We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fairly Good Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Property is good but not super Wow or the way people rave about Anantara.
In the pool villas pls be careful of lizards. The property has an attached mini beach which is moderate & you probably cant get in.
Chevang Beach or main market is about 5 -10 min ride.
Food qty is not that gr8. Good Italian. Have the chilled coconut water

Room Tip: In case you opt for a Dlx basic room then take it on the 1st level. The pool villas are moderate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sohil74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Sohil74,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback with us. I am sorry to hear that you disagree with previous reviewers about the quality of our food, but we will certainly review this with our Chef.

I am not really sure which beach you are referring to, as our beach is rather large and easy accessible as it sits straight in front of our resort.

The lizards you mentioned are local geckos which are usually very shy and will help preventing mosquito attacks.

Nevertheless, we appreciate your feedback and look forward welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

869 - 875 of 1,934 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Had a bad experience a few years ago and said that we would never stay there again, but liked the location and wanted to go back to see what had changed. Not the best of starts when we arrived, before we had finished checking in we given the hard sell on time share, but said no thanks although we have stayed at Anantara resorts about 15 times now, so may have considered if we were younger.

Arrived at our villa (paid the extra for an upgrade at check in for a pool villa and glad we did) Nice welcome card in our villa when we arrived, only trouble was that it was addressed to someone else with a Spanish type name.

From what we got last time things have improved, the decking was in very good condition and the outdoor furniture was also in good condition with no rips or damage. The service by food and beverage staff was excellent even down to getting your legs sprayed for mosquitos when we were having a drink at the bar.

I know it is a design issue but the biggest problem my wife had was the mosquitos and she got badly bitten on her legs and back although I used stronger repellent they hovered in the open bathroom as well as under the outdoor area. I ended up going over the road to the shop and getting some insect spray and kept on spraying.

They could probably dose the pools a bit more in the villas, only saw a person come in once and add more chlorine although we hardly left our villa, and there was signs of green on the tiles. Breakfast service, was excellent from the welcome by staff to the smoothies, to the range of food available, only suggestion would be to have the stations for dirty plates out of sight of guests seated, but a small criticism.

Unfortunately when I returned home I realised I had left my reading glasses in the room, contacted the hotel and paid for the priority postage and had my glasses back in about a week, can't thank the staff enough that arranged it and packed them so well.

Would I stay there again, yes liked the adjacency to Chaweng but not too close, staff were really good, wished we had dinner at the tree tops but forgot to book.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MelbTraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear MelbTraveller45,

I am very glad to hear that you have decided giving us another try after your very disappointing experience 3 years ago and returned with a very different experience than last time.

As mentioned in my previous response, we do take our guest feedback serious and are constantly upgrading the resort further.

Thank you for staying again with us and my team and I are looking forward welcoming you back again.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of our recent honeymoon and couldn't fault it. Perfectly located close to airport and Chaweng yet set away from the mayhem. Excellent staff who couldn't do enough for you. Rooms of an excellent standard, great pool facilities and an amazing breakfast which I know gets a mention in nearly all reviews! Highly recommend and would definitely return, especially for another meal in the outstanding tree tops restaurant!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear ClareS28,

Thank you very much for the positive feedback and we hope being able to welcome you back to Samui in the near future.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We went in the beautiful Koh Samui island in November 2013. The hotel is situated near the airport in a very quite place but at the same time with a little walking distance from ChaWeng beach where the nightlife take place. We stayed in the resort two different times in the same vacation. In the very first time they give us a nice quite room on the first floor and the second time we take a room on ground floor with swimming pool (really suggested). Perfect and frendly welcome of the front desk stuff. Absolutey marvellous the breakfast taking place in front of the beach. The beach is very nice with a carefully stuff and a lot of bed to relax and a very nice touch was the fresh fruits offered by the hotel. Take care of your body at the SPA, amazing experience ;-).

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kayokoItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear kayokoItalia,

Thank you very much for your compliments about your stay, especially as you have been able to experience two different room types.

I am also glad to inform you that the beach you liked so much has been upgraded even further just recently therefore I am confident you will enjoy any future stay even more.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A stunning hotel, with the friendliest, most fantastic and worlds most wonderful staff. We have travelled far and wide to some amazing places and I can honestly say this hotel is top of our 'must go back to' list. The complex is carefully manicured with lush vegetation and beautiful plants and the rooms are like little villas, with a balcony, good size bedrooms and large bathroom. The bath is huge and you could easily get three people in it !! The main dining area is by the beach and infinity pool area, with several steps to negotiate and would not be ideal for people with limited mobility, although the staff will happily ferry you around on one of the golf type carts. I think most guests stay on a bed & breakfast basis and the breakfasts are incredible. There is so much choice from fresh fruit to curry and everything in between, self service style and eat as much as you like. Our favourite part was the proper barista who can make any kind of coffee you like. We had a few other meals at the hotel and were never disappointed although compared to the restaurants in the nearby town, were quite expensive. The hotel was just finishing building a new beach during our stay, and now boasts brand new, lovely sand with four poster beds. The pool staff are always on hand and bring you refreshing icy towels, fruit kebabs and frozen fruit juice on a stick every morning - all complimentary. The main town is approximately 20 minutes stroll or a short taxi ride, and is a great place to go out in the evening. There is lots of 'hussle & bussle', with many bars, restaurants, street traders, shops and clubs and the biggest concentration of taxis I have ever seen, constantly beeping there horns looking for fares. I never had one mossy bite during our stay there, although my wife was bitten when she went for the complimentary massage, you definitely need to take spray and use the mosquito nets at night. The only negative, and it's not really a negative just a misunderstanding, we were told the hotel provides complimentary bottles of water each day in your room, but there are two types (plastic bottles and glass bottles). We used the wrong ones and got charged quite a lot when we checked out. Other than that, we had the most amazing holiday there !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank APandJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear APandJC,

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback here on TripAdvisor and I’m glad to hear that you had such a gorgeous stay.

My apology if you have been impacted by the upgrade of the beach, but as you said yourself, it was well worth it as the beach experience for all our guests has significantly improved.

My team and I are looking forward welcoming you back to Samui.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What a beautiful hotel this is! We stayed here for a week in June this year and were blown away by how friends all the staff were from the front desk to the gardeners. Thai people are known for being friends and inquisitive however I do feel they went above and beyond it this hotel.

The room and service was exceptional and personal touches always given to the room which my wife loved. We were offered a plunge pool villa at a discounted rate as the hotel upon check-in which my wife jumped at and was a lovely room and worth the while and prior to agreeing the extra cost we were taken to the villa to make our final decision.

One thing to make note of which the hotel were very good at informing you off and helping to prevent was the mosquito's. There are a lot of plants in amongst the rooms and so they attract mosquito's, I appreciate this is extremely difficult for the hotel to control however as much as we had a lovely seating area to relax at outside our plunge pool we were often put off due to the mosquito's. The hotel do proactively treat the rooms and surrounding areas on a regular basis and were always happy to give additional treats on request however we did find it difficult to remain bite free.

The breakfast gave a good variety and all was very well presented and well cooked and plenty to choose from. Drinks at the bar were your usual hotel prices however there was a happy hour between 6pm and 7pm which was great value and provided a good bit of entertainment.

We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening as we always wanted to go out and venture however the tree top restaurant has excellent reviews and my only advice if you wanted to dine is to book early and ask for a high table as the restaurant is on various different levels, obviously the higher the table the better the view.

The hotel is situated right on a beach and is a small and extremely peaceful bay. The sea is extremely calm there and the sand very coarse and as much as the view is beautiful and relaxing, if you are a beach lover like myself and wife and enjoy a swim in the sea, we found it difficult to enjoy however Chaweng beach where the hustle and bustle is, is the next bay and so not far.

Finally, I could really find any faults with the hotel, and fantastic stay in a good location if you don't like being on the out skirts of main resorts.

Room Tip: Unless you pay for a high standard room such as a villa you are going to be a little further away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear AdamJ,

We appreciate very much that you have taken the time sharing your detailed review with other Travelers and complimented the team for your experience with us.

You must have just missed the period when we refilled our beach with about 1,000qm of new sand to replace some of the beach that has been taken away during the last rainy season. Water levels are extremely low at the moment but will come back to normal quickly.

We would have certainly loved welcoming you as well in our restaurants for dinner but hope for an opportunity during a potential future stay. You won’t be disappointed and we are looking forward having you back.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We went there for our honeymoon, we had the best time, the pool villa room was beautiful, the staff we're very helpful and friendly, espcially the bar staff. We had a great time with them, they looked after us really well!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dippatel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear dippatel15,

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon that much with us and that my team could make such a positive impact on it.

Thanks for sharing it here on TripAdvisor and we hope being able to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,527 reviews
0.8 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
901 reviews
2.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
2.8 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £158 - £493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelbag, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing