We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocotal Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great views”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had a unit just below the bar/restraurant area ....great views, very nice private pool. The large pools were closed because it was off season but we were told that when we called to confirm our reservations. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The room was wonderful, the air worked, the water was hot and the beds were comfortable. It is a lil ways out but worth the drive, about 10 min at the most from the town beach bars. The beach their is really good and not crowded with a private bar on the beach. The walk up the hill was a lil much for my wife but the resort provided a shuttle from the room to the beach and back when requested, so no problem and a nice service. Very nice place, had no problems of any kind.

Room Tip: request a room up by the bar/restaurant if u dont wont to walk up the hill. Or a lower room if you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    120
    68
    66
    48
See reviews for
97
126
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmes Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A bit out of the way, but you cannot beat this view anywhere in the world! Majestic Pacific Ocean w mountainous backgrounds, occasional boats passing is just hypnotizing. One of the most relaxing and romantic places we have ever traveled! The rooms are accommodating, charming and clean, very nice ! Staff is very helpful, and they speak English well. Dining is above average food, great brunch! Location is a bit up the hill from charming little village of El Coca which is a lovely alternative 'out of the resort' area for local shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: Room on far S. is most private and romantic !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

So there ate two perimeter fences and a guy who calls you in at the second one. It's oceanfront but you are high on a hill- there is a big pool but no water in it- so you use a crowded smaller pool- the hot and cold in the shower does not regulate properly so its cold- they say a buffet breakfast and I get a plate- to bread no tortilla- they say its a tica breakfast- part of a tica breakfast- I need a ride- the resort guy wants to take me down the coast in a large van - I say too much money- so he picks me up in a small taxi- he is perturbed and does not carry my SUITCASE. It's isolated and safe but too far to walk to town

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surferboyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa Ocotal hotels

Glen Ellen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I planned a two week vacation at the Ocotal Beach Resort. Mardigi Tours located in the lobby made it such a good time we decided to extend our vacation another week. Mardigi Tours gave us a variety of options everyday at a really good price compared to other tour guides. The owner Marvin assigned Mark as our guide it was like going everywhere with a buddy. We took multiple excursions up rivers, jungles, beaches and even to Nicaragua.We had one of the duplex units with a step out the back door had our pool right there and few more steps led to the path to the beach. What a life.We did this last spring and are going back this fall for an extended visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This hotel looked great in pictures and setting. The setting was fantastic but the hotel had a lot of poor repairs done, many of the repairs seemed incomplete. The room was big, but on the first night we did not have hot water and when we went to talk to the front office they didn't seem too interested in listening but the problem was fixed. The setting is truly amazing as you sit on the deck and overlook the ocean and take in a most amazing sunset.
The restaurant was a little disappointing. The food really was not that great. It wasnt horrible, but I was expecting better. One of the issues we had were the two resident 6 foot iguanas who would essentially sit at your feet and look as though they were begging for food. It made my wife rather uncomfortable, as well as many other guests.
When we signed up for a snorkeling at the scuba shop at this hotel we were paired up with a couple of scuba divers and were pretty much left to our own devices as the scuba master ws obviously diving with the other two divers. We really felt abandoned on this expedition.
Overall this was the most disappointing hotel on our trip and we really regretted having stayed here. The only thing that made this part of the trip to Palo Verde National Park. That was awesome.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cantwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The room was better than expected. The semi-private pool was very nice! The main pool area was rundown, the bar empty. This was probably because it was off season. The restaurant on the property was great! The snorkeling was substandard compared to Mexico and Belize. We used the guide on the beach at Ocotal. His prices were reasonable and they were very nice and professional. The husband went rooster fishing and got nothing. It seems that he should have gone further out, but they did not tell him that. He got some Mahi Mahi that was out of this world though!

Room Tip: Room 212 was the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseygirl7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Early this month myself and five members of my family overnighted at the Ocotal Beach Resort and this was the best hotel for an overnight stay. The restaurant staff deserved to be commended for their service both during dinner and breakfast the following day.

I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone looking not only for an overnight stay but for longer.

Room Tip: The sunset suites are the best - what a spectacular view, not to mention the view from the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BibiK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Ocotal
7.9 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
5.9 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
#4 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
6.7 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocotal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocotal Beach Resort

Property: Ocotal Beach Resort
Address: Playa del Coco | PO Box 1, Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Ocotal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocotal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocotal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocotal Beach Hotel Playas Del Coco
Hotel Ocotal Beach
Ocotal Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Ocotal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing