We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Private, Peaceful and All Around Pleasant”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Treasure Cay, Great Abaco Island, Abaco Islands, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emily H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Private, Peaceful and All Around Pleasant”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed with Dannette few weeks ago, on what would become one of the worse vacations we have ever had. Everything that could go wrong did go wrong, with the (very important) exception of meeting Dannette and staying in one of her simple but lovely cottages. Finding our way to Dannette's property was a little challenging because there are very few street signs on the island (which has only one traffic light to its name- part of the charm....?)and it was dark by the time we got our rental car from the airport. In spite of the late hour, Dannette was waiting up for us and made sure we were comfortable and had all we needed. The cottage itself was clean and tidy, appointed with a kitchenette (complete with non perishables left by other guests- I was so thankful to have coffee in the morning!), full bath, futon, Queen sized bed and a large closet. There were ample pillows and the linens were fresh smelling and comfortable.
The morning after our arrival, I had some time to visit with Dannette, who gave me insights into the island and suggestions about how we could spend our day. She is a very warm person who I felt, had we been neighbors, it would have been easy to find a good friend in her.
The property on which the cottages are situated is tended with loving attention. There are neatly maintained walkways to each cottage, which are nestled close to each other (but not too close!) like a small village and beyond that there Dannette has vegetable gardens and groups of citrus trees.
Towards the back of the property you can take a wooded trail to a beautiful beach. We were lucky enough to have the company of three adolescent cats (which Dannette took in after they were abandoned on driveway)as we walked down one evening. As animal lovers, we really enjoyed watching them pounce, tumble and run down the path with us like spritely guides. The beach was completely empty every time we were on it, but even if there had been people I don't think that would have detracted from its beauty. Best of all, you could hear the waves breaking on the shore from our cottage.
I will admit that we did not have the best time on the island, but that was primarily due to the unseasonably cold weather (and rain!) that we experienced. I think that if we were able to spend time on the beach as we had planned it would have been an excellent trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host and the proximity to the ocean
Liked least: The bed was a little uncomfortable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usain B
1 review
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We just had an amazing time here! The cottage, the location and of course the hosts, Danette and Lance. Everything is perfectly set to enjoy the island life! In this cottages you feel like home instantly. They are very cozy and nicely furnished. The kitchen is well equipped or you can go to the nearby local restaurant where you can get delicious jamaican patty! The location is the ideal combination in terms of enjoying both a hidden paradise with its soothing tranquility and the vivid Treasure Cay with in walking distance :) And of course there are the unforgettable dreamy beaches where you can choose between public beach if you'd like to get in touch with locals and the almost private beach to enjoy more toghetherness and have a bot of romance (especially for the newly weds ;) Danette and Lance are wonderful hosts, who have a keen instinct for people's needs. We had delightful chats over a glas of wine :) They introduced us to the best Conch-Salad-Master of the Island Kirk (Thank you! :)). Basically we found a second home :) Absolutely recommended!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unterkunft, Lage und Gastgeber...alles perfekt
Liked least: nichts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sksharma2
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Honeymoon Destination”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here last year for our honeymoon. We can't begin to tell everyone how amazing it was to stay at Four Winds Cottages. Danette and her family were welcoming, open, inclusive, caring, and full of rum punch! We fell in love with their private beach side access and their lovely cottage that came stocked with everything one needs for a nice getaway (stocked kitchen, linens, wifi.). She lent us anything we had forgotten!

Here are some things we did:
-went to go see the blue holes (Danette can recommend trips)
-went to go see the endemic parrots (again, Danette helped!)
-Learned about Danette's family history and British colonization
-went to the beach (we had access to the private beach on their property and also public beach nearby)

Danette helped us with everything. She and her family were so sweet and caring. She went out of her way to help us do what we wanted! It ended up being such an amazing trip. This place is for those who want to experience island life, who want to get to know the islands residents, and explore the flora and fauna of this beautiful island! She kept in touch with us before we arrived, set-up a taxi for us, and overall communicated with us very well.

We highly, highly recommend booking this place. It's peaceful and serene- a gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private Beach access and the family
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emily d
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection in paradise”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our honeymoon in Treasure Cay at Danette's cottage (Blue Marlin) was amazing. The property consists of 4 cottages (nestled in an amazing garden that Danette's parents began years ago) within walking distance to the private beach, where we relaxed for days on end uninterrupted. The cottages are a perfect getaway for a couple or a small family. This is not the all-inclusive resort; this is a down-to-earth, cared-for & cozy hideaway. Danette, the cottage owner, is incredible. She knows exactly how to be unobtrusive while also being very helpful. She has great restaurant recommendations, as well as conch salad recipes (& mojito ones, too!). We have already told so many people to follow our lead & head to Abaco & the Four Winds Cottages to experience the best relaxation the islands can offer.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing