We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Christmas at Forest Hills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Had the 3 night Christmas break at Forest Hills Hotel with my wife.
The level of service from every one of the team in every area was outstanding in fact we would say world class.
Prior to retirement we both held important positions in the service industry for 40 years so we appreciate how much work and effort has gone into training and communications to achieve the standards delivered.
The standard of cleanliness was spotless in every area rooms and public areas.
The food was some of the best we have had in the UK including Christmas dinner where every element was piping hot and cooked perfectly including a large and varied selection of vegetables.
We will return.
A big thank you to Kieran, Tamsin and their team.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room with a view over the estuary, although all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear Phil F

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you and your wife had a fantastic Christmas break with us it will give me great pleasure to pass on your kind and positive comments to all the team here at the Best Western Forest Hills.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind Regards
Kieran & Tamsin McCabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2012

Stayed here recently due to our company's Christmas do. Food and service was excellent, the staff were exceptionally polite and very professional , a credit to the hotel. The room was very clean with all the usual extras , hospitality tray, satellite TV . The bed was extremely comfy, had the best nights sleep in weeks ! The only minute criticism was the decor in the bathroom, very dated, {salmon pink suite} but I have been made aware that the Hotel is in the process of updating all the bathrooms throughout . Breakfast was superb and HOT!! Overall an excellent stay and would not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wifesachef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear wifesachef

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind and positive comments I was delighted to read that you had a fantastic stay that you found the food and service excellent and the staff professional and polite it will give me great pleasure to pass on your comments to all the team here at the Best Western Forest Hills Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Kieran McCabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We were very impressed with the hotel from the first phonecall. We weren't disappointed. The room was large and quiet. Proper beds for the children and a sofa and table as well.
The staff were very friendly and they recommended a lovely local pub for dinner. The pool and gym were a welcome addition and much appreciated by the children and my husband.
We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melisma29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear Melisma

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor

I was delighted to read that you found us an excellent hotel and that you found the staff friendly, and that you were impressed with us from the first phone call it will give me great pleasure to pass on your comments to the rest of the team here at the Best Western Forest Hills Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back very soon, keep an eye on our website for the many planned events and promotions that take place through out the year.

Thank you again

Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

i have visited this hotel on several occassions and alway found it a good all round place to stay
its easy to get to chester liverpool and if you want to shop chesire oaks
the veiws are amazing and if you like walking theres plenty to do and next door is a golf course
the hotel itself
staff
all the staff are very helpful and friendly you only have to ask and they will do their best
food
the food in the restuarant is very good and reasonably priced
they have about 4 gourmet evenings a year were the food and wine are amazing (well worth trying)
the hotel is clean and friendly and includes a leisure centre with pool,steam room,jaccuzzi etc. only thing didnt like you have to pay for snooker (good tables but cues resemble bananas)
this hotel well worth a visit for a short break only thing i miss they dont sell real ales

Room Tip: use it for a trip to chester,chester races,chesire oaks.liverpool or just to lay back and relax roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillian48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

jillian48

Thankyou for your review on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read your kind and positive comments concerning the facilities, food, staff and our location I agree we are ideally placed to visit the surrounding area of the North West and its many attractions.

The Gourmet Evenings in the Hilltops Restaurant with the views over the Cheshire plains really are quite special and we have a few planned for this year.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, take a look at our website for the current what's on information.

Thank you again

Kind Regards

Kieran McCabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I arrived at the hotel on a Sunday evening. The hotel was quite empty and when I went to find the bar/restaurant etc I was told it had shut at 9pm because of a very low occupancy rate. If it was not for that I would have probably rated it excellent. I was able to get a drink to take back to my room. The staff were certainly friendly and the check-in and check-out process was very good and swift.
It is in an elevated quiet position and if your room is in the right area you have good views over the Mersey and up the estuary.
The room was spotless and very spacious (Executive Room). The WiFi is free.

Room Tip: Executive rooms in the 101-111 range I imagine. I was in 107.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveL_Canterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear SteveL

Thankyou for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your kind and positive comments I was pleased to read that you thought us a nice hotel in a quiet location and that you found all the staff friendly.

Occasional Sunday nights can be a little quiet for us and we do shut down different areas and offer a porter, room service for food and beverage.

We hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future when you return to this area on business.

Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We've been going to The Forest Hills for over 10yrs as an escape hole, and even got married there.(Thanks Tracey who is still there 7 years later). It's great to see that being taken over by Best Western hasn't changed the quality service and the fantastic friendly atmosphere. Many of the staff are the same as 10 years ago which I think says a lot!
The rooms have had an upgrade and look fantastic, just a pity that they couldn't stretch to getting rid of the peach bathroom suites.
The leisure facillities are great and just what is need for a relaxing break.
Would highly recommend it, Go for DB&B and look out for deals and offers.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear Ij99

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I would like to thank you for you kind and positive comments we are very lucky to of retained so many staff over the years.

We are still independently owed and managed Best Western is a marketing consortium that we bought into enabling us to move the business forward, to a wider audience.

We have many planned events and promotions taking place over the coming months keep an eye on our website for find out more.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Kieran McCabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed at Forest Hills whilst visiting family nearby. Nice hotel with plenty of parking and easily found with the satnav. Pretty good all round with a decent standard room which was very comfortable with magnificent views over the estuary especially at night, quite stunning with all the lights.

My wife enjoyed the pool and the steam room. The only thing that let the hotel down was the breakfast. Toast arrived too early, eggs were hard and the bacon was undercooked and not very hot. I guess that's the price you pay with buffet style breakfasts. Had porridge and kippers the following morning and that was much better.

All the hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and all in all had a good stay. Will return again when next visiting the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear jerry c

Thank you for your recent first review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you found us a nice hotel and pretty good all round.

My apologies for breakfast on your first morning not being up to our usual high standard I will be discussing this point with the team at our next Food & Beverage meeting and I'm glad that it will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.

I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team that you found them extremely helpful and friendly, keep an eye on our website for the many planned events and promotions that take place through out the year.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Kieran McCabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frodsham
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
718 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
202 reviews
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
7.4 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Forest Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Forest Hills Hotel

Address: Overton Hill, Frodsham WA6 6HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Frodsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Price Range: £58 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Forest Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Forest Hills Hotels a modern 3 Star Hotel.Situated just off the M56 yet set amidst beautiful Cheshire countryside.The panoramic views across the Cheshire Plains and the Mersey Estuary instantly tells you that the Best Western Forest Hills is something different.Set amongst quiet woodland,away from the hustle and bustle of the city,for a perfect nights sleep,yet just minutes away from the M56 which opens up the delights of Cheshire and North Wales and just a 20 minute drive from Chester.A perfect base for exploring the countryside,with the sandstone Trail on the doorstep.Ideal for families and Leisure Breaks.Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village for shopping and fun for the family at Chester Zoo,Blue Planet Aquarium and Gullivers World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Forest Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel Frodsham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing