We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but way overpriced restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge de la Source
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but way overpriced restaurant”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We had booked this hotel as a last stop-off before home as it had a restaurant, nice garden and a pool. Unfortunately, the weather turned and we found ourselves a bit stuck in the middle of nowhere with not a lot to do. No one can help that. We booked in the restaurant the first night and were very disappointed. Now, I am the first to happily spend a small fortune on good food, but their menus were way too expensive for the food received. The choice was poor and the outcome even worse! Just slapdash and poor quality (and some of it cold) and maybe this is why none of the food is shown on the website. How can one slice of fois gras cost 20 odd euros and a pizza base with some ham and mozzarella thrown on it 17 euros? An ok wine list, but 11 euros for a glass of champagne when we just bought six bottles for 13 euros each! I know we are close to Paris, but come on! The waiter broke the cork when opening the wine and and there were no dessert wines or anything remotely nice to go with dessert. All a bit of a shame really, as the restaurant is beautiful and the hotel is lovely. Needless to say we didn't pay 13.50 euros each for the breakfast. Also, a slight niggle that we were at the front of the hotel with very see-through curtains and each time a car drove past, we got the headlights in our eyes! The staff were very friendly and very helpful though it must be said.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    39
    16
    6
    11
See reviews for
33
103
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Chose this hotel on basis of previous reviews, description and photos. We had a 'de-luxe' suite however this could best be described as a pleasant room with average views (noise from kitchens below and roads to front, side and rear). The room was nothing like the size and quality, layout or furnishings of the one in the photo however when we queried this we were advised all the de-luxe rooms were of the same standard. The toilet was broken (continually noisily flushing) and although we reported this the problem persisted throughout our stay. Outside the garden furniture etc is very tatty (not shabby chic just worn out) and the pool looked like a concrete water reservoir without tiling although the water was clean. The surrounding gardens were overgrown, full of weeds and generally neglected. The restaurant. Average quality food at best at ridiculously inflated prices. The wine list too was uninspiring and over priced. Finally the key fob, a 6" solid wood figurine of a black slave in shackles seemed rather odd and left us lost for words. And finally finally to add insult to injury our bill of over €400 (two nights, no breakfasts and one night's dinner for two)charged us for two breakfasts we didn't have and double charged for one of the fixed price dinners. We would have been 60€ out of pocket had we not noticed!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stopped at this lovely auberge on our way back to the uk from Provence .We loved it . It is in a charming village . Our rooms were lovely , clean and spacious . Delicious dinner and breakfast . Staff all delightful . Laurent the owner was charming and helpful. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Maison le Rond des Fees; is about 1/2 mile from the hotel, a pleasant walk. The house is a bit tired but ok. The hotel is also a bit tired but with some nice touches - pool area is inviting and a good place to sit in the sun. The house had a great garden too and a kitchen and dining room lounge, shared with the other two rooms. This is a real bonus. Good modern bathroom. So its almost great but not quite there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howiemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

This was one of the most enjoyable places I have ever stayed! It was exactly what I wanted when I wanted it! Nothing seemed too much trouble for the proprieter, wife and any of the staff. I have no criticisms and cannot understand how anyone could unless you haven't prepared well and have an unrealistic expectation. In summary, staff excellent and very friendly; rooms comfortable with individual and interesting decor.. Check the menu online and decide! We found it extremely good! I thoroughly recommend!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in May and very much enjoyed ourselves. The Auberge is just an hour outside Paris and makes a good base for exploring Brie. It is also close enough to Champagne for visiting that region too. Laurent, the owner, is happy to help plan day trips. The staff were helpful and very accommodating towards us and our young baby (heating baby food and arranging cot, etc). As it was raining we didn't get chance to enjoy the outside terrace or pool, which was a shame, but we did enjoy a good meal and wine in the restaurant. Breakfasts are served in the same dining room and are very nice, although it would be better in our view if the room rate included breakfast. Our room was in the main building and was nice and spacious. There were a couple of small issues with it - the shower leaked onto the bathroom floor and the curtains were so thin that we were wide awake at 6am. We mentioned the shower to Laurent so hopefully that'll be fixed for future guests. As regards the curtains, some people like the light to come in so we leave it to Laurent to see whether it is worth changing! Overall, a nice find for a relaxing trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin and Kitty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is a very elegant and sophisticated auberge. Our bedroom was beautifully decorated, elegant and very French. We loved the beautiful architecture of this wonderful hotel, in a very quiet village. Dining outside was a real pleasure, the food was excellent as was the breakfast. The owners, were both professional and welcoming, a rare quality. The outdoor pool is beautiful- there is an honesty bar so you can have a cold drink if you need one. We spent two nights at the auberge and loved it. It was good value for an excellent hotel.
I would highly recommend it, not just to visit the champagne caves, but also - dare I say to visit Disneyworld!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eat0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Ouen-sur-Morin
23.9 mi away
Aux Vieux Remparts
Aux Vieux Remparts
#1 of 5 in Provins
745 reviews
24.1 mi away
Le Manoir De Gressy
Le Manoir De Gressy
#1 of 1 in Gressy
326 reviews
24.1 mi away
Le Cesar Hotel
Le Cesar Hotel
#2 of 5 in Provins
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel du sauvage
Hotel du sauvage
#1 of 1 in La Ferte-Gaucher
68 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chateau des Bondons
Chateau des Bondons
#1 of 2 in La Ferte-sous-Jouarre
63 reviews
14.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Ile De France
Best Western Hotel Ile De France
#1 of 3 in Chateau-Thierry
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Source? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Source

Property: Auberge de la Source
Address: 8 Place Saint Barthelemy, 77750 Saint-Ouen-sur-Morin, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Saint-Ouen-sur-Morin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Ouen-sur-Morin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de la Source 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique hotel l' Auberge de la Source*** is an attractive guest-house made of millstone and covered in Virginia creeper located at the gate of the first Champagne vineyards, only 70 kms away from PARIS or REIMS, 30 minutes by car from Disneyland Paris. This 250-years old inn was in the fifties the favourite haunt of the Montmartre painters, and of the famous French writer Pierre Mac Orlan. L'Auberge de la Source*** welcomes you to enjoy its romantic and elegant rooms, its heated swimming pool in the garden, and its many services available. With the same sense of wonder, you will be delighted to discover the luxurious and comfortable junior suites of the two guest houses Le Rond des Fees and Les Vieux Clos, located in a lovely property 700 meters far from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge de la Source reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing