We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ENIGMA”
Review of The Old Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“ENIGMA”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

From the front this hotel has a pleasant and somewhat quirky architectural aspect. It encourages thoughts of a journey back in time to a more gentle and stylish era, however all this spoiled by venturing in to the car park at the rear with a view of a modern extension that appears in need of more renovation than the original building, softwood window frames in need of a new coat of varnish and some general exterior maintenance care.
I appreciate planning restrictions make it difficult to alter/upgrade such historical buildings so I guess it is all the more important to ensure that aspects such as the bathrooms are modern and well maintained, new grouting on tiles periodically.
Has loads of potential, needs more tlc and general maintenance/housekeeping. Staff seemed indifferent, yet there was still a feeling that with the right vision and outlook this could be transformed

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEWLIFE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    74
    38
    20
    21
See reviews for
38
84
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

A lovely place for coffee, especially in winter. However, the filter coffee could be stronger, and I'd like to see newspapers and magazines,

A great place when the fire's lit, with a lovely owner, and kindly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CheshireChap12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frodsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

If you stay in a lot of hotels which are 3* or above, then this review is for you. The Old Hall is just that; old. Well presented from the outside, in a pleasant enough setting, it makes a good first impression. The hotel has a lot of character when you first walk in.

I need to preface this review with the fact that I stay in a *lot* of hotels, don't always pay for them myself and have an annoying trait of noticing things that others don't or don't care about.

First impressions, unfortunately, don't last for the 100GBPs a night they were charging me (B&B). I booked a double room, with breakfast. The presentation right through the hotel is ok but the carpets need changing. The rest of the decor is in keeping with the character but the cheap looking, borderline shabby carpets stand out. Which is a shame for a historic building.

The room I had was fine but, because of the age of the building, the bathroom was cramped. It had a bath but shouldn't have. It only needed a shower, honestly. The bath boxed the toilet in. It was cramped and could have felt so much bigger with just a nice shower. It also needed updating, but was clean nonetheless. The TV in the room is tiny, I'd heard other people mention it too. I don't care but for those who do, it is.

The staff are friendly but the service is not as polished as one would expect. It's not a big deal but it lacks something that some other independent, or chain, hotels of the same rating have - I can only describe it as je ne sais quoi. Not quite there, really.

Food and drink: The bar doesn't have a huge selection but is fine. The menu isn't huge but is varied for one or two nights, three or four -- you might have the same thing twice but that could just be me. It's all well prepared and freshly cooked. There does seem a little inconsistency here, and it sounds really picky, but I asked for the cheese board with apple, instead of celery, and I got a whole uncut apple. Or I asked for a sausage sandwich and got three sausages, perfectly cooked, with 2 slices of bread separately presented, cut in diagonals with their crusts removed! It was like Dali had sorted things out! It sounds petty but it was so incongruous, it was funny. One didn't try, the other tried for no reason?! It's the little touches that show class and refinement.

I mention the above things because I stay in so many hotels, it becomes obvious to me and when comparing here to other places, you see the odd things.

All-in-all a nice, homely place to stay on business.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holstebro, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
675 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Nice litle hotel direkt on main street, large parking rigth behind the hotel, large cars may need to drive slowly true"gate".warm welcome in reception. Rooms small but did look relativly renovated, could use a climat control, very hot during the nigth. Large bathroom very modern. Room very clean and ok. Litle garden were drinks are served. Very good restaurants, very good food of a good quality, steak cooked just as wanted. In general ok stay, but do change the carpet on the stairs up to the 1floor, it does look old and very used. Can recommend the restauran for both businessnand pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellesmere port
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed for one night as a treat for our wedding anniversary, our room was beautiful very spacious and decorated to a high standard, the bed very comfortable. The garden to the rear was lovely, we sat outside in the evening with a drink admiring the surroundings.Would definitely recommend this hotel and we will be staying there again one day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debnrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Had a couple of dinners in Frodsham in July. The Italian, Amore, is, strangely, not on TripAdvisor's books yet - but, as with Old Hall, it was very good.

This was during our heatwave so we had dinner in Old Hall's garden, which is very attractive. The simple starter of watermelon and feta was excellent as were the mains, sea bream and a turkey roast. A carbohydrate fix was provided through mash with the fish, boiled potatoes with the veg and a bowl of chips - haute cuisine or what!

Service was accommodating. Altogether a very pleasant evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wirepuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Really bright, well maintained downstairs restaurant, bar and lounge with a little maze of side rooms and cubby's to hide away and have a drink in. Didn't eat or stay there but well worth heading to for a change to costa or starbucks :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frodsham
0.6 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
689 reviews
3.1 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
6.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
361 reviews
8.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Hotel

Property: The Old Hall Hotel
Address: Main Street, Frodsham WA6 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Frodsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hall Hotel Frodsham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing