We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly Recommend!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
Exterior
Sunset
Pool
Lower level Master Suite
Upstairs Master Suite
Master Suite
Sunset
Pool
Suite
Suite
Suite
Bathroom
Suite
Pool View
Bar Area with TV
Outside Living Space
Living Room
Lower level Master Suite
Living Room
Outside Living Space
Villa
Wet Bar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Playa Ocotal, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Patti H
1 review
“Highly Recommend!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This venue is beautiful! The infinity pool with the outstanding view beyond of the bay is breathtaking. The staff is so accommodating, each meal was so delicious --
Can't believe we are waking up to this each morning..... everything you need has been well thought out and is available for a truly relaxing vacation. The bedrooms are spacious. I will be back......

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talisha H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Beautiful and Relaxing Experience”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Just go ahead and book your stay at Villa de la Luna, you won't regret it!

I began planning my trip to Costa Rica in August 2017 and from that moment up until the day we checked in Karissa has been extremely patient and informative. I travelled with a group of eight people who can sometimes be hard to please and now they are wondering when we are going BACK!

The villa staff was absolutely amazing, super nice, very helpful and they made each of us feel special. Shout out to Jorge our bartender/waiter who never let our glasses go empty and who remembered each person's dietary needs. He is extremely organized and so much fun!

The chef and her daughter created the best dishes ever and we tore up our nightly snacks of guac and chip - I know I gained all of the weight that I lost prior to this trip but it was well worth it.

Finally, the experiences that Kojack pulled together were WONDERFUL. My number one advice is to trust Kojack for he knows exactly what he is doing. All you need to do is tell him your desires and he will handle it.

I have absolutely nothing bad to say, NOTHING!!! Thank you so much for this experience.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2018
We are so happy you and your friends had such a pleasant experience. We look forward to having you as return guests. Thanks you so much! Karissa Bell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible Spring Break Vacation”
Reviewed 24 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

The ease of this vacation began far before we arrived. Owners were incredible to work with, from booking to our arrival coordinating transportation, meals with some dietary restrictions as well as helpful information for packing etc.

Upon our arrival, the transportation was easy to find and it was about a 40 minute ride to the villa. Gorge and Saccorrita were waiting with yummy margaritas and a snack of tacos, fresh guacamole and salsa. The hospitality of the entire staff was unmatched, from the daily laundry, freshly prepared meals and friendly service, it was like being surrounded by family.

Kojak was also a wonderful member of this villas staff, he did a great job of coordinating our excursions. Our family of 14 enjoyed a fun animal tour with authentic Costa Rica lunch, deep sea fishing adventure and a trip to Tamarindo for shopping a surf lessons. In addition to these activities, we enjoyed daily walks to the beach and endless swimming in the infinity pool. We struck the perfect balance of activities and relaxing.

As for the villa, it is meticulously kept, the gardens are beautiful and you are surrounded by fun animals, monkeys, beautiful birds and fun little geckos. The beds were incredibly comfortable and everyone left rejuvenated.

Thank you for an amazing experience, I have already shared our experience and your website with countless friends!

A few hints for making this trip, pack long sleeve rash guards for everyone (this sun is crazy intense). Take plenty of cash, most of the excursions worked on a cash basis and tips are encouraged. Pack dramamine, the roads in CR are much more windy and bumpy that those in the US. Don't worry if you forget something, there is a grocery and drug store in Coco, about 15 mins from the villa. Pack water shoes with a sturdy sole, the hike back is fairly steep and the kids were struggling a bit in flip flops. Most of all be ready to relax and enjoy!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staci E
1 review
“Beyond our dreams, perfect family get away”
Reviewed 23 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We just got back from a week at Villa de la Luna with 6 adults and 8 kids (ages 4-13). Everything about the villa and staff was beyond our hopes! As we approached the Villa from the airport, Jorge was there to open the door and help us with our bags. He introduced himself, Socorita our amazing chef and her sweet daughter Allison. The parents then took a quick tour to determine sleeping arrangements. The four "littles" went in the room with the bunk beds and the 4 "bigs" went in the room with the King and sofa bed. That night we just unwound in the pool and enjoyed our first amazing dinner. Out of the 8 kids we had a couple picky eaters and Sorcorita and Jorge listened to them and there was always something that all the kids would eat. The food was dynamite and beautiful. On Thursday Kojak came over to talk about excursions. We decided on Wildlife River boat tour, Surf town Tamarindo and Deep Sea fishing for the guys. The pool is perfect! When we weren't down at the ocean, the kids were in the pool having a great time. The trek down to the ocean is a fairly easy, but the trek back up is not for the faint of heart. It is very steep. We called for a taxi from Father Roosters one time ($15). The sand is black so my one advice is wear a dark colored swim suit, because if you sit and play in the sand it will ruin suits. :) But well worth it! The river boat tour was pretty cool. We saw hundreds of crocodiles, iguanas and a few holler monkeys. The lunch at the Coyote Ranch afterwards as very delicious! The trip to Tamindo was fun. 5 people took surf lessons. The sand there is white. The guys had a great time deep sea fishing and brought back to the villa yellow fin tuna and Mahi Mahi. Socorita turned the tuna into the freshest, most incredible tuna sashimi. The mahi mahi for dinner was also amazing. I honestly do not have a bad thing to say about the food, drink or really anything about Villa de la Luna! The staff was absolutely amazing and is now part of our extended family. The kids would yell "hip hip Jorge!" It was very hard to leave the villa and Costa Rica because it was just an incredible experience.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeauBeauD...
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfection!!”
Reviewed 13 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The staff and house were amazing! Socorrito, our chef, had a "snack" waiting for us after a long flight, we thought it was dinner. This woman and her daughter, Allison, were one of the best parts of our trip. She made 3 wonderful meals for us every day and it was the best food I've ever had while traveling. I LOVE this sweet woman and wanted to take her home! Jorge, our houseman, made sure we had drinks and fun every day, we grew to think of him as our friend and truly appreciate everything he did for us! Marita keep our rooms and the house clean and even did our laundry, what a great woman. Kojack lined us up with some great tours and kept us busy, one of the most interesting people we met! Jeremy took us to the horse back riding tour up the mountain to zip line. He was the PERFECT guide for us and we had a great day with him! The zip line was the best but Kojack also took us white water rafting, which was great and then he lined up a sailboat ride on the Don Bosco our last day there. The guys on the Don Bosco were all great guides and fixed us a picnic lunch on the beach. Best bar-b-que chicken I've ever had. From the moment we arrived the Costa Rican people were welcoming, warm and friendly! Our group of 8 friends will be talking about this trip for years to come. I highly recommend renting this house with a breathtaking view, fabulous staff and wonderful adventures to travelers who are tired of staying at resorts. We could not have had these memories if we had stayed at a resort. Book it!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2018
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Villa De La Luna! We are so blessed to have such an amazing Costa Rican family and staff. We truly could not exist without them. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to having you visit us again! Pura Vida- Bill & Karissa Bell-owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brentnunw...
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
“10/10 Will be the benchmark of future vacations”
Reviewed 17 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

An Unbelievable experience from arrival to departure. The pre trip plan explained by Karissa was carried out exactly as she described. With 5 beautiful master bedrooms we had more than enough room for the 6 adults we had in our group. The staff treated us like family. The food was 5 star and easily one of the best parts of the trip. The pool and view was better than the pictures. The staff keeps the home in immaculate condition. Kojakc helped us plan our week with excursions and transportation and was very accommodating, professional and friendly. A once in a lifetime trip that we are already talking about doing again !

Pura Vida !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2018
We are so happy you enjoyed your time in our home!! We look forward to having you visit us in the future. Pura Vida from Karissa, Bill and your Costa Rican family!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenny1234
Brentwood, Missouri
1 review
“Beautiful and unbelievable”
Reviewed 17 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I just wanted to let you know what an enjoyable and exciting time we had while we were in Costa Rica at your home. The house is beautiful and the view is unbelievable. The staff was probably the best part of the trip. The food was outstanding and was presented in a way that 5 star restaurants provide. The cook, I am sorry I forgot her name, along with her daughter were very pleasant and accommodating. Jorge was a blast and was very helpful. Kojack did a great job in explaining and arranging our three tours which were a lot of fun.

We were very happy we had the chance to visit Costa Rica and stay at your property and will certainly pass our feelings about the trip to others that may be interested in the same experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing