We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

We came with our dogs and the hotel could not have been more accommodating. First class service, a good room with immediate access to the garden. The only downside is the motorist noise which pervades the garden (though not inside).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quinlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    68
    37
    20
    19
See reviews for
34
77
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We held our wedding reception at 'The Old Hall' on Saturday 07/07/12.

We would like to express our thanks and appreciation to all of the staff who helped make our day fantastic, nothing was to much trouble for them. We can't thank enough the chef who prepared an amazing meal for us. The whole day was exceptional, all of our guests where made to feel special.

Many thanks to all of the staff involved.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night - thank goodness it was only the one. I really do not like leaving bad reviews however this hotel was just filthy.

I checked in initially to room 6 the room was tiny and smelt of stale cigarettes and dampness. The toilet had not been cleaned and the bed was not made properly. Then they moved me immediately to room no 1 a larger room which on first appearance seemed cleaner. Checked in at 10pm so it was too late to find another hotel which I would have done (this place makes the Best Western up the road seem like The Ritz)

My bed had stains on the sheets which looked like grease marks and the carpet had seen better days. All the furniture was chipped and marked. The bathroom was just OK, although the towels smelt funny.

Breakfast the next morning was an absolute farce! There was a leak in the roof so one of the tables was housing a bucket to collect the drips in the middle of the restaurant. I picked up the menu and it was hard to open as it was caked in stale food and had clearly not seen a cloth in months. Ordered scrambled egg and it came on a plate looking like powder (it had been overcooked). When I checked out the manager did not ask how my stay was he seemed shifty and nervous, so he should be. This hotel is unclean and needs to be looked at by a health inspector. Even the toilets for the main hotel are covered in dirt with the wood on the skirting boards hanging off.

Not good value for money, I paid £76.50 for bed and breakfast - at best this place is worth £35.00

Will NEVER stay here again and intend to report them for hygiene standards.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MalPalLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frodsham hotels

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This place is charming, proper old world experience and along with forest hills one of the best two places to stay in Frodsham.

Old Hall has a real charm, log fires, old world england and even a goast....so the staff claimed ??? Mmmm.....the resturant is fabulous great food and proper portions, its an excellent venue. if your planning to stop in the forodsham Overton area look nowherre else...well unless your scarred of things that go bump in the night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ducklington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Short stay in the hotel before Christmas,Dec 2011 . Food was fantastic , service excellent . The bars and restaurant have great character but the rooms arn't great .. (fairly basic and very hard mattress) but have all that you need for short stays . Would definately book again if in the area

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I organised our Christmas do at the old hall hotel last friday night. 12 of us met for drinks, dinner and several of us stayed over. Staff were friendly and accomodating, the service was good and we had a really good night- the food was lovely. Two people got stuck in the snow (coming from a distance) and had to cancel their meals and the staff were understanding and accomodating with the changes.

I stayed in a double suite which was very large, well decorated and with a very large bathroom. Friends also stayed in a variety of rooms all of which were more than adequate and reasonably priced when compared to other hotels. The hotel was full of charm and character and I would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Opt for a room in the main house ratehr than the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We have just stayed for a week in this little gem located in the centre of Frodsham.

One of the things that struck me was the number of staff who had worked in the hotel for many years. This is an indication of the excellent atmosphere that the hotel has. Happy staff leads to happy customers and we were happy.

The location of the hotel is excellent on the high street right in the centre of Frodsham with all the town's facilities right on the doorstep.

When reading reviews it sometimes seems that people expect 200 year old buildings to be unblemished and moan when this is not the case. Well, get real and if you cannot accept the character that comes with age perhaps you would be better off in a characterless Travel Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frodsham
0.6 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 44 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Hotel

Property: The Old Hall Hotel
Address: Main Street, Frodsham WA6 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Frodsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hall Hotel Frodsham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing