We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one gripe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one gripe”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Beautifull,realy enjoyed stay staff helpful friendly ,room loverly views,pool good .onne gripe breakfast we booked trivago.but no b fast paid seperate 21 pound 2 scrambled egg toast pot coffie ,tea not clear enough whats included. In full english or continentel. Love hotel tho and cant wait to come again

Room Tip: I just asked for nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munkie162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Munkie 123
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us here at the Best Western Forest Hills Hotel.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and would love you to come back and stay with us again all I would recommend is that you check out the rates on our own website or our Best Western website as they are really competitive and will always include breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    271
    100
    42
    23
See reviews for
221
259
21
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

No lift very far from the Village no AC in any rooms rude staff doors banging all night cob webs on all the garden furniture . I would never stay there again or recommend anyone to stay The Holiday Inn Runcorn much better and superior staff. I was totally dissatisfied with our stay. The hotel is not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties as it is on a very steep hill with no other way to access without a car. . not good for older couples. .They have a lot of land but no golf course which seems a bit ridiculous

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Mr Kimuli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Mr Kimuli S

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I take on board your comments but do not agree with them we are a bit off the beaten track but we believe that is one of our unique selling points as the views are really incredible, guests with walking difficulties can request a room on the reception level of the hotel where everything can be easily reached, and if necessary assistance, help and support is offered if requested or needed.

No we don't have air conditioning in the hotel bedrooms, the hotel was built many years ago although we do offer fans to guests who require or request them but we do have air conditioning in all our public function rooms and Restaurant.

The noise from banging doors would of been guests returning to their rooms after a function I would like to apologise for that, if we had of been informed we would of asked guests to be quite and respectful of other guests on the premises.

Yes we do have a lot of land in and around the building but not enough for a golf course! Frodsham Golf Club is adjacent to us less than five minutes from our main door.

It was a shame that we were not given the opportunity to address certain details concerning your stay before checkout. We may not of been to your liking but we are to many visiting guests and clients that over the years have returned time and time again the positive reviews reflect that that future guests and clients can read for themselves.

Sincerely
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuerteventura, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Only Staying on a flying visit to see family, but a really nice stay, Great view out of the window and easy check in. Really big rooms and a good sleep. I would definitely stay again and was happy with price paid.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so if you have luggage watch out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Simon J W

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you had a really nice stay with us while on a flying visit to see family, the views are great aren't they we never tire of them.

I'm pleased that you found the rooms big, with an easy check in, that you would defiantly stay again and that you were happy with the price paid no unfortunately we don't have lifts the hotel was built many years ago apologies that you were not offered assistance with your luggage.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon take a look at our website for the many offers that take place throughout the year maybe we could tempt you back sooner.

Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here recently in order to visit the Tatton Park flower show and Chester. The hotel is well situated for exploring Cheshire, located on the hill behind Frodsham. There are superb views from the grounds over the Mersey estuary. The hotel is a modern building, with a well equipped leisure centre attached. Our room was great, quite large and well furnished, and extremely comfortable and quiet. A very good buffet breakfast is served, with porridge, eggs and kippers cooked fresh to order. We had dinner in the hotel on the evening we arrived, with an excellent menu available. Unfortunately, our duck was slightly overcooked, but overall we enjoyed our meal. Altogether, this is a hotel I would definitely use again, and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Richard W

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your mini break with us while you were in the area attending Tatton Park Flower show and Chester, I agree we are so ideally placed for all that the Northwest has to offer.
I was pleased that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast and dinner although the duck was slightly overcooked for you and I have passed these comments on the kitchen team, but overall you enjoyed your meal.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future keep an eye on our website for the many planned events and promotions that take place throughout the year.

Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

As we were only staying one night we didn't really do our usual research on where to stay. Not what we were expecting at all and possibly the best hotel of this type we have ever stayed in. It turned a 400 mile roundtrip for a business meeting into a romantic one night holiday

Excellent rooms (we had a "double shower" :-) ) excellent staff, views, location, restaurant and facilities.

Excellent VFM and we would definitely stay there again...as other have said in their reviews " A LITTLE GEM"

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Lynda H
Thank you so much for posting your review on Trip Advisor and we are delighted that what should have been a business trip have elements of romance encompassed within it.
We pride ourselves here at the hotel on trying to give our guests an experience to remember and I will take pleasure in passing your comments onto the team.
We do have a number of rooms that have double showers in them and they have proven very popular with all the guests we have.
Next time you are in the area please do not hesitate to give us a call.
Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed over night on the way to the Open Championship at Hoylake (very convenient btw). Lovely location with great views towards the Wirrall area. Seemed to have a very busy health club on the property and lycra clad sweaties were constantly in and out of reception!
Had a drink at the small bar and sat out on the patio enjoying the views at sunset which was pretty spectacular. Mind the mosquitoes though, they're brutal!
Room was clean and well appointed and overall very good value. recommended for a business stayover or short leisure stay. Only drawback was lack of aircon in the room. Not often needed near Liverpool but on this occasion it was pretty unbearable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnyhatesjars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Johnnyhatesjars.
Firstly may I congratulate you on a very unique Trip Advisor name and secondly thank you for posting your review following your stay with us.
As I said in my previous response our location is really quite unique and we are very proud not only of our hotel but the team of staff we have here.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed the Golf at Hoylake as much.
Good Tip about the Mosquitoes outside for any future guests as they can be as you described pretty brutal.
Next time you are in the area please do not hesitate to stay with us again or even consider playing some of the fantastic Golf Courses we have within such easy reach.
Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is on a high point with extensive views. A modern property on a large site. Not easy to find but go through the village and up to the highest point. A light and airy reception and lounge, plenty of car parking. The executive rooms are spacious with dining table, lounge area and a great bathroom with large bath and walk in shower. Dog friendly. The restaurant is spacious with great views. The service good and the food ok but large portions. The breakfasts excellent. So why only 4 stars. Well for me the bed was poor. May be it's just me expecting too much and other guests don't appear to have mentioned it. It was on a wooden base with a thin mattress which bottomed out ( I am not overweight! ) I spend at least 30 nights a year in the USA in BW and everyone in a similar price range would have a spring base with a pocket spring mattress ( or the would go out of business ) The other thing is a small 21" TV in a large room. Mentioned by many and needs attention by the management. This is a great hotel and great value but the bed is the most important item in the room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Dunera
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us recently and I will take pleasure in passing your kind comments onto them.
As you have brought up we are aware that some rooms have smaller televisions and that is an ongoing process for us to upgrade them all to larger sized screens, I have instructed our maintenance team and housekeeping to check the base and mattress in the room you stayed in and we will change it.
I most defiantly agree with your comments that we are a bit off the beaten track but we believe that is one of our unique selling points as the views are really incredible.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frodsham
0.6 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
199 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
703 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#35 of 44 in Chester
184 reviews
7.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Forest Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Forest Hills Hotel

Property: Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Address: Overton Hill, Frodsham WA6 6HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Frodsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Forest Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Forest Hills Hotels a modern 3 Star Hotel.Situated just off the M56 yet set amidst beautiful Cheshire countryside.The panoramic views across the Cheshire Plains and the Mersey Estuary instantly tells you that the Best Western Forest Hills is something different.Set amongst quiet woodland,away from the hustle and bustle of the city,for a perfect nights sleep,yet just minutes away from the M56 which opens up the delights of Cheshire and North Wales and just a 20 minute drive from Chester.A perfect base for exploring the countryside,with the sandstone Trail on the doorstep.Ideal for families and Leisure Breaks.Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village for shopping and fun for the family at Chester Zoo,Blue Planet Aquarium and Gullivers World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Forest Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel Frodsham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing