We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience at Le Sirene”
Review of Le Sirene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Sirene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portisco
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel is located perfectly between the two much more expensive towns of Porto Cervo and Porto Rotondo. It is on the tiny port, with nice restaurants and cafes surrounding it. Perfect for anyone departing on their sailing holiday as you can walk to where all the boats are moored. The rooms are clean and spacious with balconies and nice views. It's definitely not an American 4 star hotel, but this is Italy after all! The beds are a bit rickety and small. Otherwise, a great place to stay. The staff was helpful, breakfast was included (limited, but pretty good for Italy).

Room Tip: Request a room with a wooden canopy bed. They are better than the metal beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicoleLondon230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

We enjoyed a warm welcome from the friendly and accommodating team at Le Sirene in Portisco.

The room and terrace were both a good size and looked out over the port and beyond along the coast. With a series of beautiful beaches just around the corner and several restaurants in the port, the value for money for the location was good for July.

As mentioned on other comments there are items that could do with upgrading but none of these diminished our enjoyment.

Also good to note that cute waggy-tailed dogs receive as hearty a welcome as their owners.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yachtshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel while visiting my husband for just 2 nights. The port itself is really pretty and friendly. The hotel is very tired. Because of its location, on a marina at the side of a hill, there are lots of steps. The hotel has no lift, so anyone who has a mobility problem would not be able to get around this hotel. The hotel has no private parking, on its description is says it has parking, but it has just street parking and getting a space when i stayed in August was almost impossible. There is no pool at the hotel, there is a tiny beach a short walk away which is very nice, but its small so in the season is very crowded. The hotel itself I didnt like. I stayed in August so it was very expensive for a very average room. The delux sea view rooms are very basic, they all open onto the public walkway, so you can see the marina, but only if you come outside your room. The rooms are basically furnished and my room wasnt clean. There is no fridge and the hotel doesnt have a bar so it was impossible to get a cold drink when the marina bars were closed. No way to keep a bottle of water cold in your room. The breakfast included in your stay is basic, the first morning I went for breakfast at 9.30 and there was nothing left. Since breakfast was til 11am, this was very poor. You defiantely need transport if you stay in Portisco, but it is a great place to be based to explore the coast. Loved the port and the area, really didnt like the hotel. Basic, dirty and very overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Le Sirene is in a marina development and as all marinas in this area, the food and drink prices are high and the choice is limited. It does mean that the area around the hotel is very respectable and safe, with a good atmosphere in the evening around the marina bars and restaurants, but this is not a place for anyone on a tight budget. I found the nightlife interesting and pleasant but not intrusively noisy, even with a room on the front.

I was travelling with my dog, and the hotel was fine about this though I would recommend confirming this in advance.

The rooms are fairly basic, and typical of hotels in hot places, with tiled floors and fairly basic furniture. They have tried to achieve a sort of tropical washed out look with the furniture and fittings, including rustic lookings brass taps which unfortunately makes them look not entirely clean on first inspection, though they clearly were. I checked out very late and sat on the terrace while they were cleaning the rooms, and it looked extremely thorough. The air conditioning worked well and the television channels included a few english language news channels. Front facing rooms looking out over the marina are more desirable, as some of the side rooms looked out over the marina service road.

The terraces for the rooms are not private and form part of the walkway access to other rooms. I didn't like this initially, but it didn't prove to be a problem as the terraces are huge, and spacious enough to stay out of the way of other guests.

The breakfast room is inexplicably situated in a lower basement floor, with no view, making it not the sort of experience you would wish to linger over. Breakfast itself was on the basic side with the usual selection of cold meats, cheeses and no "cooked to order" option. Not bad, but not overly exciting either.

I think anything over a three day stay in this hotel could get boring, so I would not book it for a longer holiday unless I had transport.

There is not always an english speaker on reception, so any special requirements should be sorted out by email plenty of time in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garfield56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This hotel had promise, but they could not deliver. Booked reservation from travel agent, but the reservation never made it to the hotel, and they were unprepared. They showed us 3 rooms that hadn't been used since the previous season, and all of them stunk with mold and mildew!!! Opening all the windows did nothing, and turning on the a/c made it worse. The hotel staff did their very best and were friendly enough, but all they could offer us was furniture polish spray. We had to leave the hotel after one night because we couldn't breathe very well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

If you want to see more than the port area which is certainly nice, do you need a car. The area is fairly isolated. Classik rooms are small and simple, the beds are hard. Simple breakfast without variation, things like butter may not be low. Very closed in the area at the end of the season. Walking distance to beach
Maximum 3 stars

Sweden

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiking54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We got the ferry from Livorno and booked this complex based on where it claimed that it was located. Turns out it's nowhere near the Ferry port and no other mode of transport services the route. We paid €50 to get there in an a taxi When we arrived we asked if we would have been better off flying into Olbia and she said that it would have cost a €50 fare aswell. The property is a complex really and not a hotel. Staff were fine. Breakfast not great- but ok. You are very much marooned if you don't have you own mode of transport. There are 3 restaurants and bars on the marina but beware it is a monopoly as you're so removed from any other services; they charge pretty much what they like. We were told we could get a 10% discount if we dined in the marine but in fact the opposite happened, we were over charged!! And, they weren't very gracious about the correction either. The only lively bar had a waitress who was paraletic drunk when we arrived and proceeded to charge us extra for each drink we purchased. She was rude more to the point and proceeded to strip in the bar- classy!We asked about renting a scooter in the marine and were quoted €60 per scooter per day- la la land - not a hope! We went with an external company and spent as little time as possible in the resort. All in all it was ok, food was crazy expensive. We wont be returning. Oh, sorry there is a wee upside; the local beach that was a a few minutes walk away was lovely but not sure how many days you could spend on it before you get cabin fever ;-(

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portisco
1.0 mi away
Costa Ruja Residence
Costa Ruja Residence
#2 of 2 in Portisco
163 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Palumbalza Porto Rotondo
Hotel Palumbalza Porto Rotondo
#3 of 7 in Porto Rotondo
233 reviews
1.3 mi away
Colonna Hotel Du Golf
Colonna Hotel Du Golf
#1 of 1 in Cugnana Verde
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#4 of 7 in Porto Rotondo
135 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Abi d'Oru
Hotel Abi d'Oru
#1 of 7 in Porto Rotondo
361 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Castello
Hotel Castello
#6 of 14 in Golfo Aranci
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sirene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sirene Hotel

Address: Costa Smeralda scenic road Km 0,100, 07026 Portisco, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Portisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portisco
Price Range: £61 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Sirene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Sirene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Sirene Olbia
Hotel Le Sirene
Le Sirene Hotel Sardinia/Portisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing