We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed over night on the way to the Open Championship at Hoylake (very convenient btw). Lovely location with great views towards the Wirrall area. Seemed to have a very busy health club on the property and lycra clad sweaties were constantly in and out of reception!
Had a drink at the small bar and sat out on the patio enjoying the views at sunset which was pretty spectacular. Mind the mosquitoes though, they're brutal!
Room was clean and well appointed and overall very good value. recommended for a business stayover or short leisure stay. Only drawback was lack of aircon in the room. Not often needed near Liverpool but on this occasion it was pretty unbearable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnyhatesjars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Johnnyhatesjars.
Firstly may I congratulate you on a very unique Trip Advisor name and secondly thank you for posting your review following your stay with us.
As I said in my previous response our location is really quite unique and we are very proud not only of our hotel but the team of staff we have here.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed the Golf at Hoylake as much.
Good Tip about the Mosquitoes outside for any future guests as they can be as you described pretty brutal.
Next time you are in the area please do not hesitate to stay with us again or even consider playing some of the fantastic Golf Courses we have within such easy reach.
Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    255
    96
    38
    22
See reviews for
211
239
21
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
284 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is on a high point with extensive views. A modern property on a large site. Not easy to find but go through the village and up to the highest point. A light and airy reception and lounge, plenty of car parking. The executive rooms are spacious with dining table, lounge area and a great bathroom with large bath and walk in shower. Dog friendly. The restaurant is spacious with great views. The service good and the food ok but large portions. The breakfasts excellent. So why only 4 stars. Well for me the bed was poor. May be it's just me expecting too much and other guests don't appear to have mentioned it. It was on a wooden base with a thin mattress which bottomed out ( I am not overweight! ) I spend at least 30 nights a year in the USA in BW and everyone in a similar price range would have a spring base with a pocket spring mattress ( or the would go out of business ) The other thing is a small 21" TV in a large room. Mentioned by many and needs attention by the management. This is a great hotel and great value but the bed is the most important item in the room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Dunera
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us recently and I will take pleasure in passing your kind comments onto them.
As you have brought up we are aware that some rooms have smaller televisions and that is an ongoing process for us to upgrade them all to larger sized screens, I have instructed our maintenance team and housekeeping to check the base and mattress in the room you stayed in and we will change it.
I most defiantly agree with your comments that we are a bit off the beaten track but we believe that is one of our unique selling points as the views are really incredible.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I had a one night stay at this hotel, we found it conveniently located for visiting both Chester and The Wirral. The location of the hotel is in a peaceful, rural area on top of a hill with the dining room overlooking the southern end of the Mersey estuary. The facilities were just as you would expect from a chain hotel and fully met our needs. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WandererWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Wanderer West Yorks
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us here at the Best Western Forest hills.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us but would like to explain we are a independently owned and managed hotel which is one of the strengths of being involved the Best western Brand of which we are very proud to be a part of.
Like all best Western hotels we all have our own character and style as well as being placed in some of the most amazing locations.
Please keep an eye on our website form some of the great special offers we have coming up soon.
Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in a family room and got the zoo package for 90 pounds! This included full use of the pool (clean relaxing and excellent facilities) and breakfast in the morning which was a large varity of a hot and cold choices ! Everything we needed was provided travel cot kettle etc. staff was very friendly and we had such a warm welcome highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliciaFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear EliciaFaye

Thank you for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you and the family enjoyed the Zoo Package with us and you found the hotel excellent and great value.

It will be my pleasure to pass on your kind and positive comments to the team here at the Best Western Forest Hills Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family back in the not too distant future take a look at our website with the children's summer holidays nearly upon us I'm sure there is something there we can tempt you with.

Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Booked Just the one nights stay but Unfortunately due to an issue back home we had to leave after a few hours.

The reception team are helpful, the hotel is clean and tidy, Our Room 217 had a lovely view and a balcony, It seemed a comfy bed and well decorated.

The location is in a small quiet village, near to a golf course with plenty of Wildlife.

As i write this review I'm back home but should be there.

It had a leisure club and a restaurant, the in room prices are very reasonable from viewing the menu, and the a-la-carte main menu, Meals start from just £6 in room and £10 in the restaurant.

Would have been nice to see out the stay anyway, try it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honesthotelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear honesthotelreviewer

Thank you for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor

What a shame you couldn't stay longer. On your short stay with us I was delighted to read that you found the reception team helpful, the hotel clean and tidy, that you found the food prices reasonable across the building.

I agree the views from the balcony rooms are quiet breath taking we ourselves never tire of them and the location we are in, situated on top of Frodsham Hill in a quiet, with great views of the Mersey Estuary yet close to all motorway networks and all that the North West has to offer.

We hope that you will come back and see us very soon, take a look at our website for the many planned events and promotions that take place throughout the year.

Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here the weekend of 4 - 6 July and had a superb stay. We were her for and organised event for over 50 excited ladies and everything went like clockwork during mealtimes, checking in/out etc.; all of the staff I had contact with were incredibly polite. However, one young lady went the extra mile and that was Becky in the restaurant; she was so patient with us all and as well as this, she made sure that our poached eggs were served exactly how we wanted them plus we had service with a smile all through service!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaniandMalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear HaniandMalc

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you and 50 excited ladies had a lovely weekend and a superb stay with us recently and everything went like clockwork.

It will be my pleasure to pass on your kind and positive comments to all the team here at the hotel and especially Becky in the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Breakfast was not due to start being served until 7am so my wife explained at length that we would pay to have continental breakfast bought to room at 6am. Despite lengthy booking process at desk it didnt arrive. Hotel decor tired, peach bathroom, cracked paving slabs outside. Poor service. Great location nice building.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edevalera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear edevalera

Thank you for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.
The none delivery of your continental breakfast should not of happened, it has highlighted a training issue with certain members of the team which has since be addressed.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Kind Regards

Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frodsham
0.6 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
7.4 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Forest Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Forest Hills Hotel

Property: Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Address: Overton Hill, Frodsham WA6 6HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Frodsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Forest Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Forest Hills Hotels a modern 3 Star Hotel.Situated just off the M56 yet set amidst beautiful Cheshire countryside.The panoramic views across the Cheshire Plains and the Mersey Estuary instantly tells you that the Best Western Forest Hills is something different.Set amongst quiet woodland,away from the hustle and bustle of the city,for a perfect nights sleep,yet just minutes away from the M56 which opens up the delights of Cheshire and North Wales and just a 20 minute drive from Chester.A perfect base for exploring the countryside,with the sandstone Trail on the doorstep.Ideal for families and Leisure Breaks.Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village for shopping and fun for the family at Chester Zoo,Blue Planet Aquarium and Gullivers World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Forest Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel Frodsham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing