We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
louisemeg...
North Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I stayed at clouds hill this May with my family . We had a lovely stay . The house is very spacious and clean . There is more than enough room for 10 adults to stay. The swimming pool was fantastic and warm which also includes a sitting area and a gym . Our children spent most of they're time in there . We loved it . I would definitely re visit clouds hill. The area is very nice too and peaceful and there is plenty of places to visit in Huddersfield and holmfirth . It has everything you need for a holiday away . If your looking for a place to take the family then clouds hill is your place . We all had a lovely time

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duane b
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clouds hill”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I visited clouds hill in April this year. I wasn't looking forward to the stay due to the bad reviews but it was too late to cancel. But to my surprise the house is no where near as bad as people are saying in the reviews. The place is very clean and spacious and as everything you need . Bit of wear and tear to the house but considering it's being rent out it's not a surprise . I had a very nice stay there with my family and the children loved it. There is nice places close by to visit and the owner is very helpful and polite . I would highly recommend this holiday house as it's in a lovely location of huddersfield and a nice place to stay in . It could do with a bit of touch up on the painting but as far as that I can't say anymore . I was very happy with my stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We came to stay at this so called luxury cottage with a group of friends. We always go away together at this time of year and always look for something special. But Clouds Hill is definitely nothing special.We were attracted to the property by the description given and the fact that it had a pool. We all felt the same way about the standard of the property and its cleanliness POOR. A bin in one of the bathrooms had not been emptied, The sofas in the living room are old, sagging and worn out, the kitchen/crockery equipment is miss matched, chipped or broken. To top it all off the pool had so much chlorine in it that we could not use it. It was so strong just walking into the pool area left everyone with running and stinging eyes. If your looking for a luxury break DONT go to clouds hill.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not luxury in any way”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Described on Sykes cottages as a luxurious and lavish cottage - in reality it was anything but...
2 very small bedrooms with no direct access to a shower - assume they have to use the gym shower down 2 flights of stairs. 2 bedrooms share jack and Jill shower room - with low set (futon style) beds. 1 master bedroom with en-suite.
None of the jacuzzi baths worked, the fire in the sitting room was broken, none of the gym equipment was in a fit state to be used, no extractor fans working in the showers or the kitchen, wooden blocks supporting sagging broken framed settees.
The whole place is in need of an overhaul; with litter and dust under beds and scuffed paint work throughout, poor quality beds and linens, lights not working, insufficient tablewear, mismatched glasses and chipped crockery ( some of which resembled dog bowls!)
I could go on...
On a positive note: the area was lovely with nice walks and a great local pub.
Sykes cottages offered very little when we complained to them, despite using them many times before... Very disappointing!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmt447
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good overall”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A lovely spacious house with an air of luxury.
Fabulous master bedroom but three of the other bedrooms are small. In the one other reasonable sized room, the mattress did not fit the bed properly and a member of our party found it a little uncomfortable.
The sitting room is enormous! Fitted us all in comfortably and was very relaxing. The older members of our party struggled to get out of tbe sofas which are very low and deep.
Kitchen was great to cook in, well equipped on the whole, but for a house that sleeps 10 why are there only 5 dessert spoons, two stools at the island, and only 4 chairs in the breakfast room?
Surrounding area was very nice. Terrific walk up to Castle Hill for stunning views.
The pool is fantastic. Our kids were down there three times a day! Gym room less inviting as it was suffering a bit from condensation.
Our party of 10 ranged in age from 14 to 85. On reflection I'd say the house was better suited to the two younger of the three generations, but we all had a really good week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The master bedroom and the pool
Liked least: The three tiny dark bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetsmum
Norfolk, UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“NOT what it says on the tin.”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in May 2015
10
people found this review helpful

I was reluctant to post a negative review, but have monitored reviews for this property and as we were so terribly disappointed feel that future guests deserve to see both sides.

We booked this as 'luxury' - it really wasn't. The house was, once, built as a luxury property, but lack of care and investment, not to mention cleaning, has left it in a poor condition.

Lights were out, doors didn't close, bin liners didn't fit in bins, tea towels and towels, bin liners etc were not provided. None of the gym equipment worked - it was rusted and dangerous. The whirlpool bath jets hadn't been cleaned and black and green gunk filled the bath when turned on.

The 'decking' was full of water as the drainage didn't work on the balcony, and if you stepped onto it filthy water and cigarette butts swamped the decking.

The bar b q had never been cleaned and was full of rubbish - the decking at the back was full of moss and unuseable, the blinds at the windows were damaged and didn't close properly - one window had no blinds at all!

Dining chairs were bent and unuseable, there was insufficient table cutlery and not enough plates for the entire party - despite being less than the number the property is advertised for.

We were instructed to remove our bedding, and found stained and filthy mattresses.

It was, in all a very disappointing experience, which left us angry at the advertising for the property which we felt was misleading.

To be fair we did receive a part refund - none of our complaints appeared unexpected by the property owner, and I suspect we weren't the first to raise them.

If you are looking for a luxury property this isn't it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenise19...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely big house, just a few problems”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely big house with the 'wow' factor when you first go in.
Unfortunately there were a few problems.
This was one of the most expensive houses we have rented and would really have expected the little things like bin bags, washing up liquid and toilet rolls. Luckily I had taken a couple of black bags with me otherwise I am not sure where we would have put our rubbish to take out to the bin. Smoke alarm in kitchen not working (unfortunately we burnt some toast). Fire in front room not working.. All the showers require shower mats, they are very slippy and dangerous when wet! And in all there were 9 lights not working!!! For the amount paid for this house we really expected everything to be perfect but thankfully it did not ruin our weekend. The kids loved the pool.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing