We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real English Pub, oldest in South Africa”

The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Bathurst
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Diner, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant is housed in The Historic Pig and Whistle Inn. The Pub serving the Restaurant and Inn is the oldest continuously Licenced Pub in South Africa.The sense of history can almost be touched in this wonderful old place. The Restaurant consists of two locations. The timeless and popular verandah which adjoins the street as a sidewalk cafe where you can enjoy a grilled fish, steak or enjoy a coffee and the signature lemon meringue tart and watch the passing parade in this quaint village. Alternatively, the Historic Dining area has recently (in September 2011) been refurbished with a focus on its historic roots. The restaurant is popular for its traditional Sunday Roasts. Affordable family fare is the order of the day.
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have visited this pub every year during 11 visits to the Eastern Cape, Bathurst is a Village once in the area subjected to attacks in the frontier wars in the early 19C. the Anglican Church, 1840, was a refuge for the inhabitants during attacks. The Pub has a lovely bar tand places both iside and on the veranda outside to drink and ea, I have never felt so much' in the Cotswol'ds outside England. The menu is good, beer/wine refreshing but do explore the spread out village, the Potter, entering the village from Port Alfred, is worth a visit, also the little Methodist Church.

1  Thank elliven_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your review, we are blessed to be located in a very special village. The recently refurbished Bradshaw Mill is also well worth a visit and adds to the interest in the town. We are constantly improving the 182 year old Inn without affecting its national Monument status. We look forward to your next trip and hope we live up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the inn for a week, but only because i had to pay upfront before i arrived. The photos on the web look great, but be warned. The hallways and downstairs smell like smoke, but one positive is that the rooms are clean. The owners will not go out there way to accomodate you, so be satisfield with what you get. My colleagues person items disappeared, but returned after he complained. Terrible wifi and no tv in rooms.

Thank info-tronix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. As mentioned when we moved you to a room where the WI-Fi signal was better, we do struggle upstairs with the wi-fi because of the thick walls in the 182 year old building. In keeping with the country-inn feel of the Inn we decided not to install TV's in each room, most of our guests preferring the camaraderie of watching the television in the lounge or the pub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Recently, when out for a drive from Port Alfred, we popped in at the Pig and Whistle. It was windy so we were relieved to find a table on the verandah but had to go to the bar to buy the drinks and grab a passing waitress to get a menu!! The food took a while to arrive but we enjoyed watching the passing traffic - both vehicles and people. It was a pleasant few hours but we wouldn't rush back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Biddy325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words Biddy, its a pity you would not return, the Village has much to offer in the form of crafts and natural and man-made monuments. Waters Meeting, The Bradshaw Mill, the old churches are all well worth a visit in this old village with enormous character. This is not to mention the karaoke and spontaneous parties that occur from time to time! Thank you for the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Shocking we went on a sunday morning for breakfast, walked out after 1/2hr, as nobody had bothered to come to our table, to offer a menu or to see if we wanted a drink, It was not busy, so would hate to know how long ytou wait when they are!

Thank oliviajohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We are devastated!!!

Sunday's are our busiest days of the week and the entire management team as well as all the permanent and temporary waiters are on duty from the time our kitchen opens at 08h00 until the last lunch guest leaves usually after 16h00 in the afternoon. We are at a total loss as to how we missed this opportunity to serve you! We can only offer to make good should you be in the area again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed overnight. Beautifully maintained history, i loved the place and the price is good. Staff are friendly and helpful, good food.

The pub has nice prices; the lounge is so homely and welcoming.

The room and en-suite was beautiful, the only disappointment was that we had to use an alternate bathroom as our own room had no warm water. But i would love to stay over again.

Thank Vereena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that the hiccup with the hot water did not inconvenience you greatly, we look forward to hosting you in a flawless stay on your return visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant also viewed

 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Bathurst, Eastern Cape
 

Been to The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing