We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fantastic"”
Review of The Old Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here for one night on dinner, bed and breakfast basis...what a fantastic choice, the Manager Mark and all the staff went out of their way to ensure our brief stay was as pleasant as possible. From the outset the reception staff presented themselves very professionally and could not do enough to help us, the room we had was beautiful, very large, tastefully decorated and very clean, in whole much better than expected for a 3 star hotel, I must say I would rate the hotel at least 4 star upon our experience...now for the restaurant..I can not praise the waiting staff enough for the whole evening the girls work extremely hard to make sure you have a most enjoyable evening, fantastic customer service! the meal itself was exceptional I and my wife has steak of which was simply wonderful, the best I have tasted for a long long time, the chef must be complemented for both the presentation and quality of the food served, absolutely amazing.
I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Old Hall Hotel, it is a little gem and from our experience a place where you can relax and enjoy your surroundings with the little nooks for drinks etc...well done to all the team there for making our stay exceptional.

Room Tip: Our room (23) was at the rear of the hotel and was really quite with no adjoining rooms, very big wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We are always on the look out for nice places to stay with our girls (greyhounds Millie & Katie) and what a place we have found. The hotel is lovely, the food was great and the service perfect. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was massive with a sofa and plenty of space for us all. we will be back and will pass on the hotel details to all our other friends that have dogs. Thank you so much for a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We have just had a pleasant evening at this hotel and restaurant. The meal was excellent I had roast duck. This was followed by a waffle and with a redcurrant jam and ice cream The surroundings and ambience were very nice and the service was superb.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Shuteye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

From the front this hotel has a pleasant and somewhat quirky architectural aspect. It encourages thoughts of a journey back in time to a more gentle and stylish era, however all this spoiled by venturing in to the car park at the rear with a view of a modern extension that appears in need of more renovation than the original building, softwood window frames in need of a new coat of varnish and some general exterior maintenance care.
I appreciate planning restrictions make it difficult to alter/upgrade such historical buildings so I guess it is all the more important to ensure that aspects such as the bathrooms are modern and well maintained, new grouting on tiles periodically.
Has loads of potential, needs more tlc and general maintenance/housekeeping. Staff seemed indifferent, yet there was still a feeling that with the right vision and outlook this could be transformed

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NEWLIFE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

A lovely place for coffee, especially in winter. However, the filter coffee could be stronger, and I'd like to see newspapers and magazines,

A great place when the fire's lit, with a lovely owner, and kindly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank CheshireChap12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

If you stay in a lot of hotels which are 3* or above, then this review is for you. The Old Hall is just that; old. Well presented from the outside, in a pleasant enough setting, it makes a good first impression. The hotel has a lot of character when you first walk in.

I need to preface this review with the fact that I stay in a *lot* of hotels, don't always pay for them myself and have an annoying trait of noticing things that others don't or don't care about.

First impressions, unfortunately, don't last for the 100GBPs a night they were charging me (B&B). I booked a double room, with breakfast. The presentation right through the hotel is ok but the carpets need changing. The rest of the decor is in keeping with the character but the cheap looking, borderline shabby carpets stand out. Which is a shame for a historic building.

The room I had was fine but, because of the age of the building, the bathroom was cramped. It had a bath but shouldn't have. It only needed a shower, honestly. The bath boxed the toilet in. It was cramped and could have felt so much bigger with just a nice shower. It also needed updating, but was clean nonetheless. The TV in the room is tiny, I'd heard other people mention it too. I don't care but for those who do, it is.

The staff are friendly but the service is not as polished as one would expect. It's not a big deal but it lacks something that some other independent, or chain, hotels of the same rating have - I can only describe it as je ne sais quoi. Not quite there, really.

Food and drink: The bar doesn't have a huge selection but is fine. The menu isn't huge but is varied for one or two nights, three or four -- you might have the same thing twice but that could just be me. It's all well prepared and freshly cooked. There does seem a little inconsistency here, and it sounds really picky, but I asked for the cheese board with apple, instead of celery, and I got a whole uncut apple. Or I asked for a sausage sandwich and got three sausages, perfectly cooked, with 2 slices of bread separately presented, cut in diagonals with their crusts removed! It was like Dali had sorted things out! It sounds petty but it was so incongruous, it was funny. One didn't try, the other tried for no reason?! It's the little touches that show class and refinement.

I mention the above things because I stay in so many hotels, it becomes obvious to me and when comparing here to other places, you see the odd things.

All-in-all a nice, homely place to stay on business.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Nice litle hotel direkt on main street, large parking rigth behind the hotel, large cars may need to drive slowly true"gate".warm welcome in reception. Rooms small but did look relativly renovated, could use a climat control, very hot during the nigth. Large bathroom very modern. Room very clean and ok. Litle garden were drinks are served. Very good restaurants, very good food of a good quality, steak cooked just as wanted. In general ok stay, but do change the carpet on the stairs up to the 1floor, it does look old and very used. Can recommend the restauran for both businessnand pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frodsham
0.6 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
8.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
6.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
3.1 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
232 reviews
14.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Hotel

Address: Main Street, Frodsham WA6 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Frodsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Price Range: £95 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hall Hotel Frodsham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing