We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in non-peak season. Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Star Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We stayed here for 7 nights for a honeymoon and we're happy with the choice.
It's about a 15 min walk to Chaweng Beach were the main shopping & nightlife is. This suited us fine as we were happy to be out of the main area.
Most nights we were the only people in the Restaurant by the pool which was great as the service was good & the food amazing :) And they made great cocktails.
Overall we thought it a little pricey & we wouldn't have paid it in the peak season. We had our own pool in our villa which was great, but the main pool was also good & being a quiet hotel we had it mostly to ourselves. We don't think we would stay there in peak season though as I don't think you would get the level of service or quietness.
We would recommend to couples wanting a quiet & relaxing resort. And the spa treatments where heaven.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rellie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Dear our value guests,

Greetings from the New star Beach Resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and shared your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. Such correspondence is always highly motivating our Team but even more so when it comes from someone who has traveled widely and can appreciate the finer points of what we are trying to achieve like you.

I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to the team accordingly.

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles at New star again soon, we remain.

Yours sincerely,

General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2010

Well to begin with I thought that the hotel would be okay based on the picture gallery i saw on the website of the hotel.. But, going there was like.. our dream come true.. me and my wife were just astonished by the cozy ambiance of the hotel.. we were really lucky to have that... The rooms were cozy and big enough... the hotel crew were too good to have us a perfect honeymoon ambiance created on the day we landed... a champagne and cake what more one wants...The best part we like was the bathroom.. a huge one with perfect ambiance.. the doors of the bathroom opened up into the room.. and it was just wonderful.. we felt just amidst the nature...
the private beach was wonderful.. and the waves were awesome. for a enchanting beach masti...the hotel crew were very generous for arranging whatever we required.. The food would have been good.. but, we are veggies so were not able to survive.. however they served us and took great care for us to serve us the veg food of our likings..
Overall.. the trip went on with lot of romance and a dream honeymoon came true... the environment was calm and going...

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjaySheth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Dear our value guests,

Greetings from the New star Beach Resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and shared your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. Such correspondence is always highly motivating our Team but even more so when it comes from someone who has traveled widely and can appreciate the finer points of what we are trying to achieve like you.

I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to the team accordingly.

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles at New star again soon, we remain.

Yours sincerely,

General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Well to start, i had done alot of research before heading back to Samui, as it was 9 yrs since our last visit. T/A had tipped the scales for me in the end for New Star and are we glad it did.
We arrived from Singapore late at night and was a pretty smooth transition to room. We had done a lot of looking for room that suited us (having a 5 year old daughter) and came up with the Suite villa as our choice. 95% happy with room, only bad thing is byfold type doors that seperate 2 villas which allows a bit of noise thru. Apart from that rooms are great for families with young children as there is plent of room for foldaway bed or even 2.
Great location away from Chewang...walk up the driveway to road to catch either taxi (220baht/Cab) or tuktuk style ute backs for 100baht into Chewang.
Beach was divine to sit and read book and watch local thai salespeople walk past and try to sell you goodies...there are not intrusive and a 'no thanks' will see them off with a smile.
Pool was GRAND with nice side seats to relax in with spa jets coming up thru seat....pool bar and cafe right next to pool...Happy Hours are great...3 times per day...12-1...5-6...10-11 i think!!
Found wait staff were fantasic whether at great breakfast or just around resort always smiling and saying 'sawadaka'......special mention from our Zahra to Dook,Anne and Oiy...they made our time special as well as a lot of other staff.
We hired the hotel car to take around to the attractions that suited our family....great way to see what you like at your own leisure...was well worth ita nd not vey expensive.
Hotel special dinner nights were good value as was food at hotel...pretty much same price as up the beach which had some nice places to eat right on the water...Beach Love and Charming..as well as massage.

Only slight downfall was same staff on from desk who were not fully co-herent with English, but this is very minor.

Would come back to New Star in a flash!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mum_Dad_and_Zahra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Dear our value guests,

Greetings from the New star Beach Resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and shared your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. Such correspondence is always highly motivating our Team but even more so when it comes from someone who has traveled widely and can appreciate the finer points of what we are trying to achieve like you.

I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to the team accordingly.

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles at New star again soon, we remain.

Yours sincerely,

General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My partner and I stayed here for 6 nights. When we arrived we were told that there was a problem with our room and would have to be relocated to another hotel for one night. Obviously we were disappointed but they did their upmost to make it up to us. They put us up in a great hotel and we had a free massage. Once back at New Star they gave us a free upgrade to Beach front villa, free Thai meal and free one hour massage. The lady who picked us up from the hotel was extremely professional and helpful and ensured our every need was met.
All the staff at the hotel were amazing always smiling faces and would go out of their way to ensure you had everything you needed, this made our stay very enjoyable.
The breakfast was brilliant a huge selection and delicious. We also enjoyed 2 meals at the hotel with no complaints.
This hotel is beautiful, set on a lovely beach and great location. The pool is fantastic with beautiful views.
There are some great restaurants along the beach to the left hand side of the hotel – worth a visit.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hales1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

New Star Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We really suffered from the bad smell in the entire hotel as well as in Chaweng. I only would return if they improve the canalization. from the hotel service actually we have been a bit disappointed. We had the beachfront villa and we were expecting a "Villa Service" but we never got fruits and 3 timse we had to call to get the room cleaned.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidingerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

New Star Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

so good
people is so nice
owner is so nice also
Relax, calm, and beautiful

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
Thank Ambre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

New Star Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

My husband and myself went for a little over a week vacation in Koh Samui and we just lucked out with our hotel stay at New Star... It was the most AMAZING place ever. The service was unbelievable!! the staff was so friendly, approachable, and helpful.. The facility itself was absolutely stunning. The location was perfect. On a nice stretch of a quite beach. A great place to relax and unwind. A good walking distance away from the craziness of downtown. We would definitely come here again. We just want to go back to thailand just to stay at the hotel again. the only slightly negative part was that there was some construction going on next door for another resort, but the hotel had no control over that.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxerchui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Dear our value guests,

Greetings from the New star Beach Resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and shared your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. Such correspondence is always highly motivating our Team but even more so when it comes from someone who has traveled widely and can appreciate the finer points of what we are trying to achieve like you.

I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to the team accordingly.

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles at New star again soon, we remain.

Yours sincerely,

General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
2.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#12 of 103 in Chaweng
2,638 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
1,418 reviews
1.3 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 103 in Chaweng
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Star Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Star Beach Resort

Address: 83 Moo 3 Koh Samui | Chaweng Noi, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £106 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New Star Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Star Beach Resort situated on Chaweng Noi Beach is the most beautiful, white-sandy beach on Samui Island. 10 minutes away from the center of Town by walk or 5 minutes by car. Full of privacy and away from the big crowd Your visit to Koh Samui is not completed unless you have visited New Star Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your New Star Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Star Beach Hotel Chaweng
Hotel New Star Beach
New Star Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing