We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look beyond the issues and you have a hotel of real charm”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Frodsham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heathercliffe Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Look beyond the issues and you have a hotel of real charm”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I have stayed at the hotel a couple of times over the last month and have to admit that it's growing on me. There are some obvious issues around the fabric of the hotel and it is in need of a complete overhaul.

However rooms are large and comfortable and the food excellent. After staying at some of the brand hotels over in Runcorn\Daresbury it's nice to get a home cooked meal not a microwave plate!

Also VFM is great with the room rate, bar and food prices way below the norm. The staff are excellent and it's a haven of peace away from the M56 road noise that is ever present in Frodsham.

Overall a very nice hotel (with an interesting history) and if they can get new owners to invest and refurbish it will continue to be an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 5 is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan&Sylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    11
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
3
11
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The hotel is in need of a good deep clean. When we arrived the bell didnt work so had too wait for someone. We were firstly put in the wrong room, but to be fair we where moved rapidily when I pointed this out.The staff were pleasent when you could find them. There was a bad smell when were first arrived and we were told there was a problem with the electric and the fridge had been off for two hours (smelt more like two months) Its such a shame as with a bit of TLC the hotel could be fab. Give it a good clean, patch up the damp hole in the dining room! and a good lick of paint wouldnt go a miss. Upside- The bathroom was lovely and clean. The grounds are beautiful in which the hotel is situated and the price was good. Breakfast was lovely. So give it a bit of TLC and it would be spot on :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshine187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

just arrived back from a weekend away at this hotel. the room was nice and clean but unfortunately the overall appearance of the hotel was dated and in need of a lot of TLC
i did hear that the hotel isnt owned by anyone as they are having financial difficulties. I only wish that someone could buy it and put some life into this hotel. the room had been refurbished and the bathroom too, it was really nice and clean the bathroom was lovely.

We had dinner in the hotel on the Friday night but im afraid it wasnt all that could. The breakfast was the same, i didnt see anyone eating the burnt coissants.

Please would someone buy this hotel and put some life into the old place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Great location, peaceful and pretty
Great breakfast
Nice bathroom
Lovely room - could have a comfier mattress, but spotless with era furniture.
Needs a bit of tlc, but seems to be getting it.
Great clips from guest book - famous guests
If you want to sleep where George Clooney has slept, and wake up to sheep bleating in the field then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just returned from a 2 night break to celebrate our first anniversary. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. After initial confusion over our room the issue was dealt with with efficiency and good manners whereby we were promptly offered an upgrade to match the promise made by laterooms. The room was clean, well presented and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful, hot, politely served and well cooked. If only we could win the lottery so we could be in a position to take over this business with lots of potential. We will definitely be returning and would like to express our thanks and wish the staff and owners every success for the future.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philtrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I visited this hotel last week.
The building is an imposing and beautiful victorian house with an interesting history.
Apparently, it is undergoing a change of ownership just now and could be forgiven for letting standards slip.
This was not quite the case.
Firstly, I must say that i stayed there as part of a business trip to the area.
The rooms appear to have been recently refurbished, and are very nice, mine had a spa bath in the en suite.
The food in the hotel is lovely, whoever is in the kitchen knows their stuff!, my 3 colleagues and myself all raved about the standard (and portion size) of the meals.
The staff are excellent, friendly and helpful, despite some obvious problems at the bar, no lager one night, no guinness the next, no port at all, but everything was handled with good grace and good manners.
I would go back there any time, and I wish the staff all the best for the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank privatewire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Attended a 50th birthday party, the food was good, service excellent, staff couldn't be more helpful, overall couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frodsham
1.2 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
198 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,447 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
361 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yarrangall B&B
Yarrangall B&B
#4 of 4 in Frodsham
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathercliffe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathercliffe Country House Hotel

Property: Heathercliffe Country House Hotel
Address: Heathercliffe Manley Road, Frodsham WA6 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Frodsham
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Hotel Class:3 star — Heathercliffe Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Heathercliffe Country Hotel
Heathercliffe Country House Hotel Frodsham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing