We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wendytalb...
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The house is divided into several dwellings which was not clear on the description. During our 3 night stay , there was construction work being completed in another part of the property and we had construction noise from 8 am each morning , As a consequence , we left the property a day early cutting our holiday short . Parking is described as being available at the council car park - this is a piece of muddy waste land with numerous pot holes which necessitated us changing our shoes due to the mud and wet each time we went to and from the car .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2018
Thank you for providing your comments. We have tried to contact you in order to discuss this further. If we can assist you, please contact us on 01244 345700.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocwartor...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Booked this place as a kind of last minute get-a-way for the Bank Holiday weekend. It looked nice on the photos but was even better in the flesh. Very nicely situated, just 5 mins walk from Almondbury village centre. Very well done out, traditional on the outside but very well appointed on the inside with all modern conveniences. Comfortable and very tidy indeed.
The only problem really is that the Missus now wants to redecorate our own bedroon because it has given her "ideas".

This place was great - just a 5 min drive from Castle Hill where the views are absolutely amazing. An hour from York and 30 mins from Leeds so you're able to experience the wonderful Yorkshire Dales and all modern conveniences (i.e. Shopping!) if you like.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your weekend at One Sharp Lane, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It is wonderful to hear that the property exceeded your expectations, and your partners new "ideas" mean you get to take a taste of the property home with you! We will be sure to pass your comments along to the owner and hope you return for another holiday soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Had a wonderful stay a One Sharp Lane. Extremely well appointed property. Everything you would need to make your holiday comfortable. Would like to compliment the owner on the high standard. We came up to watch the British Cycling Hill Climb Championships at Jackson Bridge (Holmfirth) and found the location of the property an ideal base. In the week also had easy access to Huddersfield itself and visits to Wakefield and Halifax.
Never stayed in this area before but will certainly like to return and would genuinely recommend to family and friends.
Only negative was no guests book to write a review!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of facilities at property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
In lieu of a guest book we are so glad you have taken the time to share your wonderful review here! It is great that you got out and about to explore all that the area has to offer and had One Sharp Lane to come home to. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyworob...
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good bits, bad bits.”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have stayed in various holiday cottages in recent years and by comparison to some, this comes out as "average". The property has a nice "homely feel" and is well equipped. It is also well situated should you wish to set out for the Dales. Our main concern was the light pollution we suffered at night; there is a large street light directly outside the main bedroom and as the curtains were relatively thin, light was a constant problem. Moreover, it was possible to hear traffic throughout the night, particularly if the window was open; this would possibly not be a problem in winter. We were concerned by the parking arrangement prior to travelling up to this cottage, but there is a patch of waste ground about 30 yards away which offers communal parking for various adjacent properties. A space is not guaranteed, but we had difficulty on only one occasion. The Wifi, incidentally, was excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryKate...
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home!!”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Felt at home here, everything you need pretty much supplied, wifi, washing machine, cooker etc, if there's one thing I'd recommend its that some bath/shampoo product be supplied as it has been everywhere I've stayed. It's situated right near Almondbury village, so u have a newsagent, coffee shop, and a local co op. There's also 2 pubs and a takeaway just a few seconds down the street and an off licence and Franco's restaurant less than 5 mins away. Town is only 5-10mins on the bus or on a nice day you could walk into town 20-30mins (all downhill). I would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House is nicely furnished/cosy.
Liked least: No bath/shampoo/hair dryer provided
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stacy f
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent home from home”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

on arrival couldn't feel more at home the cottage was warm an inviting very nicely decorated with all the essentials you could ask for. The cottage is situated in a very quiet little village that has shops, local take aways, and the essentials. The village is a short distance from town buses run every 10 mins and offer various tickets if you wish to travel around yorkshire. By the end on the week I didn't want to leave felt so relaxed in the cottage, will be visiting again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the standard of the property
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing