We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've never, ever experienced anything like this before--and hope I never will again.”
Review of Hotel de la Lande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de la Lande
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Le Brassus
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We booked six rooms at this hotel for the night before a dragonboat race (a rowing race organised to raise money for -- and awareness of--various cancer organisations). We had wanted to stay down the road at L'Horlogerie (where we stayed for the weekend of the race last year) but they were fully booked for a gastro-event. We decided to try this hotel and are sorry we did; we would have been better off camping! Why?

1. The rooms were less than basic; mine had not been decorated since the 70's and was dirty. My son's was better but absolutely TINY, even by European standards.
2. At check-in our rooms were not ready. Three hours later they were still not ready.
3. The "non-smoking" room was a smoking room that had been aired out. Ugh. I HATE that.

I could have easily dealt with the above issues had the following not happened. I'm still shaking my head thinking about it!

4. We had made a dinner reservation for 7 adults and 6 children (9 - 12 years) the day before our arrival. We came downstairs at 7 to a small but lively restaurant. We ordered drinks from a lovely waitress who spoke beautiful English. (We all speak French, some of us fluently, but she heard our accents and switched!) At around 7:30 our lovely waitress took our order. A couple of pizzas, 2 spaghetti carbonaras, a couple of steaks, etc. Some of us ordered salads for appetisers. An hour and-a-half later no sign of our food. We asked how much longer it would take (the children were starving, we had to get up early for our race the next morning and one of the adults had a long drive home that night). She went in search of an answer and came back to the table to report that the kitchen was very busy and it would be a while longer. We asked if we might just have our salads but she returned saying that they were not ready. At 10 pm, we asked again. We really had been patient but this was getting ridiculous! Our lovely waitress, who had maintained her composure and smile throughout this mess, brought us two bowls of bar peanuts and an apology. Sigh... A member of our party asked to speak to the manager. The man who came over at 10:30 (!!!) became very agitated and ended up blaming US for the delay. He said that we had made our reservation only the morning the day before -- what were we to expect? We were dumbfounded. At 11:00, 4 hours after we had sat down at our table, some of us were finally served. My dish came out as others in our party were nearing completion of their meals and was completely inedible. The chef had put so much salt in the spaghetti carbonara that one bite was enough to send me gasping for the water jug. The other spaghetti carbonara was the same. We had to send it back. The waitress asked if we'd like it to be replaced but it was now closing in on 11:30! In addition, the steaks arrived with four tater tots instead of pomme frites as advertised and the one fish dish was deemed inedible after a few bites. The lovely waitress (we learned it was her first day at the restaurant!!) offered us deserts on the house. The creme brulle arrived and we heard a gasp from the child who ordered it--it was nothing but oil with curds in it!!! I think it was then we all began laughing at how absurd the night had become.

We tried to settle the bill to no avail that evening. We were exhausted, the kids were falling asleep standing up and the manager would not arrive until the next day so we decided to head up to bed.

The clock on the church next door, quaint as the bells must sound most days, made everyone in my room want to commit murder. They chimed every 15 minutes!

At checkout our saga coninued. The man in our party who had the fish the night before, was violently throwing up and was unable to leave the room, much less race! Was it food poisoning? Hmmm...

And then there was the bill. Any other establishment would have immediately given us the meal for free and asked us, perhaps, to pay for the drinks. Not these guys. After a long discussion, in French, they finally offered to absorb the cost of the two meals sent back, the kids' drinks and the deserts. Wow. And in negotiating this, we missed our first race.

I'm still in shock. We will never, ever stay or dine there again. How sad for them; they have lost customers who will be returning each year for the same race, potentially filling up their hotel and restaurant that weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kcbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directionlande, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel de la Lande, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2011

Dear sir,

We have read your recent guest comment and are really impressed by every word you have kindly used.

Indeed, our guest rooms have mainly been renovated in late 2009, and every guest room will be achieved at the first quarter 2012. Most of them are equipped with 26' flat screen with more than 130 channels incl CNN & BBC, with forest of village view. Our beds and matresses are also brand new. We also offer wireless internet access in every guest room.

Of course, the chapel is situated in front of the hotel, like in a lot of village here in Europe, and Sunday is more a religious day than other week days. We really apologize if the church's bell has disturbing you. Unfortunately, as we are equipped with brand new soundproofed windows, I am afraid we will not be able to change the situation.

Our other current guest rooms are "mountain rooms", wood decoration, red, blue or green carpet with typical swiss atmosphere, no contemporary style at all but more preferably cosy, warm and Swiss trend oriented. We can of course understand and respect your feeling against those rooms decorations, however we must remind that all our rooms are cleaned every day under Swiss hygienic standards and we always do our best to provide our guest some very clean rooms of course, even if it may takes some more waiting time, sorry for that.

By the way, you came during a very high demanded season, as you have indicated previously, and our hotel was indeed fully booked for that concerned night. Prior restaurant reservation is always highly recommanded when checking-in, in order to be served in time, and when reading your email I have immediately reminded our front office team to clearly inform our guest about that, as we exclusively served fresh, home made and local specialties in our restaurant.

I deeply regret the time you seems to have waited in our restaurant, and on behalf of the whole team we really apologize for that, this is the first time we faced such a comment and we are
terribly sorry, even if i do not have every exact feed back details from bith sides at this time of replying.

Our chef has been awarded and is well known here in our Swiss valley, and even if he has been over charged during that night, he would have never served you unquality dishes or uncooked plates. He is pro-active and very professional, and we again apologize if you do not have appreciated your stay with us. Effectively, it has been very difficult to serve you, as we are able to quickly take an order when every guest has arrived at the same table, and it is more difficult for us to handle an order in case people come one after the other on the same table.

Lastly, please kindly note that we are more than sensitive to your comments, thank you for it, and will do our best to improve our level of services. However, as I personnaly travel in US every year, I must remind you that European and US standards are totally not comparable in every hotel and F&B domains and even star categories, like in every other countries in our world.

Despite your feed back, we hopefully wish that you have appreciated our Swiss country during your stay in Europe.

With our best regards,

Frank Boizot
Director of sales & PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jonoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gherardino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOBIEJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Évitez les chambres les moins chères, si vous ne voulez pas vous marchez dessus !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jérôme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nikov O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: les chambres les moins chères sont très petites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Brassus
3.9 mi away
Hotel Club Le Risoux
Hotel Club Le Risoux
#1 of 1 in Bois d'Amont
155 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Le Rocheray
Hotel Bellevue Le Rocheray
#1 of 2 in Le Sentier
118 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel de la Truite
Hotel de la Truite
#1 of 1 in Le Pont
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Lande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Lande

Address: Place de la Lande | Vallée de Joux, Le Brassus 1348, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Le Brassus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Le Brassus
Price Range: £79 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de la Lande 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Brassus cosy village is situated 35 miles away from Geneva or Lausanne, in the Jura Mountains, at 3500ft altitude.Well known for its prestigious watch industry, the Joux Valley is ideal for leisure activities during summer and winter.From hiking to ski, whatever the season, you will undoubtebly appreciate the peaceful atmosphere and the green sightseeing.Of you like luxury watch, you will be satisfied ! Audemars Piguet, Jaeger le Coultre, Bréguet, Blancpain, and plenty other brands are manufacturing their watches in this small and so cute region.This nicely furnished property offers 28 guest rooms, studios and junior suite, a typical Swiss restaurant, a bar and two seminar rooms.Guestrooms provide 26 or 32' LED tv screens with international channels, individual safe, private desk, direct Line phone, bathroom with bathtube/shower with wc, wireless internet access,...Come and discover our cheese specialties, Vacherin mont d'or or cheese fondue, our grilled meats, our giant salad, ...The Hôtel de la Lande is the only property open 365 days a year, its restaurant is open non stop from Tuesday to Saturday evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Lande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Lande Switzerland/Le Brassus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing