We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Mid week stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mid week stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Simply brilliant. Cannot fault the hotel in any way. Stayed at the hotel on business and found the stay very enjoyable. The local pubs particularly the belter shelter are well worth a visit. Staff all very friendly and professional and room very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    60
    33
    19
    19
See reviews for
31
72
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

I stayed here for a business trip recently, it looks very nice and oldie worldly from outside reception is ok, but on being taken to my room in the old stable block I was amassed, it was dirty and had a bad smell, the bathroom was dirty but big with a carpet that smelled of you know what and I daren’t take my shoes off in there. It was a complete mishmash of old tired damaged furniture with the smallest TV I have seen in years, light bulbs out there were 4 pillows for the bed ranging from brick hard to flat flop and no 2 the same, the curtains didn’t fit and the noise from the road made sleep impossible together with the 5.30am delivery straight under the bedroom window for which the van engine was left running and everyone shouted at the top of their voices. The glasses in the room were dirty and smelt of shampoo as did the cups and kettle I really didn’t want to touch anything, there was no water in the room other than the tap, the information pack was filthy with Mays menu in it, so I went out for dinner I didn’t dare try breakfast and left very early for my meeting, on checking out even thought it had been paid on line they asked for payment again, an experience not to be repeated.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AggieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frodsham hotels

Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

I was in the neighborhood for business and stayed here for two nights. They have a lovely garden where we had a couple of drinks. The hotel is such a classic old English place, I love the atmosphere, the room was tiny but ok, I slept very good. The breakfast had a selection of both English and continental food.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSS_Willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

We came with our dogs and the hotel could not have been more accommodating. First class service, a good room with immediate access to the garden. The only downside is the motorist noise which pervades the garden (though not inside).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quinlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We held our wedding reception at 'The Old Hall' on Saturday 07/07/12.

We would like to express our thanks and appreciation to all of the staff who helped make our day fantastic, nothing was to much trouble for them. We can't thank enough the chef who prepared an amazing meal for us. The whole day was exceptional, all of our guests where made to feel special.

Many thanks to all of the staff involved.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night - thank goodness it was only the one. I really do not like leaving bad reviews however this hotel was just filthy.

I checked in initially to room 6 the room was tiny and smelt of stale cigarettes and dampness. The toilet had not been cleaned and the bed was not made properly. Then they moved me immediately to room no 1 a larger room which on first appearance seemed cleaner. Checked in at 10pm so it was too late to find another hotel which I would have done (this place makes the Best Western up the road seem like The Ritz)

My bed had stains on the sheets which looked like grease marks and the carpet had seen better days. All the furniture was chipped and marked. The bathroom was just OK, although the towels smelt funny.

Breakfast the next morning was an absolute farce! There was a leak in the roof so one of the tables was housing a bucket to collect the drips in the middle of the restaurant. I picked up the menu and it was hard to open as it was caked in stale food and had clearly not seen a cloth in months. Ordered scrambled egg and it came on a plate looking like powder (it had been overcooked). When I checked out the manager did not ask how my stay was he seemed shifty and nervous, so he should be. This hotel is unclean and needs to be looked at by a health inspector. Even the toilets for the main hotel are covered in dirt with the wood on the skirting boards hanging off.

Not good value for money, I paid £76.50 for bed and breakfast - at best this place is worth £35.00

Will NEVER stay here again and intend to report them for hygiene standards.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MalPalLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This place is charming, proper old world experience and along with forest hills one of the best two places to stay in Frodsham.

Old Hall has a real charm, log fires, old world england and even a goast....so the staff claimed ??? Mmmm.....the resturant is fabulous great food and proper portions, its an excellent venue. if your planning to stop in the forodsham Overton area look nowherre else...well unless your scarred of things that go bump in the night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frodsham
0.6 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
14.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
7.3 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Hotel

Property: The Old Hall Hotel
Address: Main Street, Frodsham WA6 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Frodsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hall Hotel Frodsham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing