We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced disappointing food”
Review of The Old Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced disappointing food”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We didn't stay at hotel but had dinner with another couple. The restaurant was busy and had a nice atmosphere however we waited 20 mins to be seated despite having booked a table. The initial service was very professional and polite. The food was very disappointing. My husband had a bitter roast pepper soup and I had a roll of garlic bread which tasted nice but appeared to be baked from frozen. The halibut on roast endive was a large portion but over-cooked and lacked seasoning. My husband's spring rolls on noodles were also over-fried from frozen (chef had split one, possibly to check it was cooked through) and very oily. The meals cost approximately £30 per head for 2 course with soft drinks and coffee. By 10pm (Friday night) the restuarant was empty at which point one of the waitresses drew a set of curtains next to our table somewhat brusquely which prompted us to settle the bill and leave! Despite nice atmosphere, I would not reccomend this hotel for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    74
    39
    20
    21
See reviews for
38
85
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the old hall recently as it seemed a nice quirky place. On our arrival we were not welcomed at all basically rushed out to our ro in the annex which when we walked in had a severe smell of damp. (Which was recently painted over bit already showing) We went and bought a plug in as we couldn't swap rooms as it was fully booked. Then were overcharged on leaving the hotel. Overall very disappointing.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CalR192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frodsham hotels

San Jose, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was a lovely hotel, but very old which just added to the experience. We were very surprised by the size of the room. We actually had two rooms, a bedroom and a sitting room beyond that. It made it quite nice to relax after a busy day of site seeing and travel around the area. The staff were very nice and the town of Frodsham was also lovely. The town has a beautiful park within walking distance of the hotel. And there a several pubs and restaurants very close to the hotel, which also has it own restaurant. A free breakfast comes with the reservation which always makes it nice for people from out of the area who might have no idea of where to find breakfast. All in all we enjoyed our stay here very much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed while attending a family wedding. Room was a good size but had poor ventilation there was no fans available. Food was good with a good selection of dishes and well priced. Dining room staff were friendly and accommodating , the garden area was pretty. On the whole it was a good experience.

Room Tip: If hot pre arrange for a fan to be provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie101962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I held our wedding reception here on 28 June 2014, besides ourselves we had 27 guests including 2 vegetarians and a gluten free. Everyone was complimentary about their meals , the standard of the food and the service.
Everybody was served at the same time and the presentation was lovely, fresh & hot.
We had Melon & strawberries for starters, sirloin of beef with all of the trimmings for main whilst the 2 veggies had a sea bass & a salmon, sticky toffee pudding for dessert.
Tea & coffee with mints were served at the end. the servers kept everybody's glasses charged throughout the meal.
The majority of the guests had booked rooms for the night which all found them clean & really comfy, We had room 6 which included a lounge, bedroom & 4 piece bathroom.
Breakfast the following morning was all fresh and locally sourced , buffet items included cereal, pastries, ham, cheese, fruit & yoghurts. You could then choose from a hot menu including full English, kippers or porridge. All cooked fresh to order.
Again all guests commented that they would visit again to have meals & we will be also.
We highly recommend the Old Hall Hotel, Mark & his staff were all fantastic, friendly, accommodating and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Thank you for adding to our special day.
Harry & Debra Boulton

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This place was the only place I could find close enough to a party we were attending as all others seemed not be fully booked. It was more than we would have liked to pay for but when we arrived it was beautiful.
The room was big enough for a family of four, the only criticism was the two double beds are not regular doubles. They are on the smaller side, but there was a sofa that one of,father kids opted to use rather than be kicked through the night by there sibling.....
Breakfast was good and the stay lovely, the homemade cakes on offer also looked good but we didn't manage to get around to trying them.
Village is a nice place with some good options for pubs and eating from what we could see.

Room Tip: Our kids are 10 &. 8 so the double beds are an issue for older families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imw3671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I visited the restaurant last Thursday evening after our friends recommended it. Food was superb. We both enjoyed a two course dinner having the fillet steak for our main dish. I have been a butcher for over 20 years now and I am extremely critical when dining out, however, I it really was superb. My wife had fresh fruit salad and Cheshire farm ice cream for dessert which was nice and I enjoyed the cheese board which was presented beautifully and contained a nice variety. Would highly recommend to family and friends and my wife and I will certainly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMBlythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frodsham
0.6 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
701 reviews
8.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
221 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
374 reviews
14.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Hotel

Property: The Old Hall Hotel
Address: Main Street, Frodsham WA6 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Frodsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hall Hotel Frodsham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing