We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible…”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Horrible…”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent 5 days at the resort post new years at the resort. we were a group of friends and had 8 rooms. none of us had been to the hotel and purely went on their website info and photos and reviews on travel sites. we paid more than US$600- per night per room. Am sorry to say that the hotel was much below our expectations. its more like a 3 star guest house (thought they have a 5 star rating). the rooms, the service, house keeping, food and most importantly the attitude of the staff. not upto the mark at all… specially you don't expect such attitude in Thailand. Normally the hotel staff is most hospitable and courteous. The rooms were full of mosquitoes (no mosquito nets in rooms) . they would burn mosquito coils in rooms which would invariably give a bad throat. but no option. every room had a couple of lizards roaming around. the staff was of no help when complained. the towels/ sheets were torn. bathroom showers didn't have any pressure at all. any complaint about food didn't go down as well, the staff would just argue about how the chef thinks that was the right way. Our group was stuck with this hotel since it was a prepaid booking. out of desperation we even offered to pay penalty of one night charge and refund the rest, but no success. we requested to speak with the manager/ general manger a few times, but no response. No senior staff had the courtesy to meet or even speak over the phone. it was like being a hostage . we are definitely never making a non cancellable booking ever again and definitely never going to any anantara hotel. was our first and last time …

Room Tip: LOOK FOR OTHER OPTIONS… we had pool access rooms and deluxe rooms. both were horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AdiJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear AdiJain,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to address your concerns after we discovered it a mission impossible to make successful appointment with you at which everybody actually turns up.

I am surprised what you mentioned about the information you had prior your stay about our resort as you have been introduced to me as a “very close friend” of a previous guest that has stayed with us previously and had since then introduced several other friends and family members to me that have stayed with us and have been more than satisfied. In turn they introduced their friends and family members to me on regular occasions.

You have received a significant discount on your room rate as a result of this introduction and we accepted several changes and adjustments to your booking in order to fulfill your requirements.

As much as I agree that we are not perfect in any way, I have to say that my team is being complimented on regular basis for their helpfulness and hospitality. When being treated politely and with appropriate manners they will go out of their way and beyond expectations in order to make any guest happy.

Traveling into the tropics and especially to a resort with extensive gardens you will have to expect that you will encounter occasionally animals like mosquitoes and little geckos (which are actually eating the mosquito for you). A 100% mosquito and lizard free environment is unfortunately an expectation we cannot fulfill and will not justify a free upgrade or complimentary night. You would have faced the same situation in the higher room types actually as well, so it would have not solved your “problem”.

I am sorry to hear about your disappointment that we did not manage to meet, but I have to say that it certainly did not lack efforts from our end to make this happening.

I agree with your statement that a highly discounted prepaid booking with high restrictions over a high demanded period might not be the right choice for your travels and would recommend you investing a couple of extra dollars but secure flexibility.

Regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    479
    132
    62
    49
See reviews for
322
1,026
48
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the Anantara Lawana for Christmas 2013 for 10 nights, and were thrilled with our stay there.
Firstly, it has to be said that the staff, all of the staff, are absolutely amazing. They make you feel so welcome and are great with the children. Thank you for making us feel so welcome and looked after.
The hotel is a wonderful size and laid out so that you don't all feel like you are on top of each other and it feels very quiet and peaceful. Great location just minutes from Chaweng shopping area to go and stock up on bits and pieces. Across the road from a convenience store and a pharmacy - always useful.
We had one of the pool villas for our family of 2 adults and 2 children. We could partition them off at bed time and all enjoy our own space.
The rooms are getting a bit dated, and there wasn't nearly enough storage space for clothes in the rooms which is a shame. We also had a problem with sewage smells coming from the bathroom drains, but the hotel tried to deal with this immediately.
Room amenities were good too: plenty of bottled water for drinking and brushing teeth with, then even had toothbrushes and shaving kits, flip flops and combs.

The beach was small, but never felt overcrowded. The water rather murky and full of seaweed - but it was rather windy so I think it was the time of year. There are vendors on the beach - but they are never overbearing and there was a great lady we bought fresh cooked sweetcorn and beautifully cut mango and pineapple from. (lunch sorted at a bargain price).
The food in the hotel was good if a little limited as other than the Tree Tops exclusive restaurant - there was only 1 restaurant to eat at and after 10 days we were a bit bored of it. There were however some great 'event' nights that included bbq's on the beach with a wonderful Thai music and dance show, and a superb 'fire' show.
The hotel is a short drive from the airport (10minutes) and we feared we would hear airplanes all day long, but thankfully not at all.
For us the weather at this time of year was ideal. It wasn't overly hot, rather breezy on a few days, but sunny enough to get some colour.
Important to note: Don't forget Mosquito repellant - those beasts out there are brutal and we were bitten repeatedly even with the repellant, so heaven forbid had be not had it.

Would we go back: definitely!
Thank you Anantara.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suppli22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Suppli22,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your family vacation with us that much and appreciate the time you have taken to share this detailed review on TripAdvisor.

My apology for some of the minor challenges, but I am happy to hear that my team was able to sort them all out for you.

Once again a Happy New Year and we all at Anantara Lawana are looking forward welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Anantara Hotels experience is simply beyond expectations. There is no single other hotel chain that offers such warm hospitality and attention to details. From gardener to general manager, passing by bell boys, concierges, front desk, the hearth on the hand is truly more than words can tell. Again here at Anantara Lawana I was treated more than a simple guest. I will be looking forward experiencing Anantara again and again... Thank you :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Mat O,

Thank you very much for this review as well as for the one for our Tree Tops Restaurant. Both of them are very appreciated.

We are looking forward hopefully being able to welcome you back soon to any Anantara Resort.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerlen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stay at Anantara for 7 nights at the end of November and we were deeply disappointed by the state of the hotel, especially the room (we stayed in a plunge pool room). The curtains in the bathroom were filthy and full of mold and so were the wind covers from outside area (as you can see from the pictures). I am of course aware of the climate but this is no excuse, mold should be cleaned as is very unhealthy. The AC and fridge installation are old and noisy and woke up a few times from the noise in the night. The service was ok but not great by Asian or 5* standards. The property set up is nice or better said, was nice several years ago and now is in desperate need of maintenance. We did notice that public areas were better maintained than the room. I think is shameful for a chain as Anantara that takes pride in their hospitality to rent rooms in this state, it shouldn't even happen in a 1* star hotel so we were shocked and disappointed by it. The room we stayed in is 529 and gave front desk feedback when we checked out. I hope management will not find some lame excuse and actual do something about it so that other guests don't experience the same.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzypui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Suzypui,

I am sorry to hear that you haven’t been able to enjoy your stay with us and I certainly apologize for the incidents you faced. Your comments have been investigated and addressed wherever possible.

We pride ourselves in very high service standards as you can read in previous reviews and I am sorry to hear that we failed reaching those during your stay. A point that we will certainly address in upcoming trainings.

I agree that mold is something that should not be expected or accepted in your room. We have deep cleaned the blinds you mentioned immediately after we located your room, as a room 529 doesn’t exist in our property.

We have no interest in putting forward lame excuses but have a very high interest in reflecting and addressing statements of our guests, no matter if they are justified or not. Therefore I hope our action finds your satisfaction.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is really pleasant, the staff incredibly friendly, the pool and beach very relaxing.

The only mishap is with the Tree Tops restaurant: when you have such a raved about restaurant that has only 8 tables and your hotel is fully-booked, my humble opinion is that you should reserve it, at least with highest priority, to your in-house guests. And you may want to point to making a reservation for the restaurant at check-in. It would avoid situations where the restaurant is fully-booked during one'a entire stay, making said one feel she should have booked in 2012....

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Claudia E,

A very Happy New Year and thank you for your compliments on your resort experience with us.

I am sorry to hear that we haven’t been able to accommodate you in our Tree Tops Restaurant. The good news is that even during the high season we are usually able to find a table if booked 2-3 days in advance and your concern of having to book a year in advance are not necessary. If there are special requirements in terms of timing and table location we might have some challenges though.

We hope that you enjoyed our other restaurants and looking forward welcoming you back in the future. Please feel free getting in touch with me directly so I can assist you with the hotel and restaurant booking.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

my partner and I stayed here for ten nights and could not have loved the hotel more! it exceeded all expectations they have an amazing breakfast buffet with an abundance of choice. The staff are friendly and helpful. Although this is more than we would normally spend on a hotel it was worth every penny. The only downside i can think of is that we did not have an iron or ironing board in the room, we received one when we asked at reception but were called the following day to have it picked up i assume for another guest to use. The pool is beautiful overlooking the sea and although the resort was almost full there were always sun loungers available. Overall this is one of the best places i have ever stayed and would recommend to anyone, however i would say it is better suited for couples. Definitely try the tree tops restaurant - an unforgettable experience and incredible food

Room Tip: if looking to book the treetops restaurant, do this well in advance to ensure a higher level as it g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkcat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear pinkcat88,

Thank you for an amazing review, which is very appreciated.

As some guests commenting on limited storage space we have removed the irons and iron boards from the rooms and will clear them as soon as the guest doesn’t need them anymore.

Great to hear that you enjoyed Tree Tops as well and we are looking forward welcoming you back hopefully soon.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our family has just returned from a 10 day vacation at the Anantara and we all agreed it was amazing! The staff are wonderful and everyone is very friendly and helpful.
The only negative thing is that there is not much cupboard space if you have children but the rooms were large and it was the best hotel bed and pillow I have ever slept on.

Room Tip: We had a villa at the end of the complex which was nice and quiet but all of the villas were very pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear sonia D,

Merry Xmas and a Happy New Year once again! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed not only the resort but as well the Christmas activities we put up for our guests.

My team and I are looking forward shaking up those comfy pillows for you again.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
2.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.7 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
2.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort

Property: Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Ebookers, Travelbag, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Destinology, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing