We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Ocean Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Koh Samui
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Indian Ocean Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Excellent beach and warm ocean. Fantastic resort. Very good service, attentive staff. Rooms rival anything found in more developed countries. Food is good with great eating and drinking areas. Overall, the resort has adequate facilites including a gym.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Gerry R,

We appreciate your positive comments and your recent visit.

Hopefully we will able to welcome you again either at our resort or any of our other sister properties. Some of them on the Maldives are actually located in the Indian Ocean.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,068
    479
    132
    62
    49
See reviews for
322
1,027
48
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

The resort is very well designed. Its huge. The resort is maintained very well. The staff is friendly and polite. The service is very good. The rooms are aesthetically designed. I stayed in "Deluxe Plunge Pool room". Its perfect for couples . The plunge pool is very well maintained.
The beach is picturesque. The sight of emerald green waters is soothing. Its serene and calm and a great place for someone looking for a relaxation holiday. A great place for honeymooners too.
The concept of tree top restaurant is amazing. But i guess the hotel should be flexible in providing ala carte menu ( they have set menu only).

Room Tip: If you are staying with children then choose a room close to the beach area as the resort is huge an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KanakKabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear KanakKabra,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our resort and beach and had a wonderful beach holiday.

Tree Tops is actually offering a la carte dining on all nights except during special events like New Years Eve, Christmas or Valentine’s day when we have to ensure that with the high demand our kitchen is running on the usual high standards.

Hopefully we have the opportunity to welcome you back and pamper you with our a la carte menu at Tree Tops.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

This is truly a five star hotel, the service is exceptional, the staff are beautiful people and the food is amazing. We are vegans and we have had plenty to eat every day.

The rooms are nice, and we stayed in the plunge pool room which is awesome. The fitness room is also well stocked with drinks, towels, etc which is great

Would definitely come here again. We stayed for 7 days and each day was phenomenal.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MoonieJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear MoonieJen,

Thank you for a wonderful review and having chosen us for your stay on Samui. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed it and looking forward welcoming you back.


With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just finished a 5 night stay at the resort in a plunge pool room (room 513). We have travelled overseas a number of times and this is by far the best service we have ever received. All staff were absolutely amazing- friendly, happy and would do anything to help. Our room was clean, well furnished, maintained to a high standard, private and the plunge pool was a delight. The breakfast was always something we looked forward too with a huge variety of hot and cold, savory and sweet options in buffet style, with something for everyone. We ordered room service a few times with great quality food and quick service with a smile. During our stay we had a few visits to the day spa which we both loved as they were friendly attentive and professional. The reception staff helped us to book a number of activities around the island during our stay which was so helpful and easy for us. We both did a cooking class at the resort which we thoroughly enjoyed. Our chef ( chicken) took us to the markets and then lead us in cooking a 5 course meal which we got to indulge in and loved! On our last night we got the chance to take part in a cocktail party talking casually to the general manager and many staff. All who were so eager to hear feedback and lovely to talk to and have a joke with. Overall we can not fault one single thing with this resort and its staff, we will definitely be back in the future and recommend it too anyone visiting koh samui.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Natasha D,

An amazing review from start to finish… very little I can say rather than just a heartfelt Thank You for staying with us and sharing your comments.

Please get in touch with me directly should you wish to help me arranging your future stay.


With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon. The check in process was a little longer than we would have liked but the surroundings made up for it. We signed up for the full moon party excursion which worked out perfectly and was a great experience. The breakfast as this resort was amazing, such a wide variety and great quality. I really enjoyed the fresh juices. Our room had it's own pool and was nice, the sheets seemed a bit damp/musty though. We would have liked to stay longer at this resort and I would recommended for a nice relaxing vacation. There's a 7-11 right across the street which is great for snacks, drinks and data cards. Watch out for the large snails!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristenFCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear KristenFCanada,

We appreciate the time you have taken sharing your compliments here on TripAdvisor. My apology that the check in has taken slightly longer which potentially was caused due to a large number of guest inquiries at that time, but I am confident that my team has done their best to make you feel comfortable and relaxed during the waiting time.

Thank you as well for your advice on the large snails! I am sure that other travelers will appreciate being warned of those sneaky animals that are sometimes rushing over our walkways without looking left or right.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you or your friends from Toronto again to our resort.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

A gorgeous resort, stayed here for our anniversary post new years. Booked into a plunge pool villa. The resort is split into two, with a main road separating the two parts. We stayed on the beach front part which mainly houses the villas. The villa itself was good, a new plunge pool (3m x 3m) with direct access from the outdoor seating area and from the bathroom. The room itself is fairly tight for two people and a baby. The shower and WC are semi open (covered from view but not from the elements/bugs). Buggies are available through the resort to get you around if you need them.

For travelling with a baby it can get a bit difficult as the resort is somewhat uneven with a lot of stairs to get to and from the beach and the main restaurants and bar. Views are incredible from the restaurant, good beach - excellent service however the sand really isnt as smooth as you would expect. Clean private beach with a good number of loungers and lounge beds. Service available by just ringing your bell.

The resort is away from all the hustle of chewang beach, its a 5-7 minute drive to main parts of the beach road. The airport is a 5 minute drive in the opposite direction.After a hectic new year this was the perfect down time.

Staff were excellent, especially Pla how was constantly fussing over our little one, had dinner in tree tops which was excellent. The staff are a true asset to this hotel.

thanks for a memorable stay!

Room Tip: book the villas as they are closer to beach and main resort facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Rahul A,

Thank you very much for staying with us and posting your compliments here on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you felt looked after well and your family had a fantastic time with us.

The main road you are referring to separating our resort is actually a walkway within the resort… just to avoid misinterpretations by other guests.

We will pass your compliments to Khun Pla and the rest of the team and looking forward welcoming you back hopefully soon.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Really great choice to spend our time on Chaweng. We chose Anantara Lawana for our holiday because the references were very good. The resort is located in a very quiet area of Chaweng but it is closed to the center of Chaweng. We came to spend Christmas and New Year´s Eve in Thailand and our stay at Anantara Lawana made it a really memorable time! We stayed there 13 nights and we would like to thank the whole staff who were from the first day to the last very friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 305 with a plunge pool which was very nice and comfortable. The bathroom and the toilet were a great suprise because they were openair :) The staff at pool bar was very friendly. We had our sunbeds ready every morning.
We wold like to thank especially Kate from the Ocean Kiss restaurant who was always smiling as the rest of the staff.
It was a nice activity of the resort that they gave gifts to children of a local school where we as the guests were more than welcome to participate.
NYE celebration was very well prepared with great buffet, nice music and with a charming atmosphere. It was a perfect party!
We also recommend dinner at the Tree Tops restaurant. It was a great experience (especially the option to choose from eight different types of salt). Serving of coctails was unusual aswell. Go for the duck!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Lucia B,

A very Happy New Year again and thank you for staying with us over this special period of the year. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed not only our Festive arrangements but as well participated in our Charity Event for children of the local school. The feedback we received not only from our guests but especially from the children was overwhelming and we will most certainly repeat this on a regular basis.

Once again Thank You on behalf of the entire team (and Kate) and we are looking forward welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
2.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.7 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
2.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort

Property: Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Destinology, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing