We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Horseshoe”
Review of The Horseshoe Inn

The Horseshoe Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Horseshoe Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Frodsham B&B and Inns
Lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lucky Horseshoe”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Excellent BB accommodation, very welcoming, boutique style rooms and great breakfast. Superb value.

Room Tip: Rooms above a pub but that did not disturb us
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bearcatbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    9
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
26
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here for one night recently and have to say what a find, a great pub in a pretty village. The food was fab and plenty of it, the staff were friendly as were the locals. Would definately stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank denisedavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rh107zf
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on route to Liverpool. Bedroom and bathroom decor excellent. Pub meal very good and full English breakfast was superb. Very friendly hosts. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuniperM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We was going to a 50th Birthday Party and needed a b&b for the Saturday night. Found this gem of a pub that did B&B on Late rooms. com for £45.00. The staff was of the highest standard and room have just been refurbished to a very high standard with new shower room. The very substantial breakfasts were freshly cooked when we wanted them by the very friendly owner. Would highly recommend this Gem of a Pub/b&b. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RICKERNIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Great value for b and b - breakfast kept us going the whole day very tasty. Evening meal was very good value - simple and good quality. Only reason has lost a point is currently under temporary management - hope they find a new landlord - we would definitely stay again when back in frodsham

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy_and_Politico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed here to break up a journey from Ireland to London via Holyhead, it was well worth it.
The two rooms have been refurbished recently, and have been completed to a very high standard. The room and bathroom were both very clean.
The breakfast was very tasty and plentiful and the hosts were friendly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LanJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The initial greeting was not very welcoming. There was an awful smell of damp up to my room above the pub. The room itself was very nicely decorated but not clean & wasn't cleaned during my 2 night stay.
The pleasant young barman who served breakfast seemed as confused as I was about his breakfast duties although we got there eventually.
Heard from the other local inn that there were problems with management. I won't be back to find out if they sorted things out - sorry.

Room Tip: Suggest that they keep the cellar door shut if it is open as the smell was far worse then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brock61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frodsham hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
199 reviews
2.7 mi away
Yarrangall B&B
Yarrangall B&B
#4 of 4 in Frodsham
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horseshoe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horseshoe Inn

Property: The Horseshoe Inn
Address: Hollow Lane, Frodsham WA6 8EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Frodsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Frodsham
Hotel Class:4 star — The Horseshoe Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Horseshoe Inn, Kingsley - a fun, friendly family pub in the heart of Cheshire! Set in the rural village of Kingsley, near the historic market town of Frodsham, Cheshire, the Horseshoe Inn is your typical village pub. You'll always be greeted with a friendly welcome and service with a smile by your hosts Ged and Lorna. We serve good wholesome pub food at sensible prices including breakfast daily from 7am (8am at the weekends). We have a range of real ales, keg beers, wines and spirits. We provide regular entertainment including live music and pub quiz nights. You can play pool which is free to play on Wednesdays. In addition to all this we have two letting bedrooms furnished to a high standard, with en-suite bathrooms, TV with tea and coffee making facilities, perfect for business trips or a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your The Horseshoe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horseshoe Inn Frodsham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing