We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and very nice beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Star Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed in the cottages near the beach, i don't really know how are the rooms or the beachfront villas (although i suspect the last ones can't be worse). The cottages are good, not the most luxury rooms but fairly clean and well maintained. The staff came and cleaned the room twice a day. (!?!)

The beach and pool were very nice (there's really a problem with the seaside of some 'beach' hotels on this island so you should choose with great care) and quiet. Few people, few kids.

The food is very good and fairly priced. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the english is somehow good (not the case everywhere and every time).

The weather in June was so so... we had a rainy day and showers in the evening almost every day, but was good as a whole.

Room Tip: We asked in advance for a cottage near the beach (there are two right on the beach) and we received...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank addatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

New Star Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

I asked the front desk guy how much for beach front.he said 2500(too cheap)in shock I said in bath?he took out a brochure and i said which one.he raised his voice n rudely said No.No.all in Bath no Malaysia and walked off.WTF?what does Malaysia have to do with it?female staff was nice to sit me down,soon flowers,towels and drinks arrive.after the check-in we were given free massage at the SPA and vouchers for laundry.
when I got to my room all had been forgotten.the view,gardens and music from birds all came together and your in paradise.rooms are huge and open with chocolates and fruits.at night there are mosquitoes but they have mosquito repellents in the room on hand.
breakfast is a bit far from some of the rooms a morning walk daily is nice the air is crisp and cool,the birds serenade you all the way. the view during breakfast is amazing.the food is more for westerners.my husband is Chinese so the porridge and bacon was the only thing he liked.for me it was like my everyday breakfast.
according to the rules the pool closes at 8 but I got out at almost 9 pm and no one said a thing.It's nice to put up flags to let us know the danger level of the sea.
going to chaweng is easier if you rent a motorbike not because it's too far but chaweng being very2 long.the front desk rent it at 30 bath/day.more expensive but you don't need to leave a photo copy of your passport.check about the insurance
free wifi in all the rooms even Centara doesn't have this.
room service charge extra 100 bath.it's better to hide it into the full cost of the meal like other resorts do then tell people that your actually charging to send them food.

Room Tip: if your coming with family get the room with a dipping pool.it is more then enough for a whole famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa_Cornelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

New Star Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I must admit that after reading all the overly zealous Tripadvisor reviews I was sold on this place, but the reviews missed a few too many fundamental negative points that made our stay there not as good as promised.
Firstly and it must be said, the pool and beach front are stunning and the beach villas, pretty spacious and well designed. The breakfast was awful in every way, how hard could it be to make a simple breakfast? What's ironic is the fact that they advertise cooking classes, are you serious? Start by taking all your chefs to cooking class first before they embark on teaching others. The front desk staff were kind enough to upgrade us, but showed serious signs of strain at coping with our questions and demands. Few spoke comprehensible English and some were plainly rude to my mother for simply making enquiries. Add to that the beach attendant waving his arm dismissively at my request to locate a suitable beach chair, and the pretty high prices of the rooms compared to Koh Samui standards, and the tough uphill hikes to the reception every time we needed to talk to reception or leave the premises, Newstar is anything but a star. And to have such a designer pool deck and beach front and not to make use of it after 8pm is such a shame. The atmosphere at night is dead quiet, no music, no beach bar or semblance of life. More suitable for retired couples than youth. The management really need to re-evaluate their tariffs, service, food offering and entertainment if they want to attract repeat visitors.

Room Tip: Take the Beach Villas flanking the pool area if you can and negotiate for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelswithFouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

New Star Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed here with my wife in Feb 2012 and was very satisfied with the whole experience. The room are very spacious, clean and provide privacy from other guest. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The location is ideal, as you are not in the middle of all the cheesy bars / restaurants but only 10 mins walk to everything. The beach is also lovely and sits apart from the more public beach just further along which is great!

We are going back to Koh Samui during new years this year but are staying in Koh Phangan although I would highly recommend this hotel if your on the island.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mchug_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

New Star Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I was there about 2 months ago, and it was fantastic value for money. I would stay there again. The only thing they should imporve is that their employees need better english.
If you get a chance go during the full moon party its worth going atleast ones.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alejandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

New Star Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We chose to stay in this hotel after seeing the reviews on Tripadvisor and agoda.
And we should certainly say that our decision to stay here was not at all wrong.
The ambience, setup, hospitality, rooms, pool, restaurant, beach area and what not..!!?? Every thing was just right and tastefully done.
Rooms are pretty spacious with open air showers. Window near the bathtub opens to the bedroom which certainly adds to the romance.
Happy hours at the bar beside the pool is THRICE a day (1 hour each) and you can enjoy the finest drinks at half the regular price.!!
Infinity pool is to be experienced than spoken of. Staff is ready to meet your requirements.
Just outside the hotel is a good laundry shop which takes clothes on kilogram basis with same day delivery. There are a few travel agents and bikes available on hire just outside the hotel too.
CAUTION: You have to submit your original Passport with the shop from where you wish to hire a bike. DO NOT hire the bike if they insist on submitting your original passport. Instead, take a bike from the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SK_Gupta_Rpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

New Star Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed here about a year ago (June 2011) and had a great time. The rooms are modern and large. The bathroom is huge with even a little stream in it!! Spotlessly clean as are the resorts grounds. The beds are quite hard but just ask them and they will put something over the mattress which makes it a lot softer and not a problem.

Food was excellent, we ate breakfast and dinner here every night.

Quiet location. Pool setting is lovely as it looks out to the beach.

There are some shops just outside of the hotel grounds where we hired scooters from and explored a little bit. We did choose mainly to just stay in the resort though as it was so nice there.

Will definitely stay here again if we return to Koh Samui and I would recommend anyone going to Koh Samui to stay here also.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimmy_latte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

New Star Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
2.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,525 reviews
1.3 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,894 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,484 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Star Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Star Beach Resort

Address: 83 Moo 3 Koh Samui | Chaweng Noi, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#11 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#18 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £73 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New Star Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Star Beach Resort situated on Chaweng Noi Beach is the most beautiful, white-sandy beach on Samui Island. 10 minutes away from the center of Town by walk or 5 minutes by car. Full of privacy and away from the big crowd Your visit to Koh Samui is not completed unless you have visited New Star Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Sawasdee, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New Star Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Star Beach Hotel Chaweng
Hotel New Star Beach
New Star Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing