We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of CiampinoHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CiampinoHotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ciampino
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If you want to stay here for more than one night then choose another hotel! One positive is that the hotel is well located, near the train station and 5 minutes from the airport. The hotel itself is shabby looking, it needs painting. We didn't have any wifi signal at all during our two night stay. Our room wasn't very clean (bring your own towels) and it had foisty smell. It's extremely noisy as the swimming pool backs onto the train line and then you have the constant noise of the planes taking off and landing but we knew this before we booked the hotel. If you want to explore Rome then i would stay in the centre. There are much better hotels in the centre of Rome at a similar price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loren_881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Decent hotel for a reasonable price. It offers a shuttle service starting from 5 am, it takes 10 minutes to reach the airport. A bit noisy during the night because of the close airport. The wifi signal was very bad in my room. For just one night is good, if you have to stay more than one night...choose another hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank simmetria0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Hotel is easily accessed from Ciampino airport. Shuttle bus from airport to Ciampino train station takes only a couple of minutes. Go through underpass at train station - take first on left - hotel is 8 minute walk.
There is some noise from airport and from the train line immediately behind hotel, but stops about 10pm. Assuming you will spend most of the daytime exploring Rome, daytime noise should not be an issue.
Travel to Rome is very simple - from train station it is 15 minutes to Rome Termini. Currently 1 Euro 50 each way. Day / three Day passes with unlimited travel in Rome are available at ticket office, and can provide considerable savings.
Rooms are clean and functional, albeit refrigerator did not work. Most rooms have a balcony, but you need to be aware that a few rooms on ground floor do not have either a balcony or window.
Restaurant that is slightly lacking in charm, serves cheap and adequate breakfast, and evening meals.
Something that you won't find in a more central hotel is the nice open air pool area.
With easy and cheap access to Central Rome, a nice open air pool, decent rooms and very attentive staff, I would have no hesitation in staying here again

Room Tip: Some rooms on ground floor have no windows. Best check in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taksalangspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I would recommend this hotel, we stayed here for a week visiting Rome. Taxi from the airport quoted us €40 for what is a 5 minute transfer, however we then saw the local bus transfer to Ciampino Train Station which only cost €1.20 each and was just as quick. 10 minute walk from the station which wasn't bad. Hotel itself was clean and reception freindly and efficient, was checked in very quickly. Room was adequate, shower was a bit on the small size but everything else was OK, plenty of electrical sockets, wardrobe, fridge, King Size bed, Balcony. Aircraft could be heard during the day but around 10 PM this finished until around 7:30 - 8am the following morning so did not disturb sleep. Trtansfer into Rome we thought was good. Ciampino station was a 10 minute walk away and then the train took about 15 minute max to get into Termini station for €1.50 per person each way, with about 3 trains an hour. Would suggest checking train time in hotel using their free WiFi as at some times of the day there is a gap in services of about 50 minutes. We had a late flight from Ciampino but the hotel allowed us to store our luggage there after we had checked out so we were able to spend the day in Rome, before returning to collect our luggage and get to the aiurport by bus. Suppose the only thing that would improve the hotel was if they were to offer a transfer service to Ciampino Airport for the later flights as well instead of just during the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey_H-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Parking right on the doorstep and FREE. Hotel is being painted as we speak so is looking much smarter outside. Inside is very fresh and clean but is an older building (Roma). Seems like they could make a fortune on an all day shuttle but unfortunately it is only run from dawn until 8.30am but advertised as such.We arrived late at night (disabled member with us) And the guy at reception grabbed our luggage and ran to our room with it., to save me loading the tiny trolley. Not outwardly pro disabled but if you ask the staff are all very helpful and nice .You can even get extra towels and pillows!!! Towels are allowed at pool too. Pool was main reason for booking here and it was lovely. Yes the trains and planes are noisy but no more so than an A/C unit kicking on. Location was great for station and getting in and out of Rome was easy. lot of eating places and bars within a few minutes walk. Breakfast was really good value but dinner was a bit of a hit or miss. We ate at night only once. Typical Italian plumbing (smelly drains) and tiny shower but awesome disabled wet room and 4 addtional toilets on each floor so no complaints thereband we had a quad room. No kettles in room but cups of boiled water (for tea) at no charge. Overall, if going back to Rome would stay here again as great value and good location Also seemed like a safe neighbourhood unlike other areas in Rome As always in Europe, most staff could speak some, if not fluent English, putting us to shame.

Room Tip: Bottom floor had great pool access but no views Upper floors had birds eye views of planes taking of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALBAGALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week back in June 2012, we wanted to see Rome on a budget and we did!

The only negatives were;

1 - The shower wasn't the cleanest and the laminate in the bedroom wasn't properly fitted therefore there were some gaps on the floor near the balcony door. To be honest - not really a big deal.

2 - The most important I'd say, the hotel is not as easily located as websites imply - especially on foot, and particularly at night. You need to take the Cortal bus (from Ciampino Airport the cost is 1.20EUR each, to Ciampino Railway Station. Into the train station, downstairs to the platforms bypass them all, only using the underpass. Take the left staircase back up, walk towards the Pharmacy on the left hand side, turn left onto the main road and then follow the road for around 1K (ish) You'll pass various things, Supermarket on left, School on left, Pizza Apolo on left, you then cross the road and pass King Arthurs and then take the next left, hotel is about 50 yards in front of you. (A taxi will cost 15EUR (some will try and charge per person) and is not worth it unless you have a lot of bags.

We were in room 312 (top floor at the end of the building) and faced out onto the glorious pool, however we also faced the start of the runway, therefore if you don't like a lot of noise this hotel is not for you.

Onto the positive, its quiet (when the planes aren't taking off), its very clean, breakfast is standard (fresh meats, bread, eggs, fruit etc), the pool area is fabulous, the rooms were clean and maid service was great, the hotel staff (with the exception of one of the restaurant staff) were exceptionally helpful and very pleasant.

I have read a lot of reviews that have said the neighbourhood isn't very safe - we certainly never had that impression - day or night - and in fact walked around both sides of the town after 10pm.

The train to Termini station (Rome's Central) is frequent and is 2EUR return, however this is a busy commuter train so beware of that if you plan to travel early in the morning - also remember the Siesta time!

All in all this is a great little hotel, with lovely staff and we are booked to return to it in 10 days time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lainem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Arrived at this shabby looking hotel. At reception gave no details of facilities and said that the airport shuttle service only ran from 5.30am until 8.30am to the airport for 4 euros each. Other than that, you had a 20 minute walk to the nearest bus station or you paid 30 euros for a 7 minute taxi ride.

The hotel is shabby looking. The restaurant looks like an exam hall, but the food is nice.

Next morning checked out, and the guy in the reception was rude and could not be bothered. Only interested in getting our money.

Frankly, I should of stayed in Rome and got the shuttle bus back to the airport instead of staying in Norman Bates Motel.

Room Tip: Please be aware. Might be tempting but you need to get a bus and not a taxi to the hotel. If you sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciampino
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Giulia
Hotel Villa Giulia
#2 of 6 in Ciampino
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palacavicchi Hotel
Palacavicchi Hotel
#1,063 of 1,271 in Rome
445 reviews
2.4 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Louis II
Hotel Louis II
#5 of 6 in Ciampino
45 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meeting Hotel
Meeting Hotel
#610 of 1,271 in Rome
83 reviews
3.6 mi away
Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CiampinoHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CiampinoHotel

Address: Via Achille Grandi 2, 00043, Ciampino, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Ciampino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ciampino
Price Range: £26 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — CiampinoHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your CiampinoHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciampino Hotel Ciampino
Ciampinohotel Hotel Ciampino
CiampinoHotel Ciampino, Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing