We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most amazing trip ever!”
Back of Villa with Infinity Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Back of Villa with Infinity Pool
View of Gulf of Papagayo from Terrace Seating Area Front of Villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
163 reviews
Back of Villa with Infinity Pool
View of Gulf of Papagayo from Terrace Seating Area
Front of Villa
Villa Pavillion looking back toward Villa
Villa Pavillion looking toward Gulf of Papagayo
Villa Pavillion looking from Villa
Infinity Pool at Night
Villa Lounging Area
Villa Dining on Outdoor Terrace Under Fans
Lower Level View of Pavillion
Lower Level Seating Area looking toward Front Door
Lower Level Seating Area looking toward Gulf of Papagayo
Villa Kitchen Area
Entertainment Area Upper Level
Entertainment Area Upper Level
Entertainment Area Upper Level
Reading Room Upper Level
Reading Chairs on Balcony
King Size Bedroom Upper Level
Queen Sized Bedroom Upper Level
Queen Sized Bedroom Upper Level
King Size Bedroom Lower Level
Queen Bedroom Lower Level
Bunk Room Sleeps 8
Example of In Suite Bathroom
Sample of tropical landscaping of Villa
Outdoor dining table set up
Lunch in Pavillion
Dinner on Terrace Overlooking Gulf of Papagayo
Cocktails at Villa
Group fun at Villa  (girls trip)
Infinity Pool with Gulf of Papagayo in background
Relaxing in Infinity Pool
Artistic Picture Paddleboarder in Infinity Pool overlooking Gulf of Papagayo
Massage on Balcony
Pedicure at Villa
Paddleboarding
Zip lining
Nearby Beach
Beach below Villa
Deep sea fishing (mahi mahi)
Deep Sea fishing  (sailfish)
Volcano mudbath
Hiking and waterfalls
Tubing in Volcano streams
Snorkeling
Rafting
Body boarding
Hiking and waterfalls
Horseback riding
Sailing
Entertainment at Villa
Whale in Gulf of Papagayo
Dolphins in GUlf of Papagayo
Monkey in Trees (Palo Verde Excursion)
Sea Turtles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Playa Ocotal, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 163 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kcb S
1 review
“The most amazing trip ever!”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in July 2018

Costa Rica has our hearts! Not just because it's a beautiful place, but because the people are so wonderful there. The villa is not only set up for comfortable accommodations and beautifully located, it is incredibly staffed by the most generous of people and has the most amazing menu for each meal. Allowing your trip to Costa Rica to be as adventurous, relaxing, visually amazing and/or incredibly comfortable as you want it to be!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Thanks Kirsten! We loved having your group! Pura Vida and all the best,
Robyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Family Vacation 2018”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

What a wonderful experience at Villa Estrella. The staff was excellent and went far and beyond to accommodate each and every one of us. By the end of the trip they were like family and we will miss them. The food was excellent and we looked forward every day to what Chef Alberto would prepare. The views were breathtaking. Thank you everyone at Villa Estrella for making our family vacation a memorable one and one to talk about for years to come. Can't wait to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2018
Thanks Mary! Michel, Alberto, Diego, Victor, Anna, and Bler all send their regards and hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jami B
1 review
“An absolutely amazing place to relax and enjoy Costa Rica”
Reviewed 12 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

My husband and I and some friends of ours just returned a few weeks ago from staying at the Villa Estrella. It was INCREDIBLE!!! The atmosphere was amazing and we loved the house and amenities. Everything was perfect from the food Alfredo and Mitch cooked to the activities that Diego and Blair would help coordinate for us. We had an absolutely wonderful time!!! Thanks so much!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2018
Pura Vida! And thanks for supporting St Jude as well! Stay in touch!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klibo
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
“We have had several opportunities to stay at Villa Estrella and it cannot be beat in terms of luxury and beauty.”
Reviewed 20 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The location is breathtaking and the staff is superb! The comfort of the rooms and the pool overlooking the ocean are highlights for me and my family. The menus are filled with inspiration and creativity, even for those who have dietary restrictions. We only wish we could spend even more time enjoying the serenity the Villa provides.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2018
We would love to welcome you back anytime! Pura Vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmerker20...
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
“Unbelievably Great Experience!”
Reviewed 5 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

If you are looking for an absolutely awesome get-a-way experience you should book Villa Estella. The staff was attentive, friendly and really helped add to our very memorable vacation. The view from the Villa is breathtaking weather you are lounging in the infiniti pool or sitting out on the deck sipping on one of the many specialty drinks Michelle created. My favorite was the mint margarita.
I also can't say enough about the food. It was every bit as good as any five star restaurant in the U.S.
You will be missing a truly great experience if you do not consider Villa Estrella.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2018
Thanks Merkers! What a great 60th birthday celebration for PamMaw!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLSRodeo
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
“Villa Estrella is a GREAT VACATION Spot!!”
Reviewed 4 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Just a short flight from DFW to Liberia, Costa Rica. Upon arrival at the Liberia Airport you will be greeted and picked up by the wonderful and friendly Villa Estrella staff members, with whom a friendship will grow during your stay at the Villa. A comfortable 40 minute ride from the airport to the Villa in transportation provided by the Villa.
Upon arrival at the beautiful Villa, you will be greeted by the entire staff with wet wash clothes, cold drinks and big smiles! Once you walk in the front door of the Villa, your breath will be taken away by the view over looking the infinity pool and the ocean!
The accommodations are second to none, may be the nicest place I have ever stayed. In a week of dinning and at three meals a day, the food was spectacular!
My favorite was the rib eye steak. I have never had a piece of meat so tender melt in my mouth as that one did. Del Friscos would die to cook a steak like that. The meals were fantastic!
This place is unbelievable! You can hang out, relax at the pool or have a message. You can also plan an excursion, for the day or overnight, to see the many Costa Rica attractions! All is available upon request to the management. The management and staff are so accommodating and its is obvious they are there to make sure your stay is the best ever!
My wife and I loved it!!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2018
Thanks Rodeo Tom for your visit! Hope to see you back at Villa Estrella again with your family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwscott72...
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“If you are considering a trip to Costa Rica look no further than Villa Estrella”
Reviewed 4 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

If your are considering a trip to Costa Rica look no further than Villa Estrella. I had the pleasure of returning to Villa Estrella in February for a couples vacation trip. From the moment you step off the plane you are welcomed by a member of their exceptional staff that loads your bags and drives you to Villa Estrella in their luxury van. Upon arriving at the Villa their additional staff members greet you with refreshing towels and tropical drinks. I cannot begin to say enough about their caring staff who, by the end of the week become more like family.
Villa Estrella sets high above a hilltop offering spectacular views of the ocean from across the beautiful infinity pool.
Villas Estrella is perfect for families, girlfriends, couples, or corporate retreats with accommodations for up to 20 guests. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated with private baths.
Each meal is something to look forward to including the appetizers. They are prepared by their private Costa Rican chef and served outdoors on the patio with a
breathtaking view. You are truly pampered beginning with breakfast offering freshly squeezed juices from their local fruits, avocados, fried cheese, black beans and rice, huevos rancheros to name a few. Their bartender graciously serves you all the cocktails, beer, and wine. Dinner is a three course meal depending on your preference may include bread with seasoned butter, soup or salad, fresh seafood or a beef filet, always ending witha homemade dessert. All the meals and appetizers are outstanding, a "foodies" paradise.
You can enjoy ultimate relaxation by the pool or have their knowledgeable staff arrange excursions and adventures. Adventure may include deep sea fishing, snorkeling, zip lining, golf, hiking, etc.
Currently under construction to be completed in April 2018, Villa Estrella is adding a new overlook event space perfect for a yoga/ pilates wellness retreat, wedding receptions or corporate retreat that will only add to this magnificent property. I highly recommend Villa Estrella and hope you get to experience a trip here of a lifetime.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2018
Paula, it was a true pleasure to welcome you back to the villa! Glad you got to experience the villa as a great girl's trip destination as well as couples trip! Pura Vida and come back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing