We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super Friendly”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We spent a really special 5 days here and would like to extend our thanks to all at Anantara Lawana. The service was super friendly and the attention from the management team made us feel like we had our very own personal butler! Nothing was too much trouble.
We rarely return to the same place twice but we are more than likely to return here as so many boxes were ticked. It's always nice to have your expectations exceeded. For a long weekend away it was the perfect location - we could walk into Chaweng if we fancied or hang out on the private beach and just a 10 minute drive from the airport but no sound of aircraft...spooky.
Keep up the good work and we'll be jetting over from Hong Kong again very soon!

Room Tip: If you select a pool villa and expect to spend your afternoons there be mindful of which direction i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotteeatsout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Charlotteeatsout,

Thank you for staying with us and your positive feedback. We enjoy hearing when we have exceeded expectations and will certainly work hard to ensure once you return your expectations are exceeded once again.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,064
    478
    132
    62
    49
See reviews for
321
1,024
48
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

With some trepidation we agreed on a luxury holiday to Anantara Resort & Spa in Koh Samui. Trepidation because we were talking our very noisy 3 year old and the resort looked very peaceful and romantic.
My concerns were diminished as soon as we stepped inside the beautiful resort. The staff were amazing with our daughter and made us feel at ease immediately. Apparently August is quite a child friendly time to go.
The accommodation was wonderful, private pool with outside bath and shower, all spotless.
Service in all areas fantastic - from the room service, pool bar to the tree top restaurant. All staff welcoming, extremely friendly, genuine and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
The beach was peaceful and clean with perfect shallows and rook pools for an inquisitive toddler.
We even managed a couple of nights out with the help of a baby sitter provided by the resort- heaven to enjoy Mummy and Daddy time with some cocktails!!!
Well done Anantara you hit the mark in all areas and thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with private pool- absolutely brilliant for our daughter to roll out of bed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charliesangeltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear charliesangeltoo,

We appreciate that you have taken the risk and have overcome your concerns regarding traveling to our beautiful resort with your little daughter. As you have seen, the resort’s layout is enabling you to enjoy a vacation even with a busy youngster without being concerned about disturbing other guests.

I’m glad to read that my team looked well after your daughter (and your certainly) so you could enjoy a relaxing and wonderful vacation with us.

Please don’t hesitate to return at any time…

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The hotel is lovely, the rooms were good andthe breakfast elaborate. We had the pool villas which were far away from the beach but close to the reception. It was convenient since their gollf carts are available only till 11pm

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singhania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear singhania,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback… actually our buggys are available 24/7 for your convenience…

We would be delighted welcoming you back soon to our resort.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We loved every minute of our stay at the Anantara Lawana (five nights in August). We flew all night to reach Koh Samui mid-morning and although we were nearly passing out with exhaustion, the staff at check-in revived our spirits with a refreshing drink of pineapple juice and ginger, served in the air-conditioned library, and brought all check-in materials to us instead of making us sit and sweat it out in the open-air lobby. Unused to the humidity of the island, this was very welcome, as was the news that they had arranged a temporary room for us until our rooms could be made ready. The care and service that followed over the next five days has to be experienced to be believed. There wasn't anything they wouldn't do for us - food cooked to our likes and dislikes, tours arranged for our group, even umbrellas provided in our room for the unpredictable rainshowers! The Thai cooking class (a must-do, thanks to Chef Matt and Chef Bert for their expert guidance) was an incredible amount of fun and culminated in a feast at the Ocean Kiss restaurant. The spa was first-rate. Tranquility, pampering, and utter relaxation all to be found within the walls of the Anantara Lawana - I'd go back there in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The villas with shared pool are an amazing bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Bina S,

We appreciate that you have taken time to share your positive feedback with us and other TripAdvisor users.

My team and I are glad to hear that we made your stay so enjoyable and that you consider returning to our beautiful property. We are looking forward to that day…

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Sawasdee ka/krub!

I would like to thank you on behalf of my wife and my self for … everything.
For your country, for your island, for your hotel (what a nice hotel), for your hospitality, warm welcomes, smiling faces, constant assistance, for the nice room (with the sea view!), for small flower surprises, for the soaps (we stole some – not towels, just soaps), for the breakfasts (great ice lattes), for Tree Tops, for cool afternoons, for happy hours (vanilla sky is our favorite), nice music (those guys play great music), the beach, the trees, even the rain.
Atmosphere, elegance, grace, kindness, beauty…
Everything was there.

I hope to see you in our 5th or 10th year anniversary.
Thanks to you all for making our honeymoon unforgettable.

With Love,
Selin & Emir Kefelioglu

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view by email and they will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emirkefeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Dear Selin & Emir,

It is in fact us who have to Thank both of you not only for staying with us, but as well being such wonderful guests and sharing your praise here on TripAdvisor. We are aware how important it is to ensure we provide our guests with a unique experience, especially on their honeymoon. It is great to hear that we succeeded being part of a wonderful honeymoon memory.

Don’t worry about the soap we are happy to hear that you liked it that much. Should you need replacement feel free getting in touch with us… or just return again. You won’t have to wait until your 5th Anniversary.

As I mentioned during our conversation while we met in the resort, it was a pleasure being able to assist you already before your arrival and we would be delighted welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Spending part of my holiday at Anantara was a great experience, everytime passing through the resort feeling like home, greetings from everywhere, and exceptionally treated by the stuff no matter when and where I've been chilling. Nice location, actually nearby one can find the greatest little town of the island, Chaweng, which has nice night life, always buzzling streets, nice massages, stores and everything you would need on your holiday. The hotels beach, however, was a little weird, by the night transformed, due to the ebb tide happenings. The pool was extremely nice, the beds were really convenient and comfortable. Foodwise, the breakfast was just amazing, a wide variety of fresh juices, fruits, cereals, freshly made omelettes, local and international dishes, accompanied with carefull stuff ready to satisfy any wish. On the other hand, the lunch was waaay overpriced at the OceanKiss restaurant, followed by evening offerings which were, again, convenient, and well priced. They tend to organise every night some themed event, bbqs on the beach, with buffet serve, you can give it a try if you dont want to spend your night in the town, as we did. Definitely would stay again at this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Orsolya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Orsolya,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and your most recent stay. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and on Samui.

The location to Chaweng is certainly a benefit and we are happy that you took advantage of it. Usually our prices are well calculated in order to provide the best possible value for money. Based on your comments we will review our lunch offerings once again and might better promote our daily specials.

We are looking forward welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa for 8 nights in July.

After a long and stressful flight we arrived at the Anantara and were greeted by Zita. She was really friendly and made us forget about all the long travel. We were asked to take a seat and were served two delicious welcome drinks.

We had booked a Deluxe room and inquired about a possible upgrade to a "plunge pool" villa. After showing us both rooms we decided that the Deluxe room would be just fine for us. Our room was 520 and we really loved it. Of course there are more luxurious rooms at this hotel, but this was absolutely sufficient for us. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable and the minibar was filled with pretty much anything you could possibly imagine. Of course there are a couple corners that could use a little touching up, but after all this is Thailand. So no big deal.

There is no free in-room wi-fi which didn't really bother us since the purpose of our visit was to relax and not to be bothered by emails, facebook, etc. :-)

We tried both restaurants and both of them were absolutely amazing. We tried the OceanKiss on our first night and were served some delicious thai curry & pad thai. Service was great and the cocktails made life so much more enjoyable.

We also got to try the tree tops restaurant and probably had our best dinner on the island with an amazing view from our table. They have a "wine & salt guru" who will recommend the perfect wine and salt to go along with your food. I actually got to learn a couple words of Thai from our waitress. :-)

Breakfast was amazing and they had everything you could possibly ask for. Service at the pool was outstanding as well. They bring you fresh iced towels & freshly made sorbet to cool off on a hot summer day!

Being from the hotel industry ourselves we appreciated the good work and passion put in by the entire staff. Especially Zita, Sunny, Pla & our waitress at the tree tops (unfortunately I forgot her name). We know how hard it is to maintain this level of service day in and day out. Also the security guys at the entrance & the beach are so unbelievably friendly & make you feel very welcome.Two thumbs up for that!

The entire complex is very well taken care of, you see gardeners taking care of all the plants every day.

When we return to Koh Samui, the Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa will surely be our first choice.

Btw Lars, if you need more qualified staff, just give us a call. :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear BrianW,

Congratulations on finding your personal paradise on earth… and a special thanks that we are it!

Hearing from other Hoteliers that they enjoyed what we are doing is certainly a reward we are happy to take and the entire team, including the ones you mentioned specifically, will be highly motivated to build on this.

Thank you once again for staying with us and sharing your feedback. Next time you stay with us we can do a casual interview and see if you would fit into the team of angels at your paradise on earth. ;-)

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,273 reviews
2.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
818 reviews
1.7 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,291 reviews
2.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort

Property: Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Agoda, Travelbag, Destinology, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing