We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel was good but needs few improvements.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hotel was good but needs few improvements.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed there in June 11 on our honeymoon.
Overall it is a beautiful complex but the room is quite small, not many surfaces to put your things on, room is very clean though.
We didn't have the best start when we arrived but things did get better by a day.
We were suppose to have our honeymoon cake and shampange on arrival which were not there when we arrived. When I asked reception are we still getting them them they said we get them later in the evening.. we got the cake at 7pm and champagne was suppose to arrive 2 minutes later when I asked them but it arrived 10pm when we fell asleep waiting for it as we were jetlagged as well..
Didn't like that you can't close the shutters fully in the bathroom so it gets very hot in the bathroom and no air in there, also mosquitos and bugs got in through the bathroom. The biggest shock was when we found a MILLIPEDE in the bathroom, which must have got in through the shutters in the bathroom!!
Also our door lock didn't work very well and we struggled to lock the door.
We had a beautiful view from the balcony to the sea which was good.
Pool is amazing and view spectacular and I guess this is one of their main selling points. Beach itself is not very good though, have to walk 20 minutes in the sea before it gets deep enough to swim.

Looking around in Samui I think it might be one of the best hotels you find there but it definitely needs imrpovements and doesn't stand up with the Thai hotel standards in other Thay cities!

Would reccommend if you want a beautiful view and good swimming pool.

Room Tip: Room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diantssdada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear diantssdada,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback with us.

We understand your disappointment when the amenities haven’t been delivered on time and we sincerely would like to apologize for that. We hope that even though it arrived late you still enjoyed it. We reviewed internal communication in order to improve our processes and avoid similar situation from happening.

Unfortunately in the tropics and with that many garden areas as we are having in our resort we can’t fully avoid an occasional encounter with insects. You can rest assured that we are doing our outmost to limit the possibilities.

We appreciate very much all the positive feedback you shared with us as well and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be working on the improvements.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    479
    132
    62
    49
See reviews for
322
1,026
48
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

The anantara has lovely staff and good service. The mosquitoes are prevalent as there are so many ponds of water around the resort. The accomodation is a little run down and needs some maintenance. The beach is gritty not sandy like Chewang around the corner. The beaches are generally muddy in the water in Koh Samui. Not like Australian Beaches with their white sand. The buffet breakfast is very good and the pool has a beautiful outlook to rocky islands in the distance. We stayed in a pool villa which was great to have your own pool when you have an infant to accomodate. The day spa is wonderful and the staff know their trade well. Not like the massage you get on the side of the street in Samui

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyShane33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear AmyShane33,

Thank you very much for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback.

Please accept my apology if your room was in need of maintenance. All our rooms are part of a regular maintenance schedule and it might have been that your room was supposed to be worked on very soon.

We appreciate as well that you were able to appreciate the service and skill level of our Spa team and experienced it as great value for money.

We would be glad being able to welcoming you back to our resort.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Stayed in the Deluxe Plunge Pool room for 3 nights....everything about our stay was perfect. The room, the pool, the outdoor shower, the breakfast (so many fruits and juices!), the reception and staff.....great hotel. We rented a bike and that was a great way to explore Samui. Chaweng market was 5 mins away on bike, and it was full of activity in the evenings. We strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShipraBansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear ShipraBansal,

thank you for the positve feedback and recommendation.

We hope to see you back soon in any of our Anantara resorts.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

Wow just got back from an amazing five days spent here. It really is a beautiful hotel. We stayed in a plunge pool villa, the room was decorated to a high standard with lots of little touches to make it very special. The pool is very private with no other rooms overlooking.

It is possible to take a shared taxi into town for around 50baht per person and takes around ten minutes. It is also possible to walk via the beach which we did on several occasions, takes about half an hour to the centre of Chaweng but it's a nice walk and there are lots of beach front restaurants and bars to tempt you along the way.

Breakfast at the hotel was fabulous, great choice of freshly made smoothies, hot and cold food to high standard and choice of coffee worthy of Starbucks.

We didn't check out the spa but I regularly used the gym which was more than adequate.

Really can't recommend this place enough, relaxed, peaceful with charming staff to look after you.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear clairel21,

thank you very much for the wonderful and encouraging feedback.

Even though you mentioned quite a couple of details, what caught my attention was the fact that you complimented the quality of our coffee. We have just recently added a new member to our team who worked for several years in well known coffee shops. The intention was to produce a very high quality coffee at breakfast and it obviously worked out.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Location:
The hotel is located not in the center of Samui however it is only a few minutes drive away from the center. There are millions of taxi-like transportation which will bring you to the center for about 30 baht pp. The hotel is also quite close to the airport but we didnt know this and have arranged a taxi pick up from the hotel anyways. On the way back, the taxi ride was for free...a nice gesture from the hotel.

Food:
The price includes an open buffet breakfast. The breakfast was very nice. You can find European and Asian breakfast. From Asian soups to European pastry and cheese, it was a decent buffet. It is good to have not only Asian stuff.

Else than that, we had lunch at the hotel a couple of times: good food, limited choice on the menu! However, very expensive compared to the very nice restaurants that are 1-2 minutes walking distance to the hotel and which offer delicious food for half (or less) the price. We never dined at the hotel, because we found this superb restaurant called Among (highly recommended) and dined there most of the time!

Staff:

Staff are polite and friendly. They speak a basic English however sometimes it is not enough. There were a few times we encountered misunderstandings however minor issue.

Spa:
Expensive but must try at least once! Beautifully decorated massage center.

Pool & Bar:
Drinks are great! Infinity pool is nice. Nothing special though.

Room:

We stayed in one of those pricey pool villas. The only thing I can say is that it is very beaitiful and comfortable in the room. Maybe the one point for improvement could be the ever attacking mosquitos: I have been bitten so many times and after half a year I still have the mark of the bite! So for people who are not Asian, this kind of protection could be crucial! I dont even mention about the neatness of the villa!

Anyway, the room was so beautiful and comfortable as well as the hotel, we prolonged our 3 days of reservation after arrival at the hotel. It is by far the most expensive hotel that I've stayed at but it is worth the experience!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CERROMERRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Dear Cerromerro,

some very nice and detailed feedback which we highly appreciate. It is very encouraging to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and had the feeling that it was well invested money.

We've seen that your actual stay is already quite a while ago and I'm happy to inform you that since then we have changed our entire lunch menu and have received very positive feedback about it since.

Since last week we upgraded our mosquito treatment further and the amount of mosquitos reduced significantly.

Thanks again for providing us with your feedback and we are looking forward welcoming you back in the hopefully near future.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

This resort is just amazing!!!

I had a two day stay over here and everything was just perfect.

The rooms are nice and designed perfectly to chill and relax. The staff is very warm and courteous. The food also was very nice indeed.

Breakfast is well setup along the beach to make a perfect start to your day. A must go place!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarun1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Dear Tarun1982,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to learn that you had a perfect stay.

We are looking forward welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Positives:
Very good value considering the size of the room and the large plunge pool. Great jumping into your own private pool after a day or night out!
Outside toilet and shower was a nice quirk!
Location was very good as it was slightly away from the busy part of chaweng but still only a few minutes away by songkraew or taxi.
Breakfast was amazing. So much to choose from and loved the soup station with the noodle soups.
Negatives:
Don't get the hotel to book you a cab. I only made this mistake once. They negotiate the price for you which means you pay alot more. Eg. Hotel negotiated 700baht to get to lamai, while i was able to negotiate myself 300baht to get back.
There were marks on our sheets which should be checked a bit closer.
Got eaten alive by Mosquitos at the skyhug restaurant.

Overall, great place that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2011
Dear DrDavidAshford,

we appreciate the time you have taken to share your holiday experiences at Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa. We are glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay.

Unfortunately we have to agree that the pricing of the taxis in Koh Samui are not very reliable and are fluctuation strongly by time of the day, destination etc. Due to the popularity of Chaweng it will be always cheaper getting a taxi coming this direction than to find one at the same pricing leaving Chaweng. Just because it is much easier for them to pick up a new passenger in Chaweng than it will be in Lamai for example. Nevertheless, I can assure you that our team will do their outmost to ensure that the best possible fair will be charged.

I am also glad to inform you that we have intensified our mosquito treatment in all areas as of last week and are able to see a significant improvement compared to usual mosquito seasons.

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
2.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.7 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
2.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort

Property: Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelbag, Destinology, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing