We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week of diving at Ocotal Beach Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocotal Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
RICHMOND
1 review
“Wonderful week of diving at Ocotal Beach Resort!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Our family just completed an amazing week at the Ocotal Beach Resort were we participated in a Kids Sea Camp week. All of the Ocotal staff (housekeeping, restaurant, and dive staff) were wonderful, helpful, engaging, and all around provided us with a fabulous experience. The staff was genuinely friendly and helpful. The courteous and happy nature of the staff really made for a very enjoyable time at the resort.

I really enjoyed the diving. I was very surprised by how unafraid the sea life was. There were puffer fish everywhere, and they just didn't seem to care about divers!. We often spotted octopus during the day, and we always saw spotted eels and moray eels on every dive. I always felt well cared for by the diving staff (both from a comfort level and safety level).

Overall I was very satisfied with the experience at Ocotal. I would definitely go back to Ocotal for a future dive vacation and highly recommend the resort to family and friends.

Dave P.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    120
    67
    66
    48
See reviews for
96
126
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The resort is absolutely gorgeous! There are three beautiful full size pools. The infinity pool overlooking the ocean was my favorite. The staff are extremely nice and almost all spoke perfect English. The rooms all have amazing views, conditioning, mini fridges, tv's, and comfortable beds. There is a ton of beautiful wildlife like monkeys, iguanas, and birds. The diving is amazing and so are the dive staff! If you are used to Caribbean diving, you will be in for a pleasant surprise. At just fifty feet I saw 6 reef sharks, 4 eels, an octopus, probably 30 puffer fish, and three rays all in one dive. They always serve fresh fruit. The pineapple is amazing. The bartenders and the meal staff are great! I would definitely go back! As they say in Costa Rica, Pura Vida! (Pure life)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syerickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Fabulous resort! Property is beautiful. Bungalow rooms on hill are wonderful. Great views, clean, spacious and well decorated. Dive staff is fantastic and knowledgeable. Hotel staff is extremely accommodating and always has a "yes" and a smile. Staff arranged an amazing fourth of July fireworks display for our group. Could not ask for anything more than Ocotal offers.

Room Tip: Loved the bungalow rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2012

i would like to compliment the staff and the owner of ocotal beach resort. my husband and i spent 8 wonderful days there. the breakfasts are delicious and the service was fabulous. the pools and hots tubs were sparkling clean. i can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryann a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We moved to this hotel after a bad experience in annother resort. The staff was brilliant the views were the BEST in the area (ask for rooms 400-4010). We had an infinity pool infront of our room, almost exclusive. They have an in house diving PADI shop and they took us to amazing diving locations. Food was good and staff absolutely brilliant. Best diving in Costa Rica so far. we have already booked to go back in a month.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

What a picturesque place! This was the first stop of a few week trip. When I made reservations, I was hoping the location was all that the pictures made it seem.....boy was it! The family was sufficiently impressed with the grounds, view, and rooms. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Msaprilx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

I stayed with my girlfriend at the Ocotal Beach Resort in April of 2011 (this is a belated review...). What a disappointment. The area is fine, with great sunset views, a pleasant beach and -- by far the highlight -- two good restaurants nearby: one on the beach (Father Roosters) and one at the resort just past Ocotal (Picante Restaurant & Bar). at both, the food was excellent and service first-rate. Quite the contrast with the hotel, sadly...

Our visit was bad from minute one. We had asked and beem promised a room in the block with the best views of the sea and sunset (400 block I think, but can't remember). We didn't get it, and were told that those rooms were out of use. Oddly though there were other guests in them. We were also paying high season prices - it was the last week of benign season - but many of the hotel's facilities were shut down, including the pool with a bar, which had been a major factor in us selecting this hotel. The room we got was shabby at best, the air conditioning barely functional, protection against mosquitoes utterly non-functional, and at certain times of the day the smells from the bathroom drainage were not exactly ideal.

I'm not a complainer by nature and am far from high maintenance, but the broken promises on the room and the high-season pricing but low-season services drove me to at least seek out management. Staff person after staff person hid behind the "I'll have to speak to my manager and he/she isn't here today". Unsurprisingly these managers were never around. I was promised that something would be done about the pricing and to raise it again with the management when checking out. Surprise surprise, when checking out there was no manager to be found and none of our questions were ever answered.

On the plus side, the breakfast was ok and most of the staff quite friendly. I would never go back and could never recommend it to anyone other than backpackers looking for somewhere slightly nicer than a youth hostel for a few days at the beach.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MattStevensUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa Ocotal hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Ocotal
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
#1 of 2 in Playa Ocotal
122 reviews
7.9 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,519 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
#4 of 11 in Playas del Coco
119 reviews
6.7 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,701 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocotal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocotal Beach Resort

Property: Ocotal Beach Resort
Address: Playa del Coco | PO Box 1, Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Ocotal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocotal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocotal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocotal Beach Hotel Playas Del Coco
Hotel Ocotal Beach
Ocotal Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Ocotal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing