We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, beach, service, A+”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New Star Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Location, beach, service, A+”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here for one night en route to Bangkok after spending a few days on Koh Phagnan. Wanted to do something extra special and the reviews were spot on.

Upon arriving, the service was excellent, driven in through a bamboo canopy drive on a golf cart. The hospitality was excellent with a refreshing drink and face towel while they checked us in. The receptionist took a lot of care explaining the property, spa, and all the amenities and then we were whisked away to our room.

We just stayed in a deluxe room with a ocean view. We didn't upgrade to a bungalow or anything more as the room was gigantic with a very comfortable bed. Spa like bathroom with both a jacuzzi tub, rain shower, and outdoor rain shower. Furnishings were a bit dated but certainly added to the charm of the resort. The beach was fantastic, clean, quiet, and the water was clear and warm. No complaints.

The location was fantastic as well being away from the noise and hustle of Chaweng. Convenience store and laundry right across the street if you wanted pay less than what the hotel was selling their wares for. The only draw back was a very nominal charge for a shuttle to the centre of town -- not expected for such a high quality and service oriented resort; but nothing to really take away from the rest of the resort.

Would definitely stay here again... great memories.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J_Canasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2016
Dear our value guests,

Greetings from the New star Beach Resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and shared your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. Such correspondence is always highly motivating our Team but even more so when it comes from someone who has traveled widely and can appreciate the finer points of what we are trying to achieve like you.

I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to the team accordingly.

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles at New star again soon, we remain.

Yours sincerely,

Chanupong Manachamni
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    165
    52
    24
    9
See reviews for
125
355
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stay for two nights in deluxe room, the hotel has huge rooms, good service, beautiful swimming pool and a perfect beach! the location is perfect because is close to the chaweng beach that is the most touristic area of the island but at the same time it has a more peaceful and beautiful beach! i strongly recommend this hotel for visiting samui!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pnn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2016
Dear our value guests,

Greetings from the New star Beach Resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and shared your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. Such correspondence is always highly motivating our Team but even more so when it comes from someone who has traveled widely and can appreciate the finer points of what we are trying to achieve like you.

I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to the team accordingly.

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles at New star again soon, we remain.

Yours sincerely,

Chanupong Manachamni
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

What to say about this hotel. Great bungalow, great breakfast, nice sea (but beware of rocks in the sea). Beautiful beach, extremely friendly staff. This hotel, while being close to Chaweng and all its attraction and restaurant is still far enough to ensure a quite and relaxing time. A taxi ride of 10 minutes and you are in the middle of hundreds or bar, restaurants, night live and shops.

I wil lcome back for sure

Room Tip: ask for a bungalow with sea view. Ours was the last of the beach and was so quite that it was a real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frédéric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Dear our Value guests,

greeting from the sunny Island and the New Star beach resort Koh Samui !

Thank you very very much for a wonderful review and excellent feedback in trip advisor during your recent stay with us . we do believed this such information will definitely value to the new travelers whom seeking a useful information when planning their trip

we are pleased to learn that you are very much happy and impressed with our service and facilities provided in the resort particularly the cleanliness of the garden beach area pool room and meal

Also Thank you for mentioning name of our service team which have been lead by Khun Nui our Food and beverage operation manager and his entire team Khun Noi Khun Toi and Khun Chod which have been passed on to them accordingly

we shall look forward to the opportunity to welcoming both of you back to us again soon

yours sincerely ,

chanupong manachamni
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

It was our honeymoon, we selected the hotel through tripadvisor, it was the best choice ever for our honeymoon in Koh Samui Thailand. Unbelievable friendly staff and they are so polite :) they are all so nice, and i always loved their smiles in the morning :) even when we arrived in the early morning they kindly accepted to give us our room early and they offered us to take a breakfast as a complimentary from the hotel. the location is excellent and so close to town for shopping and for too many restaurants and bars and i recommend the dinner in the hotel's restaurant because the first nice we took our dinner on the beach and it was more than excellent thai taste. Our room was excellent view although it was garden view but really very very nice, and always very clean :) the pool was very nice view just on the beach and very clean with 3 places of jacuzzi, also the beach was the same very clean and you can swim safely with a nice view of mountains just around you! i loved my stay in New Star and sure one day i will be back to this hotel again. I strongly recommend it :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Dear our Value guests,

greeting from the sunny Island and the New Star beach resort Koh Samui !

Thank you very very much for a wonderful review and excellent feedback in trip advisor during your recent stay with us . we do believed this such information will definitely value to the new travelers whom seeking a useful information when planning their trip

we are pleased to learn that you are very much happy and impressed with our service and facilities provided in the resort particularly the cleanliness of the garden beach area pool room and meal

Also Thank you for mentioning name of our service team which have been lead by Khun Nui our Food and beverage operation manager and his entire team Khun Noi Khun Toi and Khun Chod which have been passed on to them accordingly

we shall look forward to the opportunity to welcoming both of you back to us again soon

yours sincerely ,

chanupong manachamni
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We spent from 06th of April to 15th of April our honeymoon at new star. It was really amazing. The rooms, beach, the sea is amazing. Genaral Manager Michael takes care of his guests in a very good manner and take any feedback very seriously. We will probably spend one of our next holidays again here. I would recommend new star strongly, go and see it, you will love it...
Hotelprices are comparing to others we were are really good, comparable to normal restaurants.

Oktay

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oktay t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Dear our Value guests,

greeting from the sunny Island and the New Star beach resort Koh Samui !

Thank you very very much for a wonderful review and excellent feedback in trip advisor during your recent stay with us . we do believed this such information will definitely value to the new travelers whom seeking a useful information when planning their trip

we are pleased to learn that you are very much happy and impressed with our service and facilities provided in the resort particularly the cleanliness of the garden beach area pool room and meal


we shall look forward to the opportunity to welcoming both of you back to us again soon

yours sincerely ,

chanupong manachamni
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband and I got married here January 23, 2013 and I have to say this place was amazing!! They went above and beyond for us and would definitely recommend this place. We wanted something simple for just the two of us without having to do a lot of work ourselves. We went in to this without high expectations since it is in another country; however they definitely exceeded our expectations. They took care of everything for us and made our day so special. The western wedding package is an amazing deal for what we got. The breakfast spread was delicious, the meal on our wedding night was five star....THE BEST! The hairdresser did a great job doing my hair, they decorated our room for our wedding night, and totally took care of helping to ship our stuff back to the states the next day. Our wedding decorations were so beautiful and i am still getting compliments on the amazing bouquet they made me. They could have done a lot less bc it was just my husband and I but they went all out for us. To top it off the photographer they had I would have picked back home. His pictures were absolutely BEAUTIFUL and he came the next day and delivered a photo album, DVD, and picture framed for us all before we left. Michael, the man in charge, helped make things go so easy, returned email on a timely manner, and followed through with everything we were promised. Everyone at the resort were kind and friendly. Our room was the beach front villa, which is a must! Love loved it. Everything was clean and well taken care of. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Dear our Value guests,

greeting from the sunny Island and the New Star beach resort Koh Samui !

Thank you very very much for a wonderful review and excellent feedback in trip advisor during your recent stay with us . we do believed this such information will definitely value to the new travelers whom seeking a useful information when planning their trip

we are pleased to learn that you are very much happy and impressed with our service and facilities provided in the resort particularly the cleanliness of the garden beach area pool room and meal

we shall look forward to the opportunity to welcoming both of you back to us again soon

yours sincerely ,

chanupong manachamni
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Over all it's so good hotel, staff at restaurant near the beach so good take care like they are so professional and good training in service hospitality, swimming pool its enough to swim for many people and you have your private space. I love seafood buffet on the beach on their Saturday evening 19:00 till late its so tasty and great fresh ingredient and for sure seafood its really fresh and clean and not expensive, the beach so white and clear if you look for a place for family or real relax highly recommended peaceful place :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monkeymunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Dear our Value guests,

greeting from the sunny Island and the New Star beach resort Koh Samui !

Thank you very very much for a wonderful review and excellent feedback in trip advisor during your recent stay with us . we do believed this such information will definitely value to the new travelers whom seeking a useful information when planning their trip

we are pleased to learn that you are very much happy and impressed with our service and facilities provided in the resort particularly the cleanliness of the garden beach area pool room and meal

we shall look forward to the opportunity to welcoming both of you back to us again soon

yours sincerely ,

chanupong manachamni
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
2.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,355 reviews
1.3 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,739 reviews
0.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,332 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Star Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Star Beach Resort

Property: New Star Beach Resort
Address: 83 Moo 3 Koh Samui | Chaweng Noi, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#18 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New Star Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Star Beach Resort situated on Chaweng Noi Beach is the most beautiful, white-sandy beach on Samui Island. 10 minutes away from the center of Town by walk or 5 minutes by car. Full of privacy and away from the big crowd Your visit to Koh Samui is not completed unless you have visited New Star Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Sawasdee, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Star Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Star Beach Hotel Chaweng
Hotel New Star Beach
New Star Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing