We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just popped in for coffee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just popped in for coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Really bright, well maintained downstairs restaurant, bar and lounge with a little maze of side rooms and cubby's to hide away and have a drink in. Didn't eat or stay there but well worth heading to for a change to costa or starbucks :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    63
    36
    20
    19
See reviews for
32
75
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gwynedd
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stayed two nights, Fri and Sat and had a lovely break. Room tastefully decorated in Farrow and Ball paint... with four posted bed, and old fireplace and antique furniture (in keeping with the hotel considering its age!) Bathroom a little ordinary, all white - and loo paper a little cheap, but water was always hot and plentiful. Could do with more than one bottle of shampoo/conditioner as there were two of us and the bottles were tiny (barely enough for one like me with long hair)
Breakfast was nice, plenty of choice, from cereals and yoghurts, to full English and cheese board. Had an evening meal on the Friday which was very nice, and there were a few others eating here too, so must be quite a popular place to eat.
Surroundings were very nice, lounge had a roaring fire going which made a welcoming sight when we returned from a walk around the Delamere forest.
Staff were pleasant, Manager a little shy I would say, but very nice.
So, to sum it all up, we would not hesitate in booking a break here again, it is an ideal spot for a quick break for us from North Wales. Thank You.

Room Tip: Our room was around the side, so was nice and quiet.... Might be noisier at the front of the hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Since everything is relative, I will say the staff aren't completely disinterested, the dinner wasn't too bad, the room wasn't too dirty, the television wasn't that small (and it only took a few minutes to figure out how to get a channel), the bed wasn't too uncomfortable. The room was quiet until the cleaning lady burst in at 7am without knocking (and the door was locked!) and I never did figure out the shower controls, ended up taking a cold shower.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank london_import
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frodsham hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Simply brilliant. Cannot fault the hotel in any way. Stayed at the hotel on business and found the stay very enjoyable. The local pubs particularly the belter shelter are well worth a visit. Staff all very friendly and professional and room very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

I stayed here for a business trip recently, it looks very nice and oldie worldly from outside reception is ok, but on being taken to my room in the old stable block I was amassed, it was dirty and had a bad smell, the bathroom was dirty but big with a carpet that smelled of you know what and I daren’t take my shoes off in there. It was a complete mishmash of old tired damaged furniture with the smallest TV I have seen in years, light bulbs out there were 4 pillows for the bed ranging from brick hard to flat flop and no 2 the same, the curtains didn’t fit and the noise from the road made sleep impossible together with the 5.30am delivery straight under the bedroom window for which the van engine was left running and everyone shouted at the top of their voices. The glasses in the room were dirty and smelt of shampoo as did the cups and kettle I really didn’t want to touch anything, there was no water in the room other than the tap, the information pack was filthy with Mays menu in it, so I went out for dinner I didn’t dare try breakfast and left very early for my meeting, on checking out even thought it had been paid on line they asked for payment again, an experience not to be repeated.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AggieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

I was in the neighborhood for business and stayed here for two nights. They have a lovely garden where we had a couple of drinks. The hotel is such a classic old English place, I love the atmosphere, the room was tiny but ok, I slept very good. The breakfast had a selection of both English and continental food.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSS_Willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

We came with our dogs and the hotel could not have been more accommodating. First class service, a good room with immediate access to the garden. The only downside is the motorist noise which pervades the garden (though not inside).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quinlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frodsham
0.6 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
3.1 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
7.3 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#2 of 5 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Hotel

Property: The Old Hall Hotel
Address: Main Street, Frodsham WA6 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Frodsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hall Hotel Frodsham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing