We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Resort & Nice People”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Amazing Resort & Nice People”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and i stayed at Anantara for 3 nights and must say that the place is extremely beautiful with very friendly and engaging staff who were always a call away for any service. And service "with a smile", The rooms were well kept and the food was exemplary at Ocean Kiss restaurant.

However, there is always some scope of improvement. More offering on the Menu would make it more interesting to come again and try something new. Also in terms of rooms, some insects and lizards were trying to take a dip in the swimming pool with us. May something can be done on that front as well.

But overall I would rate this as an amazing experience and would surely come back for more when I am in Koh Samui next!! Cheers

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Ashwin M,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for leaving such positive comments on TripAdvisor.

I will look into the lizard situation and ensure that they clearly understand that guest pools are off limits for them. We will also review our OceanKiss offerings and will ensure that our daily specials are communicated better so a wider variety is given to our guests.

My team and I would be looking forward welcoming you back to our resort.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,144
    510
    141
    64
    52
See reviews for
360
1,087
53
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Superb hotel which is fantastically managed by Lars and his team.

We had a private pool villa which was sheer luxury. Service is always of an extremely high standard, with genuinely friendly and efficient staff.

The hotel location is just wonderful; right on the private beach which is overlooked by the infinity pool.

Breakfast is a delight - so many options and so much food! We didn't bother with lunch most days!

A costly, but worthwhile experience is Treetops restaurant - your party gets it's own private treehouse to fine in with views over the beach. I would recommend the 6pm as opposed to the 9pm sitting for dinner as you get to watch the beautiful sunset.

A word of advice on Samui is to take mosquito repellent. They were out in force across the island during our trip!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sianevans82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear SCE,

I appreciate your compliments very much but will have to pass it on to my team. I’m just the one responding to TripAdvisor comments and they are running the daily show 

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward welcoming you back to Samui.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in Mar 14 and had a decent vacation. Facilities are as expected of a upper class resort. We were particularly impressed by the breakfast buffet and also the excellent views from the restaurant. The decor of the open-air lobby is also very nice, giving a tranquil feeling at night.

Things that we feel could be improved on are:
1. the room decor could be nicer (I would describe it as camping cabin chic as of now). Nothing wrong, but could be more modern and with more well-maintained facilities (e.g. we had problems with the bath facilities during the course of our stay). The room is also very dim at night as the lights do not cover all areas of the room

2. Tree Tops restaurant is a good but over-priced choice for dining at night. It is worth it though to celebrate a special occasion.

We would also say that the location at North Chaweng is not particularly good for travelers wanting to be near Chaweng. There are minimarts and a few nice restaurants right outside the resort, as well as an excellent spa 1 minute away by pickup. However to get to the heart of Chaweng, we strolled at a leisurely pace for 30mins along the beach (this is easier than taking the road which is undulating). Of course, the location gives you more tranquility especially at night. So it all depends on what you are looking for.

We will come back to Koh Samui again but probably stay at the Anantara Bophut to get an alternative experience next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingoasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear kingoasis,

Thank you very much for your feedback and also the constructive suggestions where we can improve. Some of the points you mentioned will be addressed over the coming months.

Our location is actually complimented frequently, especially from travelers who have been staying further inside Chaweng previously and therefore appreciated the easy access without the downsides of being “in the middle of the action”.

Feel free contacting us directly for your return visit to Samui and we would be delighted assisting you with your booking at our sister property in Bophut.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were able to return to this little gem for a long weekend and had another fantastic stay. I thought a repeat visit was worth a review because often with hotels you have a great experience the first visit and the second turns out to be so-so, but not here. Anantara Lawana is consistent! We've enjoyed two fabulous long weekends here and on our return stay the staff were even more welcoming than before.
Breakfast in bed was a lovely indulgence, arriving quickly with eggs and coffee piping hot.
We spent the majority of our time either in our private pool or at the main pool/bar.
The bartender, Santi, is amazing-full of personality...and drink suggestions, therapy for the parents of an energetic six year old! Ocean Kiss restaurant has been upgraded with new furnishings and looks wonderful. The menu has changed a bit which is also nice to see. They evolve and keep things fresh, great for repeat guests.
Unfortunately their TreeTops restaurant was fully booked all three nights we were there which just goes to show how in demand it is. I suggest making your reservations for this restaurant when you book your stay! Thanks again Anantara Lawana, hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShannonCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear ShannonCB,

We are always glad seeing our guests returning with high expectations… and hearing that we’ve been able to fulfill them! A challenge we love to accept every time!

Thank you for staying with us once again and we are looking forward welcoming you back for a drink or two around the pool.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in Anantara in May 2014 for 11 nights and had the most amazing time! We didn't want to leave at the end of it!

Upon check in we were greeted with a welcome drink which was very tasty. The reception is outside which we have never seen before, however there it's lots of fans to keep you cool whilst you wait. We were early for check in which is usually always a nuisance, however the reception staff couldn't have been more helpful. They take your luggage for you and have changing rooms by the reception so you can freshen up and take a show if you need. They took us to the pool area and told us they would call us when our room was ready. We were around 3/4 hours before check in and waited about an hour until we were taken to our room by the small buggies that you can catch a lift from the staff on. We were given a free upgrade on our room as we were staying 11 nights which was greatly received!

We had the deluxe pool room which are all on ground floor. You have your own separate swimming pool which you can control the settings to bubble up if you would like. There is a lovely outdoor seating area by your pool where you can relax. But beware of the mosquitoes! The room itself it amazing, a large bed and a flat screen tv which had some english movies channels which are always handy when you get in after a night out. The bathroom is beautiful and partly outside. The only thing I would say would be that the shower is not very powerful unless you have the water come out the rainfall head which is no good for me as a wearer of false eyelashes, therefore I had to use the small shower head which never quite got the shampoo out of my hair properly and never got the temperature quite right. They give you everything you need in terms of shampoo, shower gel, moisturizing lotion, toothbrushes, toothpaste etc. There is also bottles of water in the room that get replaced everyday, we always put them in our mini fridge to keep them cool.

The hotel is quite hilly and definitely kept us fit! Try to catch a lift on the buggies if your feeling tired though. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, filled with flowers, palm trees and ponds. Everywhere you go you see gardeners and workers keeping the grounds neat and they are just so friendly and always say hello.

The location of the hotel is very good. It's directly opposite a family mart where we made trips numerous times a day for very cheap drinks and water, if we were heading out or into our room. You can walk to town center in about 15 minutes, however we always caught a taxi for 200 baht. The taxi service outside the hotel may say 300baht but we quickly learnt we could barter with them. You are able to walk to the center in the day via the beach however, a part of the beach on the way is very dirty and not nice to walk down. In the evening, you can only walk to the hotel next door as the water comes up quite close so you cannot get down the Anantara. You can always cut through their restaurant and take a 2 minute walk to the Anantara. We did this a couple of nights in a row as it's quite nice to walk along the beach when it's all lit up.

The pool is beautifully clean and overlooks the sea which is beautiful. The waiters bring round fruit kebabs and fresh fruit ice lollies everyday which were lovely and also cold ice flannels to keep you cool. they would always lay out our towels for us everyday and gave such great service.

The beach on the hotel is a little rocky for swimming, although beautiful scenery. A tip for beach lovers would be to the turn left out of the hotel and walk down to the next set of hotels down a little slip road. Walk through their restaurant and turn right, you will be at the most beautiful part of the beach we saw whilst we were out there.

We chose to have breakfast at this resort and it was the most amazing spread I've ever seen. You choose your juice or smoothie on the way into be seated which has such a range. I always chose the guava juice which was delicious. Any drink you can think of, they were sure to be able to get you. The iced lattes were really special. And drinking water from a coconut each morning was a dream come true for someone who loves coconut water! There is so much food to choose from, we particularly liked the omelette station! The restaurant is on the beach so beautiful scenery whilst you're eating.

I cannot explain how friendly and welcoming the staff are here and how much we enjoyed our stay! They could not do enough for us! The room cleaning staff visited us twice a day which i have never experienced before but they were amazing leaving us fresh fruit everyday and a spectacularly clean room! The reception staff helped us with our excursions and did all the booking for us. Everything was just so easy and stress-free! We were very sad to leave and am working on persuading my boyfriend for us to return here next year!

Thank you so much!

Room Tip: We were complimentary upgraded to the next room - the deluxe with own pool. This was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorahh-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear lorahh-x,

I appreciate the time you have taken to share your very detailed feedback here on TripAdvisor. It is a great motivation for all of us and I will happily share it with the team.

Let me know if there is anything I can do helping you persuading your boyfriend for a return visit… Tree Tops is a nice spot for a proposal by the way… no pressure!

Looking forward welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a lovely pool villa. The resort decor with Thai Chinese style, quite unique. The breakfast by the beach is great, nice selection of food and staff are helpful. Dinner at tree tops restaurant is the highlight of our stay. Excellent job to all the staff there, food is very good. Great resort in overall. Will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Donk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Mr. Donk,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate that you will recommend us and looking forward welcoming you back to Samui hopefully soon.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We honeymooned here in April and while the resort was beautiful and the service good the accommodation is in need of a little attention. Overall we enjoyed our stay. I would avoid the spa however as we paid 80 euro each for a couples massage and was very disappointed for the price. There are so many massage parlors elsewhere on the island for a couple of euro for massages which are alot better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgt123dt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear mgt123dt,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing some feedback that will help us improving our guest experience further. Please accept my apology if our Spa experience, which is usually highly complimented by guests, hasn’t met your expectations. I would have certainly appreciated hearing about this during your vacation so we could have taken corrective actions in order to ensure you experience a Spa treatment to our usual very high standards.

We would be delighted receiving another opportunity serving you as our guest.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
2.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
880 reviews
1.7 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,351 reviews
2.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort

Property: Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing