We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Star Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Star Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We liked that the staff were friendly and attentive. They always remember us as we are regulars and got married at the resort. There is a good selection of dining and dinners on the beach which are good value for money. The accessibility to the beach and the pool from the rooms is very convenient. We always look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AminaGavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2016
Dear our value guests,

Greetings from the New star Beach Resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and shared your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. Such correspondence is always highly motivating our Team but even more so when it comes from someone who has traveled widely and can appreciate the finer points of what we are trying to achieve like you.

I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to the team accordingly.

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles at New star again soon, we remain.

Yours sincerely,

Chanupong Manachamni
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    161
    51
    22
    9
See reviews for
120
338
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Usually we rate beach resorts at the islands of Thailand high. But New Star Beach Resort has been a great disappointment despite that the rooms holds a fine standard.

The resort suffers from two fundamental problems to which it's difficult to imagine a fast solution.
1. The shared facilities are under-dimensioned compared to the number of rooms/flats. The result is an absurd behavior where as an example we observed guests rushing to the beach at 7:00 am to conquer a sunbed, knowing that at 9:00 nothing would be available (and then go back to continue to sleep), or guests forced to have breakfast in devastating direct sun caused by too few seats under roof or otherwise sun-protected. These observations might have been common a couple of decades ago in low class charter resorts in more humble parts of Southern Europe. But you do not expect them in 2014 in a place like this.
2. The next problem must have it's roots in poor management. The staffs seems to be eager to help. But due to missing or inadequate processes they walk from one disaster to another. When the missing results are combined with a distinct extrovert staff behavior you feel offended. As an example the hotel does not have a process to register confirmed commitments in hotel vouchers that differs from their standard. We were thrown out of one of our rooms 7 hours before agreed and stated in the hotel voucher (first the staffs did not accept that an agreement existed - the voucher obviously made that position impossible).

It told us all about the lack of professionalism in the organization that the staffs in this situation acted like they were heroes after being able to offer the agreed check out time in one of the rooms ("everybody" knows that such agreements always are going "down the drain" as no one can remember them!) - On top of that no compensation where offered us for giving up a room in more than a half of a day! - That attitude really requires a lot of nerves in a service industry and represents an unusual poor understanding of the expectations that guests have - in general they expect that their hotel deliver in accordance with the agreements made.

The poor overall rating is well deserved. We can not recommend this hotel.
Pedersens

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLP045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 January 2016
Dear our value guests,

Greetings from the New star Beach Resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and shared your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. Such correspondence is always highly motivating our Team but even more so when it comes from someone who has traveled widely and can appreciate the finer points of what we are trying to achieve like you.

I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to the team accordingly.

we regret for the unfortunate experience you have gained from our resort however , I taken up of your comments to discussed with the team and the right direction was given in order to avoid this such experience from reoccurring we do hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles at New star again soon, we remain.

Yours sincerely,

Chanupong Manachamni
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is my updated (originally reviewed on 16th of january) translation of the german reviews about our stay at the New Star Beach Resort (30.12.13-08.01.14) which I posted already on Holidaycheck and Agoda. Updated because, Agoda never published my review, although I booked over Agoda. Several requests to publish it were ignored (I assume, because of the negativity of the review...).


We came to Koh Samui after a roundtrip through Vietnam, where we had been expecting simple hotels, but where we were every time posititvely suprised by the price performance ratio.
Our high expectations (that we had ecspecially because of the enormous price of 368,00 US-Dollar/night and room!!!) which we had for the New Star Beach Resort weren’t fulfilled at all. All those positive ratings we read on websites such as Agoda, Holidaycheck and Tripadvisor unfortunately fooled us.

Of course there are also positive sides of this hotel, as there are the friendlyness and attentiveness of the staff, the nice hotel landscape fitting to the scenery and the beautiful beach. Even though the staff (except the receptionists) had some trouble english speaking you could communicate (sometimes by using gestures) your requests well. The beach is much better and more beautiful then the ones surrounding the hotel. It is cleaned every morning (as we took a walk to the neighbour beaches we were disgusted by what we saw there, once we even found an injection needle).
What is also nice is the quiet position of the hotel (when you have dinner in Chaweng centre, you’ll get blasted with loud avertising for restaurants/discotheques, coming out of the speakers of cars driving by).
The passing beach vendors didn’t really bother us. Besides there was no loud music or animation. We were really pleased that on New Year’s Eve the music of the band wasn’t too loud, so we could easily have a conversation with each other. The jetskis near the resort were bearable, actually we were happy that they weren’t driving by directly in front of us.



Well, now the negative impressions, that unfortunately prevailed:

1) Our rooms
Whe had the “cheapest” category, the „Deluxe balcony“ rooms (524 and 525). There we came across a disgusting floor (a cement floor), with spots everywhere, which wouldn’t get out (see foto). One room had even spots on the couch (525). The WLAN didn’t work (as I complained about it at the reception I was told, the technician would take care of it right the next morning, this was not the case, as I asked again, I was told it just doesn’t work, I‘ll have to go to the reception for good WLAN. In the end the thoughtful swiss trainee Mark cleared it up for me, that the whole WLAN system is currently converted, so there are problems throughout the hotel – it would have been nice to know that right away.
In the living rooms was just one plug socket within reach, the other one was in the bathroom. There was no suitcase stand. There was no ventilation in the bathroom (not even at the toilet). The shower tiles were dirty (see foto). It wasn’t possible to regulate the watertemperature to a pleasant level (neither in the bathtub nor the shower), it was either hot or cold (a moderate temperature didn’t stay long), so there was an enourmous wasting of time and water. There wasn’t enough light in the bathroom (although there were many sources of light), it was just too dark. Although the chambermaid was very helpful, the door to the balcony was always left unlocked.
The only positive things we can refer to are that the rooms (living room and bathroom) were big (which was not that important to us) and that the cleaning of the room was always alright.


2) Things that fall for us in the category rip-off:

Firstly:
At the evening of our arrival, we decided to drink a cocktail, with the outcome that we enjoyed our future cocktails in Chaweng centre. We ordered a Mojito, hardly or rather no alcohol could be sensed. We tried a second one with a plea for more alcohol, again the same. I tried another cocktail, this one consisted simply of ice and was finished with two sips. Interestingly (if I remember correctly) there were no prices shown on the cocktail card – anyway, in Chaweng centre we enjoyed excellent cocktails for only 70 Baht!

Secondly:
We spent New Year’s Eve in Koh Samui and couldn’t book the hotel with out the obligatory New Year’s Eve Dinner. The costs for this dinner amounted to 722,24 US Dollar for 3 persons!!! As it turned out, no beverages were included (except of a mini-welcome-cocktail)!!! The days before the dinner you could order some drinks (we chose a wine and a prosecco), which were of course not cheap at all...the dinner buffet itself was very nice arranged (on the beach, nice atmosphere), but only the starters tasted really good in our opinion. The main courses (no tasty Thai dishes as we were expecting to see), we found only moderate. For this amount of money you can get your stomach filled at award-winning restaurants in Europe!


About the hotel complex:
As mentioned previously, the hotel complex is very nice integrated in the nature, the garden surrounding the hotel is very beautiful!
Negative aspects: there were no beach showers (only at the pool), just as no foot showers (would have been nice in order not to bring all the sand in the room – of course you could help yourself with the gardeners hosepipes...). In addition the unpleasant, weathered external facades and stairs caught our eyes (see fotos) as well as the open cellar rooms, which were being used as storage space (see foto).


About the food:
We only had breakfast, which was pretty okay,the cooks at the egg station satisfied all our wishes (omelettes with chillies and ginger), the waitresses memorized quickly our different coffee orders. Freshly squeezed juices would have been nice though. Because we didn’t appreciate New Year’s Eve dinner (as we expected more for this amount of money), we didn’t go to the theme-based dinners or lunch (which as in our opinion again was overpriced in relation to the portion sizes).

We can reccomend the restaurants nearby the hotel, especially we liked the “Charming” (on the main street to the hotel, not far away from the supermarket), although they have also western food, their Thai-food which we ordered “spicy” was excellent (very nice papaya salad and thai currys). In Chaweng centre we tried “Ninja Crepes” (highly recommended by tripadvisor) which was also very nice and cheap (in front of Buri Rasa hotel). The indian restaurant (Noori India) was also very nice, as we can compare to former indian journeys, the samosas and currys were mouth-watering.

Other matters:
Misleading information on the part of the homepage of the hotel/travel operators:
you can read on the homepage of the hotel, that Chaweng (of course you think of Chaweng centre) is “just minutes by foot” away – well it takes you 10-15 minutes by the shuttle-bus provided from the hotel (50 Baht/person). Also this shuttle isn’t free of charge, as you are misled in a prospect of FTI-Touristik. The shuttle bus just drives into the town, not back, we paid the same price for those shared taxis from Chaweng centre back to the hotel. Also we can’t agree with FTI describing the rooms to be equiped with “elegant and appealing furnishing”. FTI also writes about 2 a-la-carte restaurants, well we could only spot the breakfast restaurant.


Maybe good to know:

The hotel has an austrian manager, who seems to be nice, but unfortunately you can’t expect therefore european quality.

The guest structure in the hotel at our stay consisted mainly of german- and russian speaking tourists.

I you want to use the detachable hand shower in the bathtub, turn the tab to the left and it will work.

I forgot to write it in my previous reviews: of course, don't expect the hotel to have a fitness center...

Be aware of the unsettled weather conditions in december! At our stay (30.12.13-08.01.14) only 3.5 days were suited to bath and swim in the sea. The rest of our holiday was very overcast, windy and there were high waves (red flag – you could of course go into the water, but it was impossible to swim; for young kids and elderly people a problem).
At the end of January, respetively February and March it should be better, as we heard.


Conclusion:
For a hotel of the “upper middle class” (which you can read at FTI Touristik), the price performance ratio is absolutely not justified. Our impression was to pay for a 5 Star hotel and to get a 3 Star hotel. For such a big amount of money you expect just more, we’ll go elsewhere the next time.
We cannot, although the hotel has great potential, make a recommendation for this resort!

Room Tip: I would not recommend the rooms we got (524, 525 - see review), the pool villas should be better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MEAY128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 January 2016
Dear our value guests,

Greetings from the New star Beach Resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and shared your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. Such correspondence is always highly motivating our Team but even more so when it comes from someone who has traveled widely and can appreciate the finer points of what we are trying to achieve like you.

I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to the team accordingly.

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles at New star again soon, we remain.

Yours sincerely,

Chanupong Manachamni
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Although the location is a little bit far away to the downtown, but it is nice and relax, it has its own beach. I suggest to hire a bike or car if u want to stay at this hotel.
Overall, the staff are nice and helpful, we stayed four night at cottage which has seaview and near to the swimming pool, the breakfast is fine. Hopefully can stay in this hotel again in the furture.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank takakochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2016
Dear our value guests,

Greetings from the New star Beach Resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and shared your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. Such correspondence is always highly motivating our Team but even more so when it comes from someone who has traveled widely and can appreciate the finer points of what we are trying to achieve like you.

I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to the team accordingly.

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles at New star again soon, we remain.

Yours sincerely,

Chanupong Manachamni
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed four nights at the New Star; one night in a cottage and three in a room with balcony. Rooms were of a very high standard (though mattresses very hard!), staff were very attentive and location was excellent - just what we needed being not far from Chaweng, yet very quiet and peaceful. We didn't try the spa, given that massages were available at a fraction of the cost just up the beach.

For some reason, the resort and the neighbouring restaurants along the beach were almost deserted, which was great in terms of peace and quiet, though slightly detracted from the atmosphere (especially eating dinner as one of the only couples in the restaurants!).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2016
Dear our value guests,

Greetings from the New star Beach Resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and shared your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. Such correspondence is always highly motivating our Team but even more so when it comes from someone who has traveled widely and can appreciate the finer points of what we are trying to achieve like you.

I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to the team accordingly.

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles at New star again soon, we remain.

Yours sincerely,

Chanupong Manachamni
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with awesome facilities. Nice and accurate staff, delicious breakfasts, incredible beach with white soft sand and unbelievably turquoise sea. Not far from main Chaweng promenade street where all entertainment is located.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Miloslavskiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2016
Dear our value guests,

Greetings from the New star Beach Resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and shared your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. Such correspondence is always highly motivating our Team but even more so when it comes from someone who has traveled widely and can appreciate the finer points of what we are trying to achieve like you.

I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to the team accordingly.

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles at New star again soon, we remain.

Yours sincerely,

Chanupong Manachamni
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Is a nice hotel, but staying after 3 days, we are being not treated like a guest here just because the waiters here sees us with "black hair". Some male waiters Skipped our tables NOT Greeting us any "Good Morning or kind enough to open the restaurant doors for me when my hands were full, I had to call for my husband (whom is standing much further away to help when the waiter was just behind me!)

Looking around me, I observed the waiter served n greeted to every table who are not asian!
Even when they sell their buffet dinner, they are so reluctant to sell to us just because we are not "caucians"!
Is quite upsetting so what we are asian?
We speak very well English too.

Does it give you the best services by just only serving the caucians?

Though we are Asian - Chinese but we come from different parts of Asia too.





Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank AndMag028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 January 2016
Dear our value guests,

Greetings from the New star Beach Resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and shared your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. Such correspondence is always highly motivating our Team but even more so when it comes from someone who has traveled widely and can appreciate the finer points of what we are trying to achieve like you.

I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to the team accordingly.

I have taken up your comments and discussed with the team and fixed them already
hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles at New star again soon, we remain.

Yours sincerely,

Chanupong Manachamni
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
2.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.2 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Star Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Star Beach Resort

Property: New Star Beach Resort
Address: 83 Moo 3 Koh Samui | Chaweng Noi, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#13 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#18 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New Star Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New star beach resort at Chaweng Noi Beach is the most largest white-sandy beach on samui Island, 10 minutes away from Town by walk or 5 minutes by car. Full of privacy and away from the big crowd Your visit to Koh Samui is not completed unless you have visited New Star Beach resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Sawasdee, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your New Star Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Star Beach Hotel Chaweng
Hotel New Star Beach
New Star Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing