We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
114
111
23
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
111
23
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family run hotel the hotel staff pool area walking holiday walking group nice food double room plenty of sunbeds paella bar prices a la carte menu at reasonable prices the actual hotel staff are very friendly and helpful staying at this hotel torre del mar lovely area
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Just returned from a 4 night stay and would highly recommend the hotel and the area. Competa is a very pretty place with plenty to see, lots of restaurants and some nice shops. The hotel is typically Spanish with dark wood and tiled floors - some may find that dated but personally I like it. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The pool and garden areas are clean with plenty of sun beds. The pool bar is well stocked with a spacious seating area. We were celebrating the wedding of friends who got married in the hotel and the reception was AMAZING! The food and wines were superb. They also added in a few surprises including a flamenco dancer. Thank you for a fabulous holiday and we will be back ! xx

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddycat2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_balcon, Director Comercial at Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and in this beautiful village of the Axarquía de Málaga. Your recommendation is an extra motivation for us.
We appreciate your description and we hope you will enjoy such a special wedding. We do everything possible to improve the experience of our customers.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to this beautiful town called Cómpeta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We only visisted the restaurant - and it was a very nice experience!
We visited the restaurant several times. Very nice food - and the waiter, Juan, certainly knows all about excellent customer service :-)
Definitely we will be coming back to this place :-)

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hellerempt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_balcon, Director Comercial at Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our cuisine and we appreciate special mention to our staff.
It will be a pleasure to see you again on your next visit to Cómpeta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed in room 209 with a balcony over the pool. Everything from booking online right until check out was great. Never too much trouble, all of the staff were so helpful and friendly. Rosa by the pool has the most amazing smile and is so lovely to everyone, all the staff make this hotel so nice. The room was modern, spacious with a huge comfortable bed and a fabulous shower. Lots of little comforts in the room we didn’t expect, toiletries, hairdryer (one that is worth using too!) if I had to choose 1 thing to improve it would be to add just a bit more variety to breakfast, some fresh fruit or pastries would be great, but that is being picky.
Loved every minute, the drive up is an experience but Competa is worth it. Would definitely return.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Flintstones81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_balcon, Director Comercial at Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in Cómpeta and that our management contributed to making it possible. We take care of our facilities, comfort and every detail in order to guarantee a pleasant stay for our clients.
Thanks for the personal mention to our staff and for your suggestion about breakfast.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to have the opportunity to do it again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

We stayed here while looking for a long term rental. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The hotel was very clean. The breakfast was good and the meal we ate in the restaurant was one of the best we had during our stay. The view form the terrace was amazing a great way to start the day or end it. We were made to feel very welcome and soon felt like locals.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank alison473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_balcon, Director Comercial at Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and our services and facilities. We thank you for the special mention to our staff that every day strives to create a unique experience for our customers.
Our views are wonderful and Cómpeta is a town that will not leave you indifferent. Thank you also for the mention of our gastronomy.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Hotel is clean with dated Spanish decor.
Staff were friendly but always appeared harassed.
First night ruined by football fans blowing trumpets ect. Third night ruined by local children running, shouting and kicking balls unchecked along the full length of the balcony until 1.00 am. This compounded by returning guests made sleep almost impossible.
Work is also ongoing on the pool area each day so if you're looking for a nice quite hotel give this one a miss as it's main priority seems to be catering for the locals and not its paying guests.
If tonight is as noisy as the rest I intend leaving tomorrow.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_balcon, Director Comercial at Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

We regret your perception and we understand that soccer, a World Cup raise passion among fans. We love children and we do everything possible to maintain respect and coexistence in our facilities.
On the other hand, as we have reported, we are doing works in the pool to improve this service to all our customers.
Finally, we inform you that our priority is to guarantee a pleasant experience to our clients and that we will not enter to evaluate their unfortunate affirmation. Thanks for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews