We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel on a secluded quiet beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel on a secluded quiet beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

What a beautiful hotel this is! We stayed here for a week in June this year and were blown away by how friends all the staff were from the front desk to the gardeners. Thai people are known for being friends and inquisitive however I do feel they went above and beyond it this hotel.

The room and service was exceptional and personal touches always given to the room which my wife loved. We were offered a plunge pool villa at a discounted rate as the hotel upon check-in which my wife jumped at and was a lovely room and worth the while and prior to agreeing the extra cost we were taken to the villa to make our final decision.

One thing to make note of which the hotel were very good at informing you off and helping to prevent was the mosquito's. There are a lot of plants in amongst the rooms and so they attract mosquito's, I appreciate this is extremely difficult for the hotel to control however as much as we had a lovely seating area to relax at outside our plunge pool we were often put off due to the mosquito's. The hotel do proactively treat the rooms and surrounding areas on a regular basis and were always happy to give additional treats on request however we did find it difficult to remain bite free.

The breakfast gave a good variety and all was very well presented and well cooked and plenty to choose from. Drinks at the bar were your usual hotel prices however there was a happy hour between 6pm and 7pm which was great value and provided a good bit of entertainment.

We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening as we always wanted to go out and venture however the tree top restaurant has excellent reviews and my only advice if you wanted to dine is to book early and ask for a high table as the restaurant is on various different levels, obviously the higher the table the better the view.

The hotel is situated right on a beach and is a small and extremely peaceful bay. The sea is extremely calm there and the sand very coarse and as much as the view is beautiful and relaxing, if you are a beach lover like myself and wife and enjoy a swim in the sea, we found it difficult to enjoy however Chaweng beach where the hustle and bustle is, is the next bay and so not far.

Finally, I could really find any faults with the hotel, and fantastic stay in a good location if you don't like being on the out skirts of main resorts.

Room Tip: Unless you pay for a high standard room such as a villa you are going to be a little further away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear AdamJ,

We appreciate very much that you have taken the time sharing your detailed review with other Travelers and complimented the team for your experience with us.

You must have just missed the period when we refilled our beach with about 1,000qm of new sand to replace some of the beach that has been taken away during the last rainy season. Water levels are extremely low at the moment but will come back to normal quickly.

We would have certainly loved welcoming you as well in our restaurants for dinner but hope for an opportunity during a potential future stay. You won’t be disappointed and we are looking forward having you back.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    471
    132
    61
    49
See reviews for
314
1,004
47
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We went there for our honeymoon, we had the best time, the pool villa room was beautiful, the staff we're very helpful and friendly, espcially the bar staff. We had a great time with them, they looked after us really well!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dippatel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear dippatel15,

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon that much with us and that my team could make such a positive impact on it.

Thanks for sharing it here on TripAdvisor and we hope being able to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at this resort to celebrate our wedding anniversary!! We were treated reasonably well upon check in, although they knew it was a special occasion we were not offered anything special or upgrade!! ( had emailed before hand, hoping for something to surprise my partner) We were surprised by a bottle of bubbles, which was just lovely!! The staff at the Ocean Kiss, Treetops Restaurant, even the pool bar were exceptional & certainly added to our celebrations!! All in all we were really happy with our experience, thanks to Mee, Kate & the breakfast staff!! The Treetops was something special & so glad I had booked before we travelled!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Rosemary H,

Thank you for spending your honeymoon with us.

My sincere apology if the bottle of sparkling wine and honeymoon decoration in the room upon arrival was not special enough to recognize this special occasion. Even though we are certainly happy to provide our guests on such special occasions with an upgrade we can only do this if availability allows.

Maybe you would like to give us another chance on any of your anniversaries and I will be delighted helping you arranging something special again.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent 13 nights at the Anantara and loved every minute of our time there. The staff at the hotel are fabulous and made you feel like part of the family. We decided to upgrade after the first night from our plunge pool room (which was very nice) to one of the pool villas and we were so glad we did. We could have quite easily have stayed around our room and the large swimming pool for the entire holiday. It was like a little haven, so peacefull and relaxing.
The breakfast was excellent with such a variety of food, the service was second to none and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
The Wednesday night Thai buffet on the beach was excellent and the entertainment was amazing, ending the night by paper lanterns being released by all guests.
Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.
We also ate at Treetops (indulgent but worth every penny) the food and service were better than we could imagine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jam1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Jam1_12,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your compliments here on TripAdvisor.

The lantern ceremonies of our theme nights are quite special and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed it so much.

My team and I are looking forward welcoming you back hopefully soon.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My partner and I have just returned from an 8 night stay at Anantara Lawana and we are so sad to be home. The hotel and scenery is stunning. We stayed in the deluxe lawana room and it was lovely, big bath tub, private balcony with a good view and the bed was so comfortable, the housekeeping staff kept the room immaculate. All food was really tasty especially at the Tree Tops restaurant. Definitely worth booking a table at! There was a really good selection of food at the breakfast buffet from Thai food to cereals, waffles/pancakes, fruit, cooked meat, cold meat and much more. Smoothies were lovely! We attended the event evenings such as BBQ on the beach, Camp fire and the traditional Siam evening with live music and a fire show, all were well worth it and all staff went above and beyond to ensure we had a good evening. The pool area with the sunbeds and pool bar is lovely to relax in during the day an at night. A friendly relaxing area where again all staff were brilliant. During the hot day fruit ice lollies and fruit kebabs were brought round with cold towels which was lovely in the heat. The local town/beach, Chaweng, is only a 5/10 minute drive away and costs very little by taxi. Plenty of shops, market stalls and bars to visit. The hotel is in a perfect location for you to be close enough to the hustle and bustle of the town but then far enough away to retreat back to the peaceful, tranquil setting of the hotel.

We were truly pampered and spoilt during our stay by all staff. We felt welcome and felt more like old friends than guests, which we loved. A special mention to some staff that really stood out and went the extra mile for us include; Santi, Aof and Frank at the pool bar, such a nice atmosphere all down to them. Yat from tree tops (brilliant host and even invited us to join him for lunch when we bumped in to him in town, amazing service from Yat and his staff at tree tops). Tiffany at reception was very helpful when we wanted to book some excursions. And last but not least Kate, Wan and Tad in the Ocean Kiss restaurant. All gave us a warm friendly welcome with big smiles whenever we entered the restaurant and they all remembered the drinks we like and we didn't even have to ask. Exceptional!

If we ever visit Ko Samui again Anatara Lawana will be our first and only choice! It truly is an amazing place, we wouldn't want to go anywhere else. Thank you to all the staff, hopefully we will see you again one day. Bryony Parkin & Jason Griffiths

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flyaway091190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Bryony and Jason,

Thank you very much that you have taken the time sharing your feedback and mentioned as well a couple of team members. It’s always very encouraging to receive feedback like yours and will motivate all of us to strive even harder to meet and exceed the expectations you have created with your review.

Please feel free contacting me directly should you start planning your return to Anantara Lawana.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayutthaya, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I could say, first impression that we had it was very warm and relaxed, the friendliness of staffs were shown from their smile which started from security guards until house keeping team.

We checked in very late on that day and very tired from our trip, welcome drinks have been served with very nice garland, the process of check in was very quick. It is very good. We are very surprised that receptionist recognized us and call us by name since first time. All what I required. The surrounding is fantastic and very beautiful garden. The cart taken us to the villa. The villa is so beautiful and very convenience for us. All design made us feel home and relaxed, all amenities set up completed and premium qualified. We can feel all lovely details that they did for us, and we smile all the time -- towel art on the bed, welcome set up all the bed...it is sooo cute and we learned that they would work very hard for all details. We could say... We in love with Anantara lawana. We were enjoying our pool very much and did not want to go out from our villa!

In the morning both of us, had great breakfast at restaurant ! We love their concept very much. They walk around all tables and ask guests in case if guests would like some more bread or bakery.. Also they serve small taste---sticky rice with mango. We love it! Nice touch I could say that. We were enjoying the nice view from the beach to small island in front, also there are some fishing boats parked near by ...we did not feel the hotel located in chaweng, (everyone said chaweng busy) but Anantara lawana located in quiet area.

I and my friend, we feel that the hotel is completely warm and we feel like staying home, we get all convenience and staffs very friendly and helpful. The service and their hospitality is great!

I could not wait for our special holiday next year with them again

Room Tip: I do recommend contact direct and book direct with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Suvi2521,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and the wonderful feedback. My team and I are looking forward welcoming you back next year for another great holiday!

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Located about 10-15min away from the Samui airport, this hotel is superb!
We arrived 6 hrs earlier than the regular check-in time of 2pm and although they did not promise an early check-in, we were ushered to our room almost immediately after the usual check-in formalities.

Our villa w/ plunge pool was simply too good to imagine (the photos online don't do justice!).

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and went beyond their duty to bring my wife a scrumptious dessert on her birthday, whilst dining at the Ocean Kiss restaurant.

The famous Anantara Spa was no disappointment either and the 180 min Balinese massage was totally worth it.

All in all - superb place to stay if you are looking for a nice romantic holiday with that someone special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quresh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Quresh K,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have taken the time sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor.

My team and I are looking forward welcoming you back to Samui.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
2.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.7 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
2.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort

Property: Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing