issue regarding the return of our deposit (not the owners fault - Trip Advisor Holiday Lettings messed up!) but as soon as we made Vas aware, he sorted out the refund straight away.
The villa is located down a long track which is not well maintained - it's a shame someone doesn't sort this out but I guess no one is responsible for it!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantasic views
Liked least: The access track
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2015
April 2015 - We've had some EXCELLENT news - the track, leading, down to our villa, has become a concreted road. A massive improvement with drainage also fitted to ensure water flows off the track to avoid erosion. The upgrade is rated as being superb by all who live in our area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allana198...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful, romantic”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely villa up in the hills, barely a car or person goes past - perfect for a romantic get away. Owners could not have been more helpful.

Date of stay: August 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K
Leek, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Thank you Jane and Vas for a wonderful week of pure relaxation in your beautiful well-equipped villa. The views are just gorgeous.... no need to go anywhere! We just soaked up the mountain atmosphere along with the sun and took a dip in the pool to cool down. Car rental essential - and great for exploring... the coast and the breath-taking high mountains behind Competa. We frequently dined "at home" on Spanish cheese, bread, huge juicy tomatos and excellent yet cheap wine. Bliss.

Date of stay: June 2014
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: very hot at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW - Heaven on Earth!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This villa has to be one of the best we have ever stayed at - purely for it's location and ultra serenity! If you want to get away from it all and really chill out then this place is it. Our kids (just approaching their teens) were skeptical about being stuck in the country side, being city slickers, but they were bowled over about how relaxed they were here and despite normally being glued to their Ipads, they never bothered with them at all, preferring to take in the countryside and the quiet beaches that Vas and Jane asked us to explore. It's so cheap to eat out any enjoy outstanding local cuisine, but we still managed to cater for ourselves (even the kids joined in and cooked) with top quality ingredients (particularly the veg & fruit - the ladies selling the fruit and veg at the top of Torrox Pueblo were brill, topped off with beautiful and varied fish and bread). We felt privileged to have been able to share Jane and Vas's house and their help in pointing us where to get out and about to made the holiday not only relaxing, but it enabled us to do so many adventurous things that we would not, normally, even think of.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The serenity of the place, the countryside and untouched beaches, the truly friendly local villagers, the outstanding quality and value for money of the food we experienced from the local markets and restaurants, the awesome sights
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2014
Gosh, Brian - thank you for taking the time to provide such a superb review of your family’s holiday at Casa Tranquila. Your appraisal makes all the efforts that our caretakers and we put into making our guests visits that little bit of an extra special occasion, so worthwhile! We love to gather tips and hints from our guests and add them to our own wonderful experiences of this beautiful region of Andalusia and relate them to our new visitors. We always marvel, each time we ourselves visit, how many beautiful places we still keep managing to discover. Here’s looking forward to welcoming you back in the late spring and making your sojourn an even more delightful pleasure.

One again, thanks and best wishes to you and your family,

Vas and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickbully
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“well named villa”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

this is a ideal villa to get away from it all.peaceful and tranquil with everything you need for a relaxing time, we just chilled out by the pool with a glass/bottle of wine. the views are stunning and the only noise is the jingling bells of the goats as they come down the hillside. we will definitley go again

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the views and area in general
Liked least: the drive up but well worth it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.