We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$268
View deal
Expedia.com
US$253
View deal
Trip.com
US$240
View deal
travelup.comUS$280
Hotels.comUS$253
PricelineUS$268
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,764)
Filter reviews
2,764 results
Traveller rating
1,827
628
170
77
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,827
628
170
77
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool room tree tops restaurant crab shack our honeymoon koh samui pool bar little touches fire show main pool amazing hotel chaweng beach welcome drink sun loungers thai food beach front treetops villa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 2,764 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2019 via mobile

We stayed here, couple + 10 months old baby for our anniversary.
It was our first stop Arriving in Thailand.

The resort is amazing, green and big.
Staff was very nice, we were picked from Samui airport by overpriced hotel transfer.

Everything was simply amazing except for a couple of things-
1. Restaurants don't have Air Conditioning
It's nice and all, breakfast was great... But it's so hot that I was sweating on my plate.
The staff were also all sweaty and it felt wrong.

2. Tree Tops dinner restaurant - completely overpriced... Like 3-4 times it's worth.
It's a nice atmosphere, but no AC either and tons of mosquitoes.

3. Water pressure was a bit on the weaker side.

4. It's hard to get by with a baby stroller in this heat. But they do have a buggy when you call them, which was a bit more helpful.

Normally I would give a 4 star for the non air-conditioned restaurants... But I decided that maybe it's us that cannot adapt... So I can easily recommend to people who can live with these cons.

Thanks,
Dor

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank doranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcounsel, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2019

Dear doranca,

Thank you for the 5 star rating and for the constructive feedback. We appreciate your comments for this review and also the review left for Tree Tops.

We have taken your comments on board and will work towards providing an improved stat experience in the future.

A number of projects are underway including regulation of the water pressure which we expect to be finished within the coming week.

Initial concept designs are also underway to have an air con area installed in our breakfast restaurant.

Thank you again and best regards

Dylan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2019 via mobile

Greeted by amazing staff is always a great touch when you’ve travel 8+ hours.
Greeted with cold tea and a cold towel - It was 35 degrees the day we landed!
Overall we enjoyed our stay.
We stayed 13 nights total, honestly we could have stayed a further 13.
Staff were great first few days they were very helpful. Only negative would be front of resort ‘night’ staff could have done with more English however we got there in the end.
We stayed in the plunge pool room, perfect when the main pool area got a bit busy! Room was amazing, everything you needed and more. Only negative regarding the room would be the shower head, the pressure was crazy high especially on our burn skin from the sun.

Location great ✅
Rooms fantastic ✅
Staff amazing ✅

Would we stay here again, absolutely!!

Thank you for a beautiful and memorable stay!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank t92g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcounsel, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2019

Dear taylieee03,

Our entire team pass their warmest regards to you and thank you for the positive review. We were all very happy to have you stay with us for 13 nights and appreciate your kind comments and kindness shown to the team during your stay. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Dylan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2019 via mobile

Great Spa packages, Karn who has been here for ten months is very professional, very good attention to detail - great treatment and service. Very good bespoke massage! Please visit during your next trip.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sotis82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcounsel, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2019

Dear Sotus82,

We greatly appreciate your comments regarding your stay and visit to our spa. I will ensure your feedback is shared with Kh Karn who I am sure will be delighted for the positive recognition. We hope to you for a return visit to our spa or hotel in the future.

Sincerely

Dylan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2019 via mobile

We stayed at this resort in April as a couple for 4-nights in the Deluxe room.

It’s fine for couples wanting a quiet holiday....with boutique hotel feel.

We did not eat at any of the restaurants in resort as either they had no AC (OceanKiss) or it was overpriced (Tree Tops). We ate outside - many options in Chaweng or Fisherman’s Village.

Pros:
- Deluxe Room was nice, comfortable
- AC in room worked, wifi is good
- resort cleaning staff are sweet and polite and quick to service anything
- great recycling focus (used glass water bottles not plastic and refill toiletries)- please keep that up!

Cons:
- shower pressure was very weak I couldn’t have a proper shower for 4 days (reported it to front desk but still very weak)

- front desk staff need training! Very poor ability to answer simple questions like “do you have suggestion for Thai restaurants outside the resort?”....they could not answer that without 3-4 times calling back & checking and still could not come up with a recommendation

- front desk staff should also have better command of basic English language.... maybe that’s what caused the confusion; they also do not seem very welcoming.

- there is no air conditioning in breakfast area! It’s all in open air so the heat is prohibitive, everyone is sweating (felt bad for the staff dripping sweat while making eggs!). Flies are all over the food. It felt unhygienic and we did not enjoy this. Hotel should consider putting glass windows or walls around this area to create indoors space given weather patterns in Thailand

- breakfast options are repeating exactly the same basic food everyday (some variety would be nice); even the Thai food offered is very basic at best (cabbage stir fry every day!); juice is not fresh but from package, etc; definitely not 5-star hotel standard

- beach feels dirty with green algae floating around; if you walk along further towards Novotel the beach gets nicer

- no complimentary shuttle service to Bhoput or Chaweng. Would be nice if hotel can provide some transport to guests in the evenings like so many resorts in Thailand do, especially since there is barely anything to do at the resort

- gym headphone were all broken; small gym, although does the job of you don’t need much

Having stayed at many 5-star resorts in Thailand and Bali, I would not call this a 5-star resort....more like 4-star.

It’s nice for a couple days stay in a quiet clean boutique like environment.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank honestco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcounsel, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2019

Dear honestco,

Thank you for the detailed review. We appreciate the feedback even if it is of critical nature as you have highlighted areas for our improvement.

We are a little disappointed that you didn't try any of the hotel outlets during your stay and have rated the restaurant as over priced with out trying the quality and offering. We believe that your stay experience would have been enhanced by enjoying the food and beverage offering at the resort.

For other readers our outlets are priced at different levels with the aim of providing options for all guest needs, from Mai Pai our Thai restaurant and Ocean Kiss all day dining (lower pricing) to Crab Shack (seafood restaurant with mid level pricing) and Tree Tops Sky Dining (fine dining restaurant with premium menu items and beautiful setting and service with higher pricing).

Thank you for the feedback regarding water pressure. We were already on process to address this issue and will have the project completed within the coming week.

We have also taken note of your comments regarding our front office communication ability and product knowledge. Our department head and training manager have since prepared a specific training program for the front office team to improve the quality of service for our valued guests.

Your comment regarding creating an air con'd area for dining is well received. Based on your feedback and others we have plans to complete this project within this year.

Regarding your suggestion for a free shuttle service, due to our close proximity to Chaweng and due to Samui having an extensive taxi service with ease of access and availability for our guests, we do not provide a shuttle service. Our hotel vehicles are always available for our hotel guests who wish to book them for their transport requirements. Other hotels in the vicinity also do not provide a shuttle service.

Your valid points regarding headphones in the gym and breakfast selections is well noted and we have taken steps to improve this for our future guests.

Thank you again for the review and we hope to welcome you back for an improved stay experience.

Regards

Dylan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2019

Honeymoon well spent.
With fabulous weather.... Great location and excellent hotel... The team is super friendly... With a fantastic spa... Loved every bit of it.
With Treetops being our personal favorite dining option, Crab shack was equally a great choice to enjoy on a lazy afternoon.
Our plunge pool with Jacuzzi option was a pleasant surprise.
Overall a wonderful experience, will definitely return.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sammferns
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcounsel, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2019

Dear Sammferns,

Congratulations for your honeymoon and thank you for selecting Anantara Lawana to stay for your special occasion.

Thank you for highlighting Tree Tops our signature restaurant. Our recently changed menu from Chef de Cuisine Jakov has helped to elevate the food quality to new levels.

We are also happy you enjoyed the Deluxe Plunge pool room and we are looking forward to welcome you back for an anniversary stay.

Kind Regards

Dylan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews