We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. Service is outstanding. The place is beautiful. The breakfast is delicious and dishes are different every day. The beach is not the nicest, but is very quiet. No jet ski will disturb your rest.

Rooms are a little bit old fashion. Not enough room to place your clothes. The refrigerator and the a/c ventilation are very noisy.

Location is good: not too far from Chaweng but far enough from nightlife. I recommend this place for people looking for a quiet journey but not far away from civilization like Conrad hotel for example.

Laundry and motorbike rental are located just across the road.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank poupou62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear poupou62,

We appreciate that you have taken the time sharing your positive feedback here on TripAdvisor.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon.


With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,001 - 1,007 of 1,934 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

Generally, this hotel is very beautiful and service is good. However for me, to be stuck four days in a room with persistent internet access problems in 2013 is like being without hot water. Although the staff made efforts to resolve the problem, it is very clear this hotel is unable to offer adequate internet coverage. Which for these prices is unacceptable. We observed several other guests complaining to reception about the same thing. Such a pain when we were trying book tours, organise the rest of our trip and stay in touch with home.

After 4 days we had the option to stay longer at Anantara so I had contacted reservations to see if they would be willing to offer a discount if we stayed longer due to our complaints about the wifi. Rather than responding with a discount, They came back with a price 1000 bht higher per night than we were already paying.

No acknowledgement or apology was offered regarding the frustrations we had expressed to them by email during our stay.

So we change hotels today to "Brisa", just up the road. Also very beautiful with stunning private pool room, sea view, giant living area and 30% cheaper than what we were paying at Anantara. The internet there is slow, but at least it connects!

Anyone considering Anatara should look at Brisa as an alternative.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Rob G,

First of all my sincere apology for the challenges you have been facing in regards of the internet and the lack of adequate response you received from our side when requested for a discounted extension based on that. I am glad to hear that you experienced our resort as being beautiful and the service levels of being good, which disappoints us certainly even further that such incident leads you leaving with such a negative overall impression.

I have reviewed the issues you raised and would have loved discussing them in person with you, but unfortunately you haven’t been able to take my call at the Briza resort nor have you been willing to accept my invitation for a complimentary dinner so I will take the opportunity explaining you the circumstances here.

Apparently the major issue was the lack of internet connection you couldn’t establish over a period of time. You have stayed during a period in which we experienced strong winds and some heavy rains. The entire resort is covered with WiFi antennas that are installed outside the buildings in order to ensure a better coverage. Due to the heavy weather conditions a couple of those got damaged and therefore signal strengths dropped in some areas. As you mentioned, my team of Engineers in cooperation with the IT Manager worked hard in order to get the system back to normal as quick as possible, but during the process guest experienced some inconveniences for which we would like to apologize again. Nevertheless, I am glad to hear that the connection was good enough that you could send our reservation an email from your room. Alternatively we would have had as well internet coverage in all public areas of the resort, which wasn’t impacted.

That our Reservation team hasn’t addressed your request for discount or explained you properly the reason for the change in rate is certainly something we have discussed internally and will ensure that this will be improved in the future. Once again, clearly our fault and we apologize for this as well.

As mentioned, I am sorry that you haven’t given us a second chance to recover from this, but we are glad that you have found another resort that meets your expectations in terms of internet connection.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

What A fantastic Hotel
Stayed here in November during the full moon festival.
Very nicely done up and thoughtfully made.
The hotel is well located at the tip of Chaweng Beach , at the end or beginning of it depends how you look at it.
Within 500 mts the hustle bustle starts and you are in the action.
The hotel itself is great, good attentive and warm staff, the breakfast layout is great spread out and overlooking the sea and the pool.One can just sit and eat mesmerized by the sea.
The room are great and comfortable - clean -we had a room with a plunge pool and it was nice,
these room have a open bathroom and a open bathing area with a few bamboos on the side , great concept.
The changing room / toilet open directly on the plunge pool and the whole concept is just great.
The rooms have all the amenities one would look forward to.
What I really liked was the roast coffee places in the room and the coffee plunger.
Hmmm. the aroma of fresh coffee in the morning.
Definitely a must stay and I would be back.

Room Tip: Go for the plunge or the shared pool access rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sameer452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear sameer452,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your positive comments here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate that you have taken the time to do so.

As a coffee lover myself I can only appreciate as well the benefit of a nice coffee in the morning and I’m happy to hear that such a small thing made an overall good stay even better for you.

Please feel free getting in touch with me directly should you plan coming back to Samui.


With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We spent 10 nights at the Anantara in Koh Samui last week. We had a wonderful stay and felt truly relaxed and refreshed by the end.

The property is lovely and the village style set up is charming. We loved the pool, breakfast area and the rooms were very nice. The outstanding part of the stay was the fantastic service we received. We had our 15 month old daughter with us and were a bit concerned the resort might have been more of a honeymoon destination. It certainly looked the part! That said the staff couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome. Our daughter was truly made a fuss of wherever we went in the resort, the wait staff at Oceankiss and the pool bar often entertained her so we could eat our meals.

I used the fitness room everyday which was a lovely place to work out (needed after the daily indulgent breakfasts!). It was always clean and kept nicely cool.

The spa is worth the splurge for a pamper treatment. Of course there are cheaper places for massages on the beach but the experience you get at the spa is a fabulous treat.

We had dinner at Oceankiss, and I have to mention the mussaman curry. Hands down the best we have ever had! Absolutely delicious.

The only suggestion for improvement I would make is to provide more storage in the rooms. We packed very light but it was still tricky finding enough room to store or things away which was necessary for a 10 day stay.

Overall a wonderful place to enjoy beautiful Samui. We hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M1m1m00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear M1m1m00,

Thank you for your very complimenting review. It is great to hear that my team was able to make you feel special and welcome and that your child was always taken care of well. Something I have to say I hear on regular basis that the danger of children being spoilt in our resort is pretty high…

I agree that storage space can be limited especially when staying longer and with a child. We would have had alternatives available, so next time don’t hesitate to mention it to us.

We hope being able to welcome you back soon.


With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed three blissful nights in a plunge pool room. I've been to resorts in DR, Florida, Malaysia, and Mexico and this was with the best. The grounds are lush, and the rooms are unbelievable. I was expecting the outdoor plunge pool to be a small bath but its a huge private pool. The beds are cozy, and the bathrooms are open air which was a fun whimsical twist (but still very clean).

The beach was clean and swept nicely all day. Swimming in the ocean was lovely like bath water.

The infinity pool is a highlight. Sitting by the pool was almost like sitting on the beach. We were so happy with the resort and pooped from the rest of the trip we spent all three days at the beach or pool and never did much Samui exploring.

Best of all the service at this place is AMAZING!!!!! Everyone is so happy and polite and honesty seems thrilled to get you anything your heart could desire. Huey was extra friendly and remembered us each day with some new words or a story, while Khai the beach boy was hilarious and always served us with a smile and an always appropriate joke or funny noise. I'm not sure ill be able to go back to American grumpiness after this.

The food was very good. However I feel like a place like this could work just a little harder to make their food mind blowing. The breakfast buffet was amazing. We ate and drank everything, even ice and raw fish and never got sick from this resort. The only downside is drinks were expensive even by urban American standards. food was fairly priced but we eventually had to resort to having drinks in our room from the store right across the street. A highlight of or trip was a romantic beachside dinner at kiss by candlelight.

Overall I would 250% go back, I wish I was there now!

Tips: if you are older or have mobility issues request a room by the main pool. The place is pretty big and you can get put in a room with a lot of walking required.

Get the plunge pool room. It is totally worth it.

The Thai buffet dinner for $40 per person was very cool. I'd do it again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Lindsey L,

Thank you for your wonderful review. My team and I are delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic time and that we have made your Asian experience even better.

Feel free getting in touch with me should you wish to return.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I have a really good trip for our 15 anniversary this week at Anantara
lawana. The special fruit shake every day makes the breakfast different. Besides, we can't forget a very hard working staff called Molly. She invited many times for listening to her presentation of membership and we rejected that many times. Molly keeps very good attitude and we really feel her passion. This is the key reason we may consider this group of hotels in the coming trips.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alancsyeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Alanscyeung,

Congratulations once again to your 15th Wedding Anniversary. Glad that we could be part of this and that you enjoyed the stay with us.

We will certainly pass your compliments to Molly and appreciate your loyalty with Anantara Resorts & Spas.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The second you walk into Lawana It is like stepping into paradise. The waterfalls, lush exotic greens, birds, and personal villas make this hotel an amazing stay. The rooms were so nice, most comfortable bed we stayed in on the trip, beautiful balcony with an ocean view, large romantic tub, and we got a full bottle of champagne and full cake for our honeymoon!

Waking up to this beautiful scene was amazing. Even better was the breakfast that was waiting for us in the morning. There is every kind of cuisine and food you can ask for and it is delicious.

The private beach is so peaceful and has a beautiful view. It is a little upsetting that in the morning the hotel has to clean the garbage and debris off the beach. The beach is a lot dirtier then expected and so is the water.

The service is pretty good. They had some issues recommending restaurants for us, but we found some good one son our own. Overall they are friendly and have nice events to create community with the guests. If you're in Samui we definitely suggest staying at Anatara Lawana.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvanF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear EvanF4,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and that you have taken the time sharing your feedback with us and others.

Your appreciation of the little touches and personal service is highly motivating for us and will be shared amongst the team.

October is considered our rainy season and even though it usually doesn’t rain a lot, we can see the wind and waves getting stronger over the period which results in less crystal clear water and more sea weed and other things being washed upon the shores. But as you have seen, our Gardener team is checking this regularly and is removing debris usually quickly.

Thank you for recommending us and we hope being able to welcome you back as well.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
909 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
2.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £141 - £500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing